We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star hotel with a 3 star prices”
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #30 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“5 star hotel with a 3 star prices”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

As regular customers of the Cavendish Hotel in Eastbourne I am amazed that every time we visit this Hotel the place is getting better and better, so much that I would rank this Hotel among the very best along the South East Coast of the UK, not only for the professional 5 star service provided, but also for their spacious and beautiful rooms and above all their competitive prices (140 per room,per night, dinner B&B ).
The FB outlets are also to be praised in particular the Marine Restaurant where you can enjoy excellent food and a fine wine served by professional and polite staff directed by an equally excellent and professional Maitre D.
In the past we also used the Cavendish for New Year' Eves celebrations which were memorable.
The secret of the Cavendish Hotel success is partly due to well trained staff excellent and unchanged Management!!
If there is one downer of this hotel it is the fact that it has only one lift to the floors.
Thank you Cavendish to made all my visits memorable!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Davide64_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    423
    209
    120
    88
See reviews for
194
648
67
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

After several trips to Eastbourne staying mainly at the Burlington Hotel I decided to try the Cavendish. Booking on the internet was confusing there being differences between availability on the hotel,s web site and others. Telephoning the hotel I got a very helpful lady who managed the booking very pleasantly and I had a confirmation letter by e-mail within the hour.

This is a very clean and well appointed hotel. The ability to choose between a "formal" dinner or a meal in the bar was greatly appreciated since we are not "big eaters". Meals and snacks are available until 2300h and room service is availbale, a god send for the less mobile. Breakfast was extremely good in pleasant surroundings with very attentive staff. Similalrly meals in the bar/lounge were of good quality and we were served promptly by very good staff. Room had a breathtaking sea view, was very spacious with a very large (6 foot ) comfortable bed and ample storage for clothes. We were there when the weather was extremely cold and I hate to say it but the hotel had over compensated in that all areas were very very warm. Better than being cold so not really a complaint.

All staff were very efficient and cheerful and happy to get you what you wanted. I think this is a measure of a good hotel. However I have to say, reluctantly, that reception staff were not very approachable quite a suprise compared to the rest of the staff. Registarion was OK if somewhat over speedy, but during a 4 day stay I found that the electronic key system had "checked me out" twice and I had to return to reception to get checked in again.The reception staff were efficient on these occsions but less than sympathetic "Oh its always doing that" was the best response I got. Strange how such a minor problem can detract from what was otherwise a very pleasant stay. Similalrly during registration I asked about WiFi access but the charges were delivered at such speed I did not understand and decided not to bother. I must say I found it odd that there were charges for Wifi, but would have been willing to pay a daily supplement for a good service.

Despite these minor moans I would recommend this hotel very strongly.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a sea view. Although on the front of the hotel the traffic noise from the ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldtripper32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Very pleased with this wonderful hotel. The room was really big and nice, with 3.5-4 meters up to the ceiling. Friendly staff, and great service.
There is only one big flaw: You have to pay £5 for internett, pr device, pr day! That is not good in our time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S70Kj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

A party of 22 stayed at the Cavendish for a bridge weekend. Everyone on the trip felt the hotel was excellent, good service, smiling and helpful staff, good food. The hotel rooms were excellent, although the members of our party who didn't have a sea view felt the rooms were too warm. The pricing for the group was excellent and gave great value. It worked very well and I'm sure our bridge club will be returning.

Room Tip: Cooler rooms are on the front with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed 3 nights 19-22 march and very impressed.staff all veryefficient and friendly.had lovely sea viewroom and the facilities,especially the little extras provided in the bathroom were much appreciated.Great decor and kept spotlessly clean.Spacious public areas and good breakfasts-what more could you want?
Have stayed in several other Eastbourne hotels on or near seafront and this is far and away the best for facilities and value.

Room Tip: Sea view for morning sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_K503775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Now my fourth visit to this hotel. Staff so very friendly, helpful and polite. Excellent breakfast and rooms and sitting areas so very clean and tidy. This is an excellent hotel, made even better by the high quality of staff helpfulness.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea front are a real pleasure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed 3 nights on a business trip. Service was excellent with very friendly and professional staff. Hotel is in a great location and is very comfortable. Spotless with some nice design touches and really lovely lounge and library area. I only ate breakfast which was very good and offered plenty of choice. Best cup of tea from a hotel I have enjoyed for a long time. I thought the flowers in the public rooms were wonderful.

My bedroom was fine but didn't quite live up to the public areas. A bit dated, top sash of window wouldn't open (painted shut) and this mattered as it was FAR TOO HOT. I turned the radiator off but even after this, and with the lower part of the window wide open for my entire stay, when it was snowing, I was uncomfortably overheated. I was on the 4th floor - I suspect the hottest part of the hotel.

No hotel car parking but pay and display system from hotel reception for local on street parking was fine.

Can't rate value as hotel charges paid by someone else. Didn't use spa but it smelt lovely.

Room Tip: Suggest you avoid 4th floor - sea view is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiltsGardnerFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
2,957 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,547 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
915 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
877 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Property: Cavendish Hotel
Address: 38 Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cavendish Hotel is ideally located 5 minutes' walk from Eastbourne's shopping and commercial centre. Facing the coast on Eastbourne's Grand Parade, guests can enjoy stunning views from one of the hotels many suites. For your convenience, Eastbourne's rail station can be reached within 10 minutes by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing