We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, But lots of coffin dodgers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
New Wilmington Hotel
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good hotel, But lots of coffin dodgers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

It was a paid for accommodation, so not aware of the price. BUT brilliant place, close to Beach, city center, train station, and pubs and and Indian restaurant are nearby.

Place is cleaned and well maintained. Breakfast was good and the staff was helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gurinder79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Gurinder79

Although not entirely sure about the title of your review; we do however appreciate the helpful information on our location, cleanliness and food quality. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    132
    36
    6
    3
See reviews for
98
254
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed in room 220, superior room at the New Wilmington Hotel, Eastbourne, from 7th - 11th May 2013. Hotel has been extensively redecorated throughout. Clean and tidy, room nice and big. Good lighting, LED lights used so that you can have a drink and a chat without being blinded! Will suit the 'Greens'.Entertainment evenings OK. Food, good. Breakfast basic but freshly cooked if you like the 'Full English'. Evening meal, 3 courses, all well presented and reasonable choice. Staff friendly, efficient and helpful. Small quiet room (lounge) for reading. Situated in quiet part of town but near to all that Eastbourne has to offer. Small lift. Bar prices OK; pint of bitter £3.45. We will certainly stay here again and would recommend this hotel to others. Well done, Sue Harris; General Manager.

Room Tip: No real noisy rooms. Ask for superior room if possible; little more space available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Steven G

Thank you for your helpful review, we certainly make sure Superior rooms are worth that little bit extra and we are glad this translates to our guests experience. We will pass on your kind words to our staff and look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards

Sue Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a very clean hotel with very helpful staff and a good restaurant. Reasonably priced rooms that are a little bit dated but very clean. We stayed here as I was running a marathon in Brighton during our stay. Unfortunately they didn't serve breakfast until 7:30 which was too late and after I left. However the receptionist got in extra early for us and laid some breakfast stuff for us.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Garry S

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We always like to go the extra mile and getting a review like this makes it all worthwhile. We hope you enjoyed the marathon and if you are running again please let us know in advance and we will make sure we prepare an early breakfast again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We were very much satisfied with our stay at the New Wilmington Hotel and can only praise the attentivness of its staff. Very comfortable rooms and good food for breakfast and dinner. However, in the evening you must have placed your order by 8pm which was a bit of an disapointment as we came late home from one of our trips. The bar is open until 12 midnight, but has only crisps and no sandwiches on offer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heinzschoellhammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Heinzschoellhammer

Thank you for your review. We have now made sure all evening and bar staff are aware that we offer sandwiches in the evenings as well as bar snacks. We hope this means our guests are never hungry. Thanks again and we will pass on your lovely feedback to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Enjoyable 5 day stay at the New Wilmington,not one thing to complain about from arriving to departing.decor and cleanliness throughout the Hotel is 1st Class.Staff at reception helpful,Dining room staff are efficient and friendly ,Eve happy and lively girl. Chefs provide varied and delicious food. After dinner drink in the pleasant bar rounds off the day.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Junemoonboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Junemoonboom

Wow a great review and we will be sure to share it with Eve who has now got 2 mentions recently! Our Chef has been working very hard to serve food which is fresh, cooked on site and varied, we are really happy with our menu as well as the new restaurant. A lot of guests are choosing to upgrade to half board instead of just breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Decided to stay overnight in Eastbourne after a trip to the Theatre. The Hotel was within 2 minutes walk of main theatres and would be an excellent base for a longer stay. The main thing that came across is that all the hotel staff from reception to waiters , cleaners and bar staff took pride in providing a first class service . Excellent breakfast and clean , fresh room. Wish we could have stayed longer but will use again for next theatre or overnight stays.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 147ChrisB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear 147ChrisB

Thank you for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor users. Our staff take great pride in giving an excellent level of service and having people like yourself share this with other potential guests is a massive boost. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Eastbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Newly renovated Hotel. Our room was top floor but comfortable. Pleasant service and staff and small bar. Breakfast very good although we did not dine in the evenings although the Restaurant looked very welcoming. Good position near but not on Sea Front and plenty of free local parking.

Good Weekend deal out of season. Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crozpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Crozpac

Thank you for your kind review. We will share your feedback with our members of staff who will be delighted to hear their hard works has paid off yet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,792 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#9 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
1.0 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Wilmington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Wilmington Hotel

Property: New Wilmington Hotel
Address: 25-27 Compton Street, Eastbourne BN21 4DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#7 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Wilmington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendliest welcome in Eastbourne ... The New Wilmington is an AA 3-star hotel, close to Eastbourne’s seafront, town centre and theatres. Hotel facilities include: 40 en-suite bedrooms, including lift level and ground floor rooms; free, unrestricted on-street parking; secure garages; a private lounge and bar and an 80-seat restaurant serving traditional home-cooked dishes.The hotel provides regular entertainment in the evenings, including live music in the bar lounge up to 4 nights a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your New Wilmington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Wilmington Eastbourne
Hotel New Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing