We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noise from boiler”
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“noise from boiler”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

stayed for one night including dinner room 328 directly above the heating boiler woke up at 6.30 and to noisy to get back to sleep little bit upset by this as we had asked if the room was quiet food was good evening and brekfast. service fo dinner was a bit rushed plates from each course being cleared before we had emptied our mouths ! had to ask them to slow down ! room was clean and comfortable. Did not complain but maybe we should of but as we were both feeling tired did not bother and we are british after all

Helpful?
1 Thank emmaksimon
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    428
    217
    135
    101
See reviews for
200
670
71
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glos,
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

A modern, yet traditional hotel that has just about got it right. Worthy of its four-star rating and managed to get an excellent price for a night away between Christmas and the new year. Fantastic location, lovely public lounges, large, well-equipped room with a decent view over the sea. Pleasant breakfast in a large, airy, light seafront dining room. Parking right next to the hotel for just £1 for 24 hours on a Saturday/Sunday. Very hard to beat...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlostilIdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at the Cavendish for 2 nights after Christmas.We chose Eastbourne as it is close to where we live and knew we wouldn't have any problems with the travel during this period. The first thing to note is that parking near the hotel costs £1 an hour and the hotel has a car park at £4 a day. However, they sell visitors permits that allow on road parking for £1 a day. From overheard comments, not everyone was told this at check in. My tip is to pay at the meter for 15 minutes and buy a permit for the rest of the day and any additional days of your stay.
Check in was very quick and efficient with the location of the restaurant and the opening times explained to us. We had to ask about check out time (11 am) but that wasn't a problem. The room we had, 201, was on the second floor near the lift but there was no noise from the lift. The room faced the rear of the hotel and there was no scenic view from the small window. Despite turning the radiator off, the room was very warm throughout the stay. The room was a good size with 2 comfortable chairs and a small table, dressing table and separate chair and a large enough bed. The bathroom was a good size with luxurious toiletries. The fan was a bit loud though. Breakfast is in the main restaurant and after giving staff your room number, you are taken to,your table. The choice is a full buffet or an a la carte menu. If you have elements of both, there is a supplement. the waiting staff are principally there to take orders for tea, coffee and toast. On the first day we asked for white toast and got brown and on the second we had to wait for about 10 minutes to make our order. These small problems are the only cause of complaint. The food range was very nice with cereals, breads, cheese and cold meats on one side and a full hot buffet on the other side. Stock levels appeared to be kept low to maintain temperature although a couple of items ran out for short periods until restocked. The other issue with the food is there were no vegetarian alternatives for sausages etc but the " meat free" items were plentiful and tasty. All in all a very nice hotel, decoration was nice, room was comfortable if warm and food was delicious. The hotel is on the sea front 10 minutes walk from the main area of Eastbourne. We will certainly consider this hotel again and may pay for a sea view.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had our works Christmas party here on the 14th December 2012. The hotel is very nice, even near luxurious, in communal areas,
My twin room (213) was large, but some of the furnishings had clearly not enjoyed the upgrade and renovations that the excellent bathroom had. My view was onto a sidestreet with a view of the sea if you craned your neck.
The staff, starting at check-in, were on the whole frosty. Maybe this was because it was a staff Christmas party, but why oh why do these hotels adopt this attitude. We are still (well-behaved) guests, but they always seem to shove you into poorer standard rooms :-(
The event itself was ok, but as soon as the musict finshed at 12 o'clock, the (very bright) house lights came on, the staff started hustling us away and the cleaners with their vaccum cleaners started en masse.
This was not the end of our dissapointment - we were then refused, despite us being residents, to buy drinks at the hotel bar. Despite this, some non-residents, who were not with our party, WERE served drinks.
Overall, this has left me with a very dim view of what I had previously perceived to be one of Eastbournes finest hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastSussexChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed with the family for a break between Christmas & New Year. Paid extra for sea view which was great. Breakfasts where very good and staff very friendly. Bar prices where expensive but no more than you expect to pay in a four star hotel. Pleasant surprise to find a real ale in the bar which was well kept and on form!
It was helpful to have on site parking which was not too expensive at £4 a day. Mind you street parking was very good value. But not much of it!
We had a really good meal at the Tapas restaurant round the corner called Flamenco we can really recommend it.
In all we had a good time at the Cavendish ,my only issue with it given the pricing level is that we had to pay for Internet access. I really think given four star status the Internet should free of charge!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyCStourbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed here for four nights whilst on an in house course. My only complaints were that the check in was very slow even though there were four people behind reception and why is it so hot? I had the bedroom window wide open all day and night and the room that the course was held in didn't have air conditioning or fans. Apart from that the view is spectacular and the breakfasts were wonderful. Loads of goodies in the bathroom and you even get bottled water and a mini fridge in your room. I didn't use the hotel car park as it was £4 a night but reception sells tickets to park on the road outside for a £1 for 24 hours and you can buy multiple tickets so you don't have to keep going back to your car. The restaurant staff were all friendly and I would love to go back and actually explore Eastbourne.

Room Tip: If you can afford a sea view it really is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveholidays_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exmouth.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This particular hotel is outstanding. My room was very comfortable with a great en-suite. Breakfast buffet was amazing with everything you could wish for. Evening meals were of the quality that Michael Winner would be hard pushed to criticise!..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,153 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#8 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,584 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
941 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.1 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Property: Cavendish Hotel
Address: 38 Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cavendish Hotel is ideally located 5 minutes' walk from Eastbourne's shopping and commercial centre. Facing the coast on Eastbourne's Grand Parade, guests can enjoy stunning views from one of the hotels many suites. For your convenience, Eastbourne's rail station can be reached within 10 minutes by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing