We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for a wonderful Afternoon Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
New Wilmington Hotel
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thank you for a wonderful Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This afternoon my Parents have been to this very friendly hotel for an Afternoon Tea - a voucher they had as a Christmas Present. They couldn't have enjoyed it more. The staff were very welcoming and they were so excited about the quality of the food. The tea consisted of wonderful sandwiches, delicious cakes, scrumptious scones and lots of cream and jam, all washed down with plenty of tea. Many thanks for giving them such an enjoyable time

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol190764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New_Wilmington, General Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Carol

Thank you for praise I will let all the staff know how much they enjoyed it, your parents are a lovely couple, we told them to pop in any time for a coffee or a sandwich.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    138
    37
    6
    3
See reviews for
101
262
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Right from the reservation we were treated as if we were family. Freindly staff who are willing to go that extra bit to help. Rooms clean and good size, brekfast excellent and cyclists are welcome. A lock up garage for secure bike storage. Easy walking distance to town centre

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New_Wilmington, General Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Hi Graham H

We are Glad you all enjoyed your evening with us and you will all visit again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff, made to feel welcome. Was lovely to come back to the bar after our evening out. and then go up to a comfortable, spacious room. Great service. Location perfect for theatres and restaurants. Thoroughly recommend for a short break at the seaside.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New_Wilmington, General Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Mel D
Thank you for you kind comments we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Very pleasant welcome on arrival at the hotel. The room was a lovely size, was lovely and clean with a nice en-suite bathroom and tea and coffee facilities (loved the hot chocolate!)
There was a problem with the boiler as the hotel was only opened at the weekend and the heating wasn't working in the room so quite cold. We reported this and it was looked at straight away and when we came back from an evening out it was fixed and nice and warm.
Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice and very friendly service.
The hotel is situated around the corner from the seafront and across the road from the Congress Theatre and within walking distance from the town so great position.
We would stay here again and reccomend

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Re-ads4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Re-ads4

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. Remember our Guest Club is free and means you receive the best offers throughout the year. Email or call and we will add you as a member.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2014

With thanks to Sue,Lynn,Jon and team for yet another great New Year break despite the horrendous weather,we loved the new restaurant and food was as good as ever.To anyone thinking of going to Eastbourne I can recommend the New Wilmington it's a great hotel near the sea and staff are all very helpful and friendly.Looking forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good , clean and well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gussy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Gussy47

What a fantastic review of your stay. Thank you so much and we wish you all the best for 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here from 30th December to 3rd January 2014, a package organised by Royles Travel, Sheffield who gave us a wonderful NY break. The hotel has a welcoming atmosphere, the rooms are rather dated but in good condition with comfortable beds and fresh bedding, my room had a new bathroom and everything is spotlessly clean. The food was very good with an excellent choice of menu. All of the staff are pleasant, polite, efficient and worked very hard to make our stay enjoyable. Thank you to all for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxsnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Maxsnan

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you had a lovely stay at out hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

After last year we were not sure whether to go back but have to say so glad we did.We had a brilliant time this year.The room and bathroom decorated,food excellent and entertainment spot on for all three nights.Staff helpful and friendly couldn't wish for better thankyou to Sue,Lyn,Jon and all the staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wavel42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Wavelp

Thank you for your kind review. We really worked hard to make sure all our entertainment was first class and gave all our guests a great time throughout the New Year celebrations. Thank you for booking with us again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,037 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#8 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,564 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 40 in Eastbourne
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
0.1 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
928 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Wilmington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Wilmington Hotel

Property: New Wilmington Hotel
Address: 25-27 Compton Street, Eastbourne BN21 4DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#7 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Wilmington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendliest welcome in Eastbourne ... The New Wilmington is an AA 3-star hotel, close to Eastbourne’s seafront, town centre and theatres. Hotel facilities include: 40 en-suite bedrooms, including lift level and ground floor rooms; free, unrestricted on-street parking; secure garages; a private lounge and bar and an 80-seat restaurant serving traditional home-cooked dishes.The hotel provides regular entertainment in the evenings, including live music in the bar lounge up to 4 nights a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your New Wilmington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Wilmington Eastbourne
Hotel New Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing