We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel ruined by terrible staff”
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed May 17, 2013

It was difficult reviewing this hotel as the hotel building, the bedrooms and bathrooms and the food were really lovely but the staff just completely ruined our experience. We stayed for 2 days and 1 night and were just really appalled by how rude and abrupt the staff were. Our food order was taken 5 times because the waiter wasn't listening to what we said, upon payment we asked to split the bill (over £100 for a large group of us) between two cards and were told 'why can't we put it on one card?'. At breakfast the waiter bellowed at us to wait to be seated although the rest of our group was already seated and we were joining them. The staff were slow, seemed constantly angry and just made us feel very on edge. Quite a pity as we ended up having dinner elsewhere and spending over £200 because we didn't want to be treated in a way which made us regret paying. On a positive note, the bedrooms were lovely - huge double bed! We were boiling though and found it difficult to sleep although the weather outside was chilly and our window was open and the heating was off - no idea how it was so hot!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ideetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,426)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,015 - 1,021 of 1,427 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Can't fault a thing, stayed with my girlfriend and we had a great time, the food was the highlight, loved the full english, fabulous, will definitely stay here again, would like to point out I live in Eastbourne and when my girlfriend visited chose it for the sea view and it didn't disappoint

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Dined at this hotel. Food more suited to a cafe. Lukewarm soup, fish cake with two extra scoops of mashed potato. Beyond belief. Fruit salad and ice cream. This organisation needs to take a look at the wonderful selection of ready-made food available in most supermarkets. No wonder people take advantage of these meals and Dine In for a fraction of the cost. Portions small. Would not return.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Doreen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

A comfortable seafront double bedroom, resonable price, fantastic breakfast, choice of buffet hot & cold, and specials.oustanding public areas, floral arrangments. in dining, reception etc received a very good sevice. we would return when visiting eastbourne.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights(Fri & Sat) in May 2013. We were pleasantly surprised by the Hotel. Lovely room, with balcony, over looking the sea. Big bathroom with possibly the biggest bath i have ever seen!!. Overhead shower & hairwash shower.
When we arrived there was a lot of noise from a live band playing opposite, but this finished early & we had a quiet night.

There was a wedding on Sat night, but we were not disturbed by this either.

Only 2 problems; 1. No windows to open at night, so either you get very warm, or you leave the balcony door open, or you have the air con on, which is a bit noisy.

2. The food from room service was very tasty, but had no cover on, so was freezing cold when it got to us.

This is a lovely clean hotel, superb breakfast, very good staff, & excellent location at reasonable prices. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 117 has a big balcony overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillyb1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The hotel offers a surprisingly comfortable and quiet area to have a relatively inexpensive coffee.
Sumptuous seating in library - not disturbed by staff.
Food is ok - fairly generous portions.
Great location.

Room Tip: Use library area for coffee
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

The staff was friendly and helpful. Thank you for the lovely room we stay in (407). The breakfast was excellent. I would recommend is hotel. car parking is cheap for one pound but the only bad thing was that you have to look for a parking space on permit s. But u still found spaces but u still need to walk to the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazzy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,636 reviews
0.7 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,892 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Address: 38 Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: $40 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cavendish Hotel is ideally located 5 minutes' walk from Eastbourne's shopping and commercial centre. Facing the coast on Eastbourne's Grand Parade, guests can enjoy stunning views from one of the hotels many suites. For your convenience, Eastbourne's rail station can be reached within 10 minutes by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing