We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Reception lovely especially liz, room great and clean, and very large bed was so comfy, lots of hot water , clean bathroom .view was wonderful, breakfast was surburb, with happy smiling staff to serve you .Id recomend to any one staying here. will try spa treatments next time i stay xx

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    407
    192
    108
    65
See reviews for
181
606
63
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tavira, Portugal
Level Contributor
179 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

A very good hotel. Have stayed here before, but this time we jad an "executive" room, which was well worth the extra as the room was in the newer wing and was much bigger, with an excellent shower. Food was really good - we only had bar meals, but they were quite enough for us. There was sufficient car parking space (about 40 spaces) and although we were quote £4 a night we were never charged. The major downside is that this must be about the last hotel in the UK to charge for broadband/Wi-Fi which is ridiculous at £1 per hour.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Very good hotel . Reception staff were quick ,efficient and polite.Very large room which was to die for with wall to wall views of the sea and pier ,the room also had a balcony. Everything required was provided for in the spacious bathroom.
Evening dinner in the restaurent was tasty but the food was bearly warm,not sure this was value for money. Breakfast again was only warm although a good variety was provided.
Would stay again but would dine outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Request sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

staying on the first floor overlooking the parking was not much fun. However, with high ceiling and large room it did make it seem grand. But unfortunately on if you're on the first floor, you will hear the disco that goes on in the basement (that's 1st floor, mez, ground floor and then the basement - 3 levels down).

Being in front of the sea and near the city center, location is a plus as is the breakfast.

Room Tip: Don't go for the 1st floor rooms if there is going to be music in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zkashan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed at the Cavendish Hotel for a long weekend at the beginning of April with five friends to celebrate a reunion. We all thoroughly enjoyed our time at the hotel. Ate in the hotel restaurant - the food was wonderful, all staff were very kind and helpful throughout our stay. We will be going back again for next year's reunion.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I had frequented the Cavendish over 10 years ago and was keen to see how much it had changed. Lovely reception area and lounge, check in however not very professional.Receptionist did not look up when we approached the desk and had an unfriendly manner in the beginning but soon remembered her customer service training and manners. We were upgraded to seaview room it was ok, not that clean and room looks bit dated and not what i would consider 4 star quality! Used the Gym and Spa areas, be warned everyone looks can be deceptive, these areas are small which is why you have to book. Breakfast in the morning is the standard buffet fayre, not all that impressed with greasy congealed eggs and sausages in a silver tray. Yes the Cavendish has made some vast improvements, the new Library, bar, reception, and lounge areas but more improvements needed for the rooms.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are ok but check your room and change if necessary.Floor 4 and 5 have good views facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theempress90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunbridge wells
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is well placed on the sea front.
The sea view rooms are good,
car parking is first come,
We stayed @ this hotel for our anniversary which fell fell on a Thursday.,
The worst was to come,we went the restaurant for our evening meal only two other tables where occupied .
The wine waiter arrived with our wine and filled the glasses to the brim no sampling the wine.
the waitress served our meal stretching across the table to serve myself,
The meat was so tough we left it , but no comment was received from the waitress.
Thank goodness our family had arranged a party for us at the week end.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickTunbridgeWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,647 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#8 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
0.3 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Property: Cavendish Hotel
Address: 38 Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cavendish Hotel is ideally located 5 minutes' walk from Eastbourne's shopping and commercial centre. Facing the coast on Eastbourne's Grand Parade, guests can enjoy stunning views from one of the hotels many suites. For your convenience, Eastbourne's rail station can be reached within 10 minutes by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing