We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super good”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Urban Ground

Urban Ground
Ranked #3 of 29 Coffee & Tea in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $5
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Independent coffee shop serving speciality direct trade coffee, whole leaf teas, filled artisan breads and homemade cakes. We now also run the cafe at at the Towner Gallery, College Road, Eastbourne. It is on the 2nd Floor with awesome views. Licensed with local craft beers, fine wines and bubbles!
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Super good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

This independent cafe is an absolute gem - I almost didn't want to write a review as it's popular enough anyway. The owner, who is almost always there, has ensured that his staff know how to make an exceptionally good coffee (truly one of the best we have ever had either in Eastbourne, London or abroad). They are also unfailingly polite and welcoming and the whole experience is a pleasure. For that reason we come here whenever we're in Eastbourne in preference to anywhere else.

If you haven't tried Urban Ground you absolutely should!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RPLondon0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    44
    14
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lots of places look good but this one is solid.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Urban Ground continues reliably as the place for fantastic coffee in Eastbourne. Friendly staff providing great but not intrusive service. It is a clean, cool, stylish and comfortable place to take a break in the town. The coffee is always just such good quality, the home cooked cakes are great and hot ciabatta are really tasty.
About the coffee again; It deserves a mention as it is clearly a product of very careful thought and sourcing. I have not had better in Sussex and thinking about it probably in the UK.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Coffee Snobs Take Note”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Being from Melbourne Australia, arguably the home of the world biggest coffee snobs, we have fairly high standards for our coffee. Of course, like wine, coffee can come down to personal taste but we feel that the crew at Urban Ground are really on their game, perhaps they'll make a visit to the World Barista Championships in Melbourne(yes, there is such a thing at the World Coffee Expo no less!!!).

The owner and staff just don't serve coffee they are truly interested in their product, what you like about it and have a great range of coffee from an ethical source which I always like. We had a great chat to them and they were a bit stunned we had come so far and had them as defined stop on our tour of Eastbourne (lovely place, I prefer it too Brighton). When you are traveling with coffee snobs its good to do your homework before setting off on a global jaunt, they can get nasty without good coffee! We munched away on portuguese tarts and knocked back a couple of flat whites, latte's and cappuccino's all of which were very good to excellent.

Make sure you give this place a visit if you love your coffee.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank newtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Combe Martin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best Lunch and Coffee ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Just had a weekend in Eastbourne and i can really say this was an experience to remember
a really trendy clean cafe with a great combination of rolls and other foods like the portuguese
custard tarts (natas) i believe thats there name not had these since we worked in portugal very friendly staff and dedicated owners give them a visit if your in Eastbourne.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good addition to town centre food offering”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Friendly trendy coffee shop with light food. Also do takeaways right in the centre of Eastbourne .
Highly recommended

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Ground also viewed

Eastbourne, East Sussex
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 

Been to Urban Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing