We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful food with excellent silver service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful food with excellent silver service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

I have been treated twice here for a meal - once for lunch and second time was dinner. The whole experience is just wonderful and takes you back in time when elegance and service were masters. Jackets and ties are not required for lunch but preferred for dinner -although we did get away with it midweek.

I cannot comment on the bedrooms, but everything else is just wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    866
    348
    188
    71
    33
See reviews for
373
727
41
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

I was take here for lunch by my parents who recently moved to Eastbourne.The hotel has a certain faded elegance.Prior to lunch we decided to have drinks in the lounge.Service was slow and we had a sour faced eastern european waitress who the management should fire.
The drinks once ordered were graciously served by the barman along with a plate of various snacks.Menus were brought and we were shown to our table. The service was superb and the food actually very good.Full marks to our waiter Ronnie for looking after us but other staff need to get their act together.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davideHoveEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Like the Eastbourne and the Empire, much of what set the Grand Hotel apart is now confined to dusty history books. The building and location are excellent. Sadly the experience is a series of dimishing returns thereafter. Upon entering the hotel, the reception staff were all extremely courteous, professional and had me checked in with minimum fuss. Dealing with the concierge was more hassle, however. I had mentioned I had neglected to pack socks and were there any shops locally that were opened after 6pm. I was told no, the only places were out of town. In fact there were many a mere 10 minute walk. Maybe I am a feeble looking 30something. This annoyed me more than it should. My bedroom room was extremely spacious, however the bathroom left a lot to be desired. Perhaps fully carpeted bathroom suites were once an ostentatious display of wealth. Nowadays it automatically conjures up images of a foul smelling, dank room riddled with other people's foot sweat and athlete's foot. The shower was in a stand in bath, the mattress was extremely soft and the decor so dated it will probably be en vogue again any year now. I felt like I was staying with my grandmother. As for the clientele, being judged at for being under 40 and not wearing a tie while walking the corridors does not create an overly welcoming environment. In terms of dining, lunch and dinner were part of the package. Both can only be described as functional dining experiences. Lunch was little more than canteen food albeit with attention paid to using seasonal vegetables. Dinner was standard but nowhere near what one would expect from a 5 star hotel. If one must visit Eastbourne, I am confident there are more cost effective options.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markgdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

I paid £165 for a deluxe room in this hotel, I expected more the room was basic and the service was poor we missed two appointments due to our car being blocked in by wedding guests, the buffet breakfast was a sham with many items missing forcing me after a ten minute wait to abandon on plated selection to then wait twenty minutes for poached eggs only to discover that again many items were missing, I then discovered the food selected was cold
The clientele are snobs and I gave up holding the door open and it was a thankless task not even a nod to say thank you, a shirt and tie for lunch mmm, still stuck in the 1900s
Unless you are over 65 and full of yourself avoid bad staff and even worse customers

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phil d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

On arriving at The Grand we were welcomed by a very friendly and informative receptionist, then we were shown to our room and offered help with our bags. A good first impression.
However, when we entered our Deluxe room we were slightly disappointed - the room was very dated and wallpaper coming away from the wall, a tiny t.v and the tea making facilities were on the floor in the wardrobe... Bathroom was spacious and spotlessly clean, as was the rest of the hotel.
I will say that the quality of the bedding, and mattress, along with the Molton Brown toiletries, we were soon won over.
Spa - sadly I did not book in advance and didn't get to enjoy a treatment here but the spa/pool area and gym were fantastic. We spent a whole day (whilst it was raining outside) laying around the pool, enjoying the jet spa and sauna room. You can also order food and drinks here at a reasonable price.
After our first night the hotel grew on us, along with the dated furnishings/decor - it was quite nice to see the original features of the hotel and tried to imagine it how it was back in it's own era.
Staff were all great and helpful - the only thing that needs to change (in my opinion) is the dress code for dinner - we had to eat out (apart from breakfast which was delicious) because of the black tie/dinner jacket rule which was a shame. They have 2 restaurants - surely they could have one for more relaxed diners?
Overall a lovely stay and would come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bizee_b123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAST SUSSEX
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is rated 5 star so I was expecting 5 star service but sadly it failed a few times. We were staying over night & our room was ready when we arrived, a sea view which was gorgeous. We decided on a cream tea but on arriving at the lounge we were shown to our seats and forgotten about for 30 minutes! Cream tea eventually arrived & was yummy. A quick drink before dinner again turned into a waiting game, 20 minutes before we were served. Dinner was 5 star, breakfast was 5 star & the leisure facilities were also 5 star - staff not so 5 star! Waitresses were clueless which was a shame. My advice book a table if a cuppa is required & allow time before dinner for a drink.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KJTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
338 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

At one level, this was a charming experience. A truly lovely building from a different era, with the public areas very well restored and maintained. The staff were very polite and welcoming. And all the basic requirements of a good bed and good shower in a clean environment were met. But at another level, this was really a bit dated - especially for the high room rates offered. The bedroom furnishings (in a superior room) were dated; the carpet in the bathroom a serious no-no at a time when we expect a high standard of hygiene in guest bathrooms; and a demand that guests wear a jacket or tie in the evenings in the public areas - including the bar - really ludicrous in the 21st century (especially when peering into the dining room, the sartorial dress sense was somewhat odd). So if you want to take a step back to another era, then this is definitely recommended - but perhaps not for those of us who want something rather more up-to-date at every level.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MSH-Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,781 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#25 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#11 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
0.3 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Eastbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Eastbourne

Property: The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Address: King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel Eastbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
England's only five-star seaside hotel, The Grand in Eastbourne is one of the UK's most magnificent hotels. Variously described as a 'White Palace' and 'Wedding Cake', the majestic landmark property occupies a prime spot on the town's seafront with panoramic views along the coast and towards the cliffs at Beachy Head.Facilities include 152 beautiful bedrooms, many with stunning sea views. 2 Award winning Restaurants. Indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools, fully equipped Gymnasium and 8 beauty rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing