We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
New Wilmington Hotel
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My other half treated me to a night away at The New Wilminigton Hotel, the hotel is spotlessy clean with friendly & helpful staff.The rooms are very nice & maintained to a high standard, the bed was so comfortable, we felt so welcomed & at home at this hotel. Many of the staff have been there a long time, they cant do enough for u. In the evening we dined in the restaurant at the hotel we had a 3 course meal this was excellent, Liam's service was brilliant & so was Sue, who after our meal served us at the bar. The breakfast in the morning was out of this world everything u could think of that u can have including freshly baked croissants! again the staff go out of there way to make your stay pleasurable. The hotel has the look of a modern chain but the feel of a small family/friendly run hotel.Would of loved to stayed longer.Anyone wishing to stay at Eastbourne this hotel is a must.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicky021172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear vicky021172

Thank you so much for a wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and Liam sends his regards. We have a Regular Guest Club that is free to join, email info@new-wilmington-hotel.co.uk if you are not a member already and we will send you our best offers, exclusive to members only.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 546 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

We live in a town close to Eastbourne but for our anniversary thought it would be nice to have a meal, see a show and not worry about having a celebratory drink or driving home. This hotel is brilliant,not only is it opposite the theatres and a short stroll from the town, it is small friendly and delivers an amazing service via its amazing staff. it is very smart but with a homely/friendly feel. We'll be back, hopefully they will have a spare room for us......

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Sue H

Thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor audience. Our staff really make our hotel what it is and reviews like this really help. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We visit Eastbourne often but this was our first visit to The New Wilmington Hotel, what a great weekend to relax and enjoy the spotlessly clean surroundings with friendly and helpful staff.The rooms are so tastefully decorated with wonderfully comfortable beds ,we felt so at home and would have loved to have stayed longer. Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We are sure all visitors would be happy with rooms chosen by the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Pat P

Thanks for your wonderful review, if you are coming back to us at any point be sure to join our regular guest club and you will receive a 5% discount on all of our standard rates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This was my parents' second visit to the New Wilmington Hotel and they enjoyed this stay as much as the last. The rooms are very well maintained and equipped and the bed was extremely comfortable. Staff are lovely and can't do enough for you, most of them have worked there for a long time which is the sign of a good hotel with happy staff. The public areas are very clean and well tended to and the breakfast was outstanding. They would definitely highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Eastbourne.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scubachick1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Scubachick1974

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We will pass on your compliments to Chef regarding the breakfast. We try to employ only the most caring and thoughtful members of staff and everyone works together to provide a first class service to all of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I have visited Eastbourne many times but not stayed at The New Wilmington before. Have had some lovely sunday lunches in the past but not stayed. They have recently had a revamp and it looks fantastic. Very up to date and modern. Lovely big bar area which a great pace to meet up .. Large dining room very open and modern and the room was just right. Nicely decorated and lovely little touches. The breakfast was all freshly cooked and served by a waiter.. So nice to have a fresh fried egg... I would highly recommend this hotel.. The only downside is if you want a sea view as this Hotel is not on the sea front but only a couple of minutes walk away...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Maggie H

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we like to think that not being directly on the seafront means we need to work even harder to keep guests coming back again and again. Another point some guests make is it does mean we are a more peaceful hotel, being just a road away. We will pass on your comments to kitchen staff and the House Keepers who work so hard to keep the New Wilmington a great place to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We have just spent 6 wonderful days at The New Wilmington Hotel, it was excellent we were on Bed & Breakfast basis and the breakfast was wonderful, we also had Sunday lunch with friends and relations the lunch was second to none beautifully cooked and presented, overall a wonderful meal, all rooms and public areas were spotlessly clean, the staff could not be faulted very friendly and helpful.
We had relations from Australia staying with us there and they were also very impressed with the high standard of the New Wilmington Hotel.

From Brian & Daphne, Plymouth

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian382013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Brian382013

Thank you for a great review and your custom. We're delighted to here you and your guests enjoyed your stay and the Sunday roast. We are also introducing a new lunch menu including special burgers and sharing platters.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I'm still unable to explain how this place was so different from what I had expected based upon TripAdvisor rating, reviews and the place's own Website.

For one, my single room on the 3rd floor was clean and the bed comfortable, but... The room was small; perhaps the double rooms are larger. The one old window faced a courtyard. The TV was small and precariously balanced on a little table; it fell over when I brushed it entering the room the first time.

Two ways to get to my room: walk three flights of stairs or wait for the very slow moving and closet-sized elevator. No bellhop service was offered.

No ice machine, anywhere. Whoever was at the front desk was always willing to provide a glass (no buckets) of ice on request. But there is nobody on duty after 8 pm -- when they lock the front door! Upon arrival you are told to take your key when going out at night.

The hotel seemed pretty full. But all guests seemed to be senior citizens.

Room Tip: Call and ask about room size. There were lively groups nightly in the bar, so noise could be a probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IntrepidTravelerNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear IntrepidTravelerNYC

Our single rooms are certainly geared towards a guest who simply wants a clean, comfortable and suitable room on a budget. Most of our rooms will be Doubles, Twins, slightly larger family rooms and Superior rooms. Our flat screen TV's are 32 inch so this is the first time they have been described as small.

Our elevator is small but enough room for 4 people and for a hotel of our size it is mainly used by guests who find 3 flights of stairs a struggle or for heavy luggage. Our porter is also on hand for guests who require help with their luggage.

We are glad you found our hotel good enough to rate it 3 stars in spite of your expectations but as a family run 3 star hotel we may not be suitable for guests looking for 24 hour reception or oversized single rooms.

We hope you will think about using one of our larger rooms in future and feel free to discuss room sizes and facilities with reception by phone or via email.

Thanks

New Wilmington Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,533 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,801 reviews
1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#4 of 40 in Eastbourne
902 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,413 reviews
0 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Wilmington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Wilmington Hotel

Address: 25-27 Compton Street, Eastbourne BN21 4DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: $80 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Wilmington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendliest welcome in Eastbourne ... The New Wilmington is an AA 3-star hotel, close to Eastbourne’s seafront, town centre and theatres. Hotel facilities include: 40 en-suite bedrooms, including lift level and ground floor rooms; free, unrestricted on-street parking; secure garages; a private lounge and bar and an 80-seat restaurant serving traditional home-cooked dishes.The hotel provides regular entertainment in the evenings, including live music in the bar lounge up to 4 nights a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your New Wilmington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Wilmington Eastbourne
Hotel New Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing