We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab”
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #29 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fab”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed overnight and can not fault the service and quality of the hotel from the start to the finish. The staff make you feel so welcome, the quality of the hotel and room was fantastic from clean and tidy to stylish and well done and the food was excellent.
Thank you for your service we will be back soon and recommended.

Room Tip: Suites are lovely, large and good price
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crows_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    423
    208
    120
    87
See reviews for
194
646
67
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We helped our friends celebrate their 40th Wedding Anniversary by taking them out for afternoon tea at The Cavendish Hotel in Eastbourne. What a great time we had! The setting was superb and by booking in advance we had a bigger choice of where we sat to enjoy our treat. We opted for the Library which was quieter and more intimate. We each had two rounds of sandwiches (crusts removed, of course), one teacake, one fruit scone (with clotted cream and a selection of jams) and a slice of home-made fruit sponge. Not a crumb was left! The teapot and coffeepot were also re-filled as and when required. Fantastic value for money at £9.95 each. An added bonus was the hotel staff who helped make our outing even more enjoyable. Definitely excellent value for money and a real treat. Our friends definitely felt they celebrated their Ruby Wedding Anniversary in style!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandpflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Outside of the hotel looked worse for wear compared to others in the location, but the inside is amazingly furnished and more than makes up for it. My room was huge, comfortable and had all the extras I'd expect for the star rating of this hotel.
Downside was the bar dining experience. The staff were not rude, but definitely pre-occupied and I felt as though I had interrupted their conversations by wanting something to eat. Not an overly pleasant experience for a lone travelling lady and did make me choose an alternative dining arrangement on my second night because of it.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Linz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed overnight for a visit to the Theatre. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The room was very comfortable with the breakfast being hot and plentiful. We left feeling we wished we could have stayed for longer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retired24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

It took 2 hours to get a jug of water sent to my room on the morning of my wedding, the room wasn't cleaned, came in after the wedding to dirty cups and an unmade bed. Staff rude to my elderly parents. My husband booked his parents in for 4 nights, we were told the bill was settled at time of booking but they took it two months later out of a different account without telling us. Awful, amateur customer service. They have taken no responsibility for anything that happened. I would rather sleep on a bench than stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Honestofeastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Have just stayed here for a birthday treat with my partner and wasn't disappointed! Fantastic service from reception staff on arrival and departure. Attentive service in the restaurant for breakfast this morning. Used the Pebbles spa yesterday and enjoyed a very relaxing algae wrap - apologies to the therapist for being relaxed i fell asleep! Room was amazing and exceeded expectation. Enormous room, comfy bed, spotlessly clean. Great location for beach, pier and town. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Photogirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast good.
Unfortunately they only have one lift and this broke down whilst I was staying there although they did make the service lift available for guests.
Whilst most of the public areas seem to have be in a good state of repair that cannot be said about the room that I stayed in (room 316). Although large it was in need of repair and updating. In one corner the wall and ceiling paper were peeling away and there was evidence of water damage all down the wall. However the bed was extremely comfortable. Another thing that I noticed was how hot the room was even though the radiator was off, fortunately the window could be opened. I'd stay there again though because of the location and reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
2,950 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,546 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
913 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
875 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Property: Cavendish Hotel
Address: 38 Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cavendish Hotel is ideally located 5 minutes' walk from Eastbourne's shopping and commercial centre. Facing the coast on Eastbourne's Grand Parade, guests can enjoy stunning views from one of the hotels many suites. For your convenience, Eastbourne's rail station can be reached within 10 minutes by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing