We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend and wedding.”
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Scotland, uk
2 reviews
“Weekend and wedding.”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Booked a room at the Cavendish Hotel for my friends daughters wedding..on arriving at the hotel it looked fabulous from the outside. Checking in was made very easy and the staff were very polite, when i got to my single room it was such a lovely room and lots of space as well. The staff that attended to everyone at the hotel were very courteous and made the day very special. If you are staying in Eastbourne i would highly recommend staying here for your trip. Breakfast in the morning is a lovely buffet type and the dining room was such a lovely room,the food was amazing and plenty of choices for all.

Room Tip: I was told that some of the front rooms have a balcony that you can open the windows and enjoy the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    428
    217
    135
    101
See reviews for
200
670
71
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Every time my wife and I are guests of this hotel we can't stop noticing how well this establishment is run ! Apart from the wonderful rooms overlooking the sea The Cavendish has a very good restaurant and bar lounge that serves excellent contemporary dishes as well as traditional ones.
This time we were there again to celebrate the arrival of the New Year and I have to say it was the best ever!! As well as the super accommodation, the excellent food and the service the highlights of the evening for us was having a drink in the beautiful Library which reminded us of some deluxe hotels in Hong Kong where we used to live.
Together with the Grand, the Cavendish Hotel has to be the best in Eastbourne.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davide64_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

That is all we can say, wow. The view from the balcony, the room, the bed, the brunch !! Wow! And a big thanks for the help from the wonderful girl in the reception who helped us with the map and to find the restaurant we had booked and accidentally forgot the name on ;)

If you have the opportunity to stay here for a night or two, do it!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Just returned from the xmas package offered at the Cavendish.

Our party had 2 rooms (107 and 108) on the first floor with sea views. The rooms were clean and tidy and vey spacious.

The staff were all very friendly and made time to make you feel at home.

The food in the restaurant was excellant and allows served professionally yet with a smile.

As mentioned a suprise present was placed outside our room door on xmas morning-a pleasant suprise!

All in all an excellant experience from start to finish.

Room Tip: Upgrade to seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bayboy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in a 2nd floor bedroom which had a sea view. The room had large comfortable bed. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant and enjoyed the meal, again the staff were polite and helpful. Our car was parked on the private hotel car park which cost £4 per day. We did make use of the Spa treatments that were available and the therapist was excellent. We would certainly return to this hotel when we visit our friends in Eastbourne again next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polegate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We went to the Cavendish Hotel for a work Christmas party night with overnight accommodation on 19th December 2013.

The reception staff were pleasant and helpful and the room was massive with a double aspect sea view and balcony. Other than the decor (which was is need of updating) we couldn't fault the room.
We enjoyed a fish and chip meal in the bar overlooking Eastbourne prom, early afternoon.
Service in the bar was faultless!

Prior to the main meal there was a vey enjoyable pre-meal drinks reception. Once seated we enjoyed a good quality, well prepared and presented four course meal.

The quality and presentation of the food, considering the numbers catered for was brilliant. The service is to be commended.

The evening was a total success and a good nights sleep in a huge bed!

So to breakfast, buffet style full English! With the option to choose from a vast array of other dishes. Quantity and quality again - faultless.

Again, service (some of the staff were serving until past midnight the night before) was attentive and without fault.

Our party of 20 colleagues all thoroughly enjoyed their evening and the stay in the hotel.

Personally, I could not fault our Cavendish experience and if left to me to organise again next year, I certainly will be looking favourably at the Cavendish.

Could maybe dispense with the Wi-fi and/or car park charge?!

Room Tip: 210 - huge room with a double sea view and large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cranners11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,152 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#8 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,584 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
941 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.1 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Property: Cavendish Hotel
Address: 38 Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cavendish Hotel is ideally located 5 minutes' walk from Eastbourne's shopping and commercial centre. Facing the coast on Eastbourne's Grand Parade, guests can enjoy stunning views from one of the hotels many suites. For your convenience, Eastbourne's rail station can be reached within 10 minutes by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing