We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for a weekend away”
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is a big old Edwardian hotel on the front at Eastbourne. The interior has been updated and appears contemporary. Our room did not have a sea view but was clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was excellent with the staff keeping goin on Sunday morning to ensure everyone was fed.
Customer service was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AD72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,060 - 1,066 of 1,413 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

We spent a night here and we were so pleased. The place is wonderful, the room was really comfortable and the services were great. I don't even talk about the beautiful view for breakfast.
We felt the atmosphere at dinner was magic with the piano playing. Thanks for this great night.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPa50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just got back from a long weekend in Eastbourne where we stayed at The Cavendish Hotel. This would have been our fourth time there and it was as good at the first time. We booked a suite as it was our Anniversary and we decided to treat ourselves. We did prefer the suite we stayed in a year ago as it was in the original building and it had more original features in the bedroom and lounge. The suite we had for this stay was more modern but none the less it was nice. We always have our meals in the hotel, the bar meals are very good and excellent value for money. Saturday night we booked for the Valentines Meal in the main restaurant, the food was exceptional and the service impeccable! The breakfast at the Cavendish is the best for choice and freshness and there is something for everyone.
Cant wait to go there again............See you next year if not before. Thanks to all the staff for a very pleasant and memorable stay.

Room Tip: We have only ever stayed in rooms with a sea view but although you have the main road outside it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolynPStaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This was our second two-night stay at The Cavendish. We returned for a second visit because we were impressed with the service that we received. Sandie, a member of the bar staff, was extremely cheerful and helpful. I had a facial treatment in the Pebbles Spa which was very relaxing - my therapist was Kala who was very nice and friendly and explained all the different formulas and creams she was using. She also gave me advice on skincare.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Lovely room, friendly staff, great restaurant and bar...our first time but it will certainly not be our last...thank you all for your hospitality and a lovely couple of days!!! See you soon - BB & Sxx

Room Tip: swimming pool and spa not applicable!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We were treated by a friend to one of the afternoon cream teas at the Cavendish Hotel on a cold and windy day in January. We were greeted by a very pleasant member of staff and found a table by the window overlooking the sea. We were served very promptly with sandwiches, scones, tea cakes and victoria sponge followed by a pot of tea. It was delicious and we sat and chatted in the warm and cosy restaurant. All in all a lovely afternoon in very nice surroundings.We have already decided that we will do this again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbie554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The end of january and snow and ice are probably not the usual way of getting to know that hotel.

Normally you realize that summer and sun are the things that hotel is probably a very liked and busy place.
Nevertheless everybody of the staff was extremely polite and helpful.
We had a wonderful room with the view on the coast. Everything was clean, nice and cosy.
Problems were solved immediately.
The service at the bar, the reception and those who helped us with our luggage - really perfect!

Breakfast was nice, although the room was much too big -you felt a bit lonely- and ham was sliced very thick.
I wonder why they do not serve english cheese.

Anyway - I would love to come back in summer!

Room Tip: Do not stay in the old part
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ThinkPink611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,542 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
955 reviews
0.7 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Address: 38 Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: $40 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cavendish Hotel is ideally located 5 minutes' walk from Eastbourne's shopping and commercial centre. Facing the coast on Eastbourne's Grand Parade, guests can enjoy stunning views from one of the hotels many suites. For your convenience, Eastbourne's rail station can be reached within 10 minutes by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing