We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
New Wilmington Hotel
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel used to be owned by my uncle in the late 60's...hadn't been there in over 40 years yet we walked in and it felt like home...the management and staff are wonderful and will do anything to make your stay as pleasant as possible (obviously within reason) - the rooms are beautifully comfortable in a homely way...they have everything you need...the restaurant and the breakfasts are great, in the evening the bar has a great atmosphere and the functions and entertainment they lay on for guests at Christmas are brilliant...why this hotel is only rated as an AA 3 Star I will never understand as we've stayed in so many supposedly luxury hotels around Britain and Europe yet we'll always come back here and be treated like family...and always enjoy our stay!!! We were hoping to visit in the New Year but they were being refurbed - can't wait to come home and see what's new - thanks to the lovely Sue Harris and her team for making this the place that deserved to win Eastbourne's Hotel of the year...(even though they have no car park there is free parking outside) - well deserved and we'll see you soon - thank you !!! Bron & Simone x

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Bron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Bron B

Thank you so much for your kind review. As you follow our facebook page you will be fully aware of the extent of the refurbishment of the soon to be Mulberry restaurant. We are really looking forward to the reaction of our regular guests and several of our rooms are having new bathrooms fitted as well. Look forward to seeing you again this year and look out for the photos on facebook as we update the refurbishment album.

Thanks again

Sue Harris and all at the New Wilmington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 546 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

The whole experience was truly exceptional. The staff were friendly and helpful! The building is well furnished and clearly kept to a very high, fresh standard. The basin in our bathroom was brilliant too- my partner kept raving about it. As for the food, again brilliant, couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Niceperson66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Niceperson66

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are currently working on refurbishing our new restaurant which will launch in March along with regular Sunday Roasts. We hope to see you again and continue to provide a high level of service.

Kind Regards

New Wilmington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Very welcoming staff
Lovely rooms with everything you need!
Lift is great, no climbing stairs
Menu and food are 5*, enjoyed every breakfast and evening meal, you can also order lunch too if needed!!
My husband had a stinker of a cold and he got a full breakfast on a tray in our room, wonderful service!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lauraianharps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Lauraianharps

Thank you for your kind words, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and will be informing the kitchen team regarding your positive experience with the food.

Kind Regards

New Wilmington Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Have stayed here for the last few years for New Year package but was really disappointed this year.The cleanliness was up to the usual good standard and the staff were very friendly.However the food and dining room service were not very good and the entertainment on New Years Eve was dire.The singer Helen on New Year's Day was excellent and should have been there the night before.As the price had gone up this year I do not think it was good value for money and as we stayed four nights the last day was dreadful as there were only a few guests left and nobody seemed that bothered they were just waiting for us to go so the hotel could close.Will have to entice us back next year with better deal.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wavel42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Wavelp

Thank you for your review. We apologise for the delay in response but we wanted to look into this with all members of staff. We have informed the entertainer of your feedback and he sends his sincere apologies. On the last day before we close it can feel a little strange because most guests have left and a hotel always feels very different when it isn't full, we have spoken to all members of staff to reaffirm that the only reason we are the best is because we are always at our best. We have reviewed all feedback from the New Years package and thankfully all other feedback forms contained glowing words regarding food and service, however we take every single experience into account and will be contacting you directly with a view to creating a package which is not only good value for money, but offers an exceptional experience.

Kind Regards

New Wilmington Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have just had a four night Christmas break there and would recommend this hotel to anyone,we had a great time. The staff could not have been more helpful if they tried,we have never eaten so much food in a English hotel before Thank you to all the chefs ( very tasty) and lots of choice. We did not stay in a superior room ours was very clean and comfortable.Hope to stay again in the future.
Thank you again and a very Happy New Year to Jeremy, Sue, Jon, Lyn, William and our waitress Jasmine and everyone else
Chris Ann & Uncle Bert

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christopher w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear Chris, Ann & Uncle Bert

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We will inform our Chefs, waiters, waitresses, house keeping and reception staff of your review. Have a great New Years Eve and we hope 2013 brings happiness and laughter to you and your family.

Jeremy, Sue, Jon, Lyn, Liam & Jasmine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

we are a group of 4 -couples that have the enjoyed the last 6 - years at this hotel and can only report back that the food,staff and accommodation are brilliant.We are convinced that the 3 - star rating is worthy of more and we will be returning again next year.Top of the leader board is the right position for the 'NEW WILMINGTON' and this year's break at the end of November did not disappoint

Room Tip: Superior rooms are brilliant - lots of room and very well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear Derek T

Thank you so much for your review of the New Wilmington. It is so important that we keep long term customers like yourself happy and wanting to come back year on year. The superior rooms are a popular choice for regular guests like yourself. This January we will be upgrading several rooms and completely refurbishing the dining room to give it a similar up to date feel as the bar.

Thanks again

From us all at the New Wilmington Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed for a night for a Christmas do. Excellent value for money, close to the seafront and great walks a stones throw away. The rooms are more than comfortable enough and the staff very friendly. Great little bar to relax in and a the restaurant serves up lovely food. Highly recommended for a stay in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blockyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New_Wilmington, Manager at New Wilmington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Blockyb

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We have had a few Christmas parties this year and everyone seems to have had a wonderful time. We will inform the Chef of your compliments and the rest of our hotel team.

Have a great Christmas

All at New Wilmington Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,633 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,891 reviews
1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#4 of 40 in Eastbourne
918 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Wilmington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Wilmington Hotel

Address: 25-27 Compton Street, Eastbourne BN21 4DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: $80 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Wilmington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendliest welcome in Eastbourne ... The New Wilmington is an AA 3-star hotel, close to Eastbourne’s seafront, town centre and theatres. Hotel facilities include: 40 en-suite bedrooms, including lift level and ground floor rooms; free, unrestricted on-street parking; secure garages; a private lounge and bar and an 80-seat restaurant serving traditional home-cooked dishes.The hotel provides regular entertainment in the evenings, including live music in the bar lounge up to 4 nights a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your New Wilmington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Wilmington Eastbourne
Hotel New Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing