We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel and hosts in lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Lodge Guest House
Ranked #27 of 77 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel and hosts in lovely location”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We are so pleased we found & booked bay lodge for our 29th anniversary break. What a wonderful hotel, we had a fantastic room including a balcony with table & chairs overlooking the pavilion & redoubt fort and across to the sea. Angela & Mark were fantastic hosts and so welcoming & helpful. Breakfast was great, plenty of choice and fantastic service (thanks Mark).
Our room (5) was spotlessly clean, comfy king size bed, large wardrobe and plenty of drawer space even for me (ask the husband who carried the bags!). The bathroom was spacious and bright & again spotless. Complimentary shampoo/shower gel etc & great tea tray including biscuits and sweets which were great touches. A real home from home and would recommend to anyone. Fantastic hotel and will definately be
visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamamilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    32
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
28
70
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We needed a room for a couple of nights but, for some unknown reason, nearly everywhere was full for miles around, in all directions. We wanted a room with a King-size bed in a B&B which had achieved good or better review ratings. After searching online, making a few phone calls and emailing requests to places shown as full online it turned out they really were full or only had family rooms, double bed or twin bed rooms. Although other reviews mentioned the sloping roof beams (I am 6' 2"), the bath was described & pictured with hand-held/wall-mounted shower run from the bath taps and the position of the hotel was on a busy seafront road we decided it had to be Bay Lodge - we booked the only available room online.

Room 10 was ours! The fact that it is at the top of the building, after a couple of flights of stairs, wasn't a problem as we didn't have large suitcases with a week's worth of clothes inside. It has a bay window looking out over the Redoubt and the bay towards Sovereign Harbour, the pier is not in view but it's just around the corner. A digital flatscreen TV (Freeview channels) with built-in DVD player, wall mounted was fine for the brief amount of time we spent catching up on the news or listening to music on the radio. The no-smoking and no-hot takeaway food signs in the rooms must be having the desired effect because all floors were clean; all the surfaces were clean and dust free as well, unfortunately not something you can take for granted on your travels. Plenty of hanging & storage space in the bedroom, the pine furniture was all of the same design, one drawer contained the hair-dryer and if needed, extra blankets were on top of the wardrobe. Inevitably there were a few signs stuck on the wall in typical B&B style and a comprehensive multi-lingual guest information folder had all the required housekeeping info and plenty of local what's-on information.

If, like us, you need fresh air and sleep with the window open, then expect to hear the passing traffic and pedestrians below producing the usual sounds of the evening & night! After a day's activities we were tired enough to ignore them and fall soundly asleep on the cotton sheets under the duvet on our King-size bed. On our first morning the sun was shining brightly, streaming in through the curtains (well, they do claim Eastbourne is the sun-trap of the South or something like that!) but on the second morning the rain was hammering against the windows as we looked out on a grey, turbulent sea.

The bathroom seems newly refurbished and all items (bath, basin & w.c.) were all bright, white and shiny clean. For the older, less mobile, guest the slippery bathtub without any grab handles or anti-slip measures made getting out without assistance an impossible task.

During "the season", from May to September, Bank Holidays and weekends a hot cooked breakfast is served from 8:30 to 9:15 with an alternative "eat in your room" cold option served to your door by 22:00 the previous evening (If ordered by 19:00). As we were staying for bed and breakfast, we made sure to set the alarm as we didn't want to miss the 45 minute serving window, We were greeted as we entered the dining room and found our numbered table (#10), neatly laid and ready for us with 2 packs of both butter and margarine in a dish, milk in a jug, sugars & sauces and a trivet ready to receive the pot of hot tea which came quickly enough.

The hot breakfast option seemed like a popular choice, it seemed like everyone had decided to come down more or less at the same time. When we ordered one Full English with scrambled eggs (without the tinned tomatoes) and a Scrambled Eggs with Smoked Salmon, we were informed that it would be few minutes because there were a number of scrambled egg orders at that time.

Despite the warning, it wasn't very long before the cooked breakfast arrived but there was just enough time for us to eat our choices from the juices, cereals, fruit & yoghurt displayed on the self-service central bar. The eggs were freshly cooked, not as tasty or as yellow in colour as I've eaten elsewhere but better than some of the watery or rubbery scrambled eggs you come across with some poorer breakfasts. The portion size of smoked salmon accompanying the scrambled eggs was generous to say the least, the slices completely covered the scrambled eggs! I enjoyed the mushrooms and I doubt if anyone has any complaints about either the slice of bacon or the sausage.

Also on the central display were a wide choice of jam and marmalade satchets, individually wrapped brioche and pain au chocolate, all laid out for you to help yourself. The brioche had another week to go before reaching the best before date but I found the taste disappointing.

There is a small bar area at the front of the hotel which is advertised as open from 5:30 to 10:30 but we didn't get time to try this out. Wireless internet is free and, according to the information folder, it's best to try to pick up the signal downstairs in the public areas near reception and in the sun lounge; wi-fi was not advertised as covering all the bedrooms and it didn't reach room 10.

Room Tip: Book early for the room of your choice during summer season and for events in Eastbourne
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigDaveMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I cannot rate this place highly enough. The physical attributes of the hotel are precisely what we expected - good sized room, clean, comfortable, sea front etc. But what stands out is the way in which you are made to feel genuinely welcome - top that off with a great breakfast and a very brave attempt at an italian coffee, all served with good humour, and you have a very nice place indeed. Top notch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveLaveno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

A friend and I stayed for one night and found the place to be so much better than we'd expected for the price we paid. The room was big, super-clean and full of the little ammenities I didn't expect- different teas, coffee, and even a cookie and some sweets! the location is great- close to the center of it all and right across from the beach. The owners were friendly, helpful and cooked up a mean breakfast! There are lots of options to eat. We didn't use the honesty bar but love the idea, and the prices there were pretty cheap. I would definitely stay here again if I made it bac to Eastbourne!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lpoko258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

We came to Eastbourne for a wedding party with our two boys in tow. The family rooms with adjoining kids room was perfect for us and was good value. It passed my wife's cleanliness test, which many bigger hotels have failed! Handy parking at the rear and a filling slap up breakfast made this ideal for our trip. Popular little hotel and you can see why.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ESilvester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I booked a family room which is 2 rooms interconnecting, displays 4 people, 2A 2C but i booked & requested a camp bed for my 3rd child who's only 6 or they could all get into 1 bed.
I was told we cant do it,even though a cot is available its a squeeze & to book a 3rd room or find another hotel!!
& was then advised the real reason anyway is we can't seat you in the dining room!
In this day & age i cannot believe how rubuffed i feel having 3 kids & would have been able to take it a bit better if the lady calling wasn't so rude & unhelpful

Room Tip: make sure you only have 2 kids!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayL, Owner at Bay Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
This lady booked a family suite through Late Rooms where it clearly states that the room is for two adults and two children only. She asked for a camp bed to be put in the room for her six year old. I rang her to say that the room was not suitable for an extra child and we didn't have the seating capacity in the dining room for an extra child either. She was quite rude and said that we were not very child friendly. I would like to point out that it was clearly stated that the room was for two adults and two children only and that if we could accommodate another child in the room we would advertise the fact and provide another bed (we don't have any camp beds either). Also the price for the room does not include an extra person but she seemed to overlook this as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feltham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Breakfast is nothing special. Very clean b&b. Owner was helpful, he did reposition our breakfast table for my father who has issues walking. However, he did come across rather moody. We stayed in a loft room, had to spend the whole time ducking whilst walking around the room and the room overlooked the car park. The bar isn't really a bar, just a few chairs and a tv, with a couple of drinks to choose from. One night we were just sitting in the bar minding our own business watching tv when we were approched by the owner and told to leave the bar as it was 'closed'. Slightly confused considering we weren't actually being served, really it's a just a room to sit in and watch TV, rather than being in your room. Forget the wifi, the only place you'll get it is in the hallway.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_smith_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayL, Owner at Bay Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
In response to your comments regarding the bar - it is advertised as an honesty bar and it is also a place where you can watch TV. There is a notice on the door to say that it is closed at 10.30pm, you were asked to leave nearer 11.30. this is because it is next to a guest room and the guests may not wish to be disturbed by people using the bar. You also brought in your own alcohol which we allowed. The free Wi Fi is available in the hallway and the sun lounge only and we do state this. Also can I say that the rear rooms at the top do have restricted ceiling height - again this is stated where we advertise, and if you would like a sea view you can book a room with a sea view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.4 mi away
Marine Parade Hotel
Marine Parade Hotel
#34 of 40 in Eastbourne
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambridge House
Cambridge House
#22 of 77 in Eastbourne
46 reviews
0.5 mi away
Far End Guest House
Far End Guest House
#36 of 77 in Eastbourne
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beach Front Guest House
Beach Front Guest House
#2 of 77 in Eastbourne
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coast Guest Accommodation
Coast Guest Accommodation
#25 of 77 in Eastbourne
225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beamsley Lodge
Beamsley Lodge
#26 of 77 in Eastbourne
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Lodge Guest House

Property: Bay Lodge Guest House
Address: 61 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Lodge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly welcome awaits guests at the Bay Lodge Guest House in Eastbourne. Situated on the seafront opposite the Redoubt Military Fortress and Pavilion Tea Gardens. There are six ensuite rooms for adults only, situated over three floors. Two of the room have sea views and one of these has a large balcony with seating. Each room has TV with Freeview, tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryer and clock radio. Full English breakfast and buffet are served each day in the dining room. There is a car park at the rear with three spaces and free on street parking nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Bay Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing