We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the Sussex countryside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wartling Place Country House
Ranked #33 of 77 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Epsom Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A gem in the Sussex countryside”
Reviewed March 10, 2007

A hidden gem in the Sussex countryside is perfect for a few days away from the stress of inner city life. Situated off the beaten track but accessible to all major local attractions it is set within its own manicured gardens at the heart of rural village life. This is more like a private high class 5 star hotel than a B & B and has the feeling of being your own stately home. The Lamb Inn, a mere stones throw away, offers a full Ala Carte Menu using local organic produce including fresh fish.

  • Liked — Quality and Peacfulness
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alphaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
43
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2005

We have just returned from Wartling Place and can only agree with the previous reviews - it is difficult to add anything else - Rowena was a lovely host and the Lamb Inn was a welcoming place to bring in the New Year. We stayed for two nights but felt we had been there a week! Very luxurious and relaxing. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicfitzKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2005

Cannot fault this small hotel for a short stay in the East Sussex countryside. My wife and I did just that for our last night of a holiday in the area. We appreciated the decor of the hotel and of our room, cleanliness was excellent, decorations, bathrooms and furnishings like new. Flat screen TV and DVD players in all rooms. We arrived earlier in the day, before other guests, and the owner Rowena showed us the other unoccupied rooms which were all to a high standard.

An excellent breakfast is eaten around a large table on the ground floor.

It is very much like staying at a well heeled friend's house, and the friend doesn't mind frying breakfast for you!!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 2, 2005

We wanted to get away from London at the last minute for the bank holiday weekend; we knew we wanted to be near Beachy Head/Birling Gap and started looking around through LateRooms.com for places. We are always sceptical regarding country hotels in the UK, the quality can be so variable - espeically in the South, where a high price does not guarantee a good place many times. Wartling Place came up in our searches as being near the coast (but not on it - fine for us as being in a beach town on a bank holiday is hardly restful!). Rowena (the owner) was just lovely when contacted; when her initial price was too high, she offered to vette for us any other places we found in the area, and eventually her rooms showed up on LateRooms.com for a lower price that we could afford. Our room (one of the four-poster bedrooms) was spacious, tastefully decorated, immaculate, with a modern bathroom and full of conveniences (flat screen TV, CD player, etc.). The location is restful, although there is some limited road traffic noise from the small road the inn sits on. Rowena also made a dinner booking for us at the adjacent Lamb Inn. The food there was fantastic, although the wine list (and the service, provided by well-meaning but untrained family members) does not live up to the food by any stretch. A very enjoyable stay overall and highly recommended.

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 12, 2005

My partner and I have just returned from 3 nights stay at the Wartling Place. We had read about the place beforehand and had very high expectations - we were not disappointed. We walked into the house to be greeted by lovely fragrance which followed you wherever you went. We booked one of the two four poster rooms which was spacious with period furniture which my partner described as Jane Austen. We were also treated to a 21" LCD TV with DVD and CD players. The bathroom was large and had a Queen Anne chair for company, there were plenty of quality toiletries and large fluffy towels. Breakfast was served in a super large room which doubled as the guest lounge. The menu was extensive to cater for all tastes and appetites, and the breakfasts we were served were very well prepared and presented. Our hostess Rowena went a long way to make our stay relaxing and enjoyable. She would advise us on were to dine and make reservations for us. She even gave us her mobile number in case of emergencies ! We paid £125 per night which may seem a bit on the high side for a B & B but I can assure anyone who reads this review that it was worth every penny. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastbourne
2.8 mi away
Priory Court Hotel
Priory Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pevensey
213 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Boship Lions Hotel
The Boship Lions Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lower Dicker
515 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cleavers Lyng
Cleavers Lyng
#1 of 5 in Herstmonceux
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lamb Inn
Lamb Inn
#1 of 1 in Wartling
11 reviews
1.8 mi away
Boreham House Bed and Breakfast
Boreham House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Boreham Street
72 reviews
6.3 mi away
Bassets House
Bassets House
#10 of 77 in Eastbourne
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wartling Place Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wartling Place Country House

Property: Wartling Place Country House
Address: Wartling, Herstmonceux, Eastbourne BN27 1RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wartling Place Country House 5 Star luxury bed and breakfast guest house accommodation offering relaxing holidays, luxury weekend breaks in a Georgian Grade II Listed building, formerly the ‘Rectory’ for the village of Wartling the house has been beautifully converted into a luxury bed and breakfast. Wartling Place 5 star, luxury bed and breakfast accommodation is situated in the idyllic ancient village of Wartling nr Hailsham nestled in the heart of 1066 Countryside in East Sussex . Our family run bed and breakfast accommodation overlooking the Sussex Downs, sits on the edge of the Pevensey Levels nature reserve, close to South Coast sea-side resort of Eastbourne which hosts year round attractions and boasts more hours of sunshine than almost any other English holiday resort! In addition to our Country House bed and breakfast we offer a self catering cottage, with a private garden, parking and every facility to enjoy a family holiday or longer break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wartling Place Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing