We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mirrabelle restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Grand hotel has a very large Dining Room or Restaurant but in addition has a gem of a small select restaurant named The Mirrabelle.
We dined in there on a cold winter lunchtime and all staff, including in particular the manager who has been there for over seven years, are highly professional, courteous and attentive.
The cost of a lunch is no more than charged at 4* hotels and is excellent value. The quality of cooking and the presentation is first class.
Whether staying or just visiting make an informed choice and dine at this excellent venue.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLIVE F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,622)
There are newer reviews for The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,194 - 1,200 of 1,622 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

we had a wonderful weekend at the Grand Hotel. We were there for a friends wedding on the Saturday. The staff were very efficient, attentive and friendly. nothing was too much trouble, the food was excellent through the whole time and the setting for the wedding was brilliant. the hotel boasts generous size rooms and great facilities. We will definitely be going back to this hotel

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Have stayed at the grand several times over a 10 year period the main hotel is superb apart from the rooms are a little tired but the big problem is the spa which is just a complete joke for a 5 star hotel 20 years out of date it has not improved since i first stayed 10 years ago so sort the spa out

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewdavid14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We went to book in and were told we had to let them authorise payment for the stay, PLUS £100, in case we stole something !!!!!! not a very good start ! I was not impressed at all !! The Room was ok, but another poor point was that the toiletries were not replaced, so there were none on the second day, and only one small bar of soap. We are talking FIVE star hotel here with 5* prices, this is penny pinching in the extreme. We went to the Bar for a drink and no nibbles, remember five star hotel here. and to cap it all we were overcharged £50 on checkout, remember we are talking 5* hotel here . all in all not very good, hotel needs to pull its socks up !

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuart-harley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Our frequent visits to The Grand Hotel Eastboune including stay over the christmas and new year, Management & staff in our opinion first class, Excellent service & food lots of attention to detail (a cruise on land) Entertanment over the festive season first class, The Grand Hotel Eastbourne (Claridges Of Eastbourne) Mr L Edmonds & Mrs S Edmonds

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We recently had a festive afternoon tea at the Grand between Christmas and new year for family to meet up. The service was disappointing - given that there were 9 of us and we had one pot of tea between us, we were constantly asking for refills. The selection of sandwiches was reasonable, though somewhat meagre - one 1/2 round per person, with numerous cakes and pastries. There were an excessive number of staff, but trying to catch someone's eye, usually to fill up the teapot was a bit of a challenge. It was also somewhat strange that they came and took away the cake stands half way through the tea - we can only presume they were needed for another table. That said, the lounge was beautifully decorated for the festive season as was the lobby and entrance.
The cost per person we felt was rather high, given the choice available and we have certainly had more variety, and more food at other hotels.
For convenience for meeting up with family it was central, but given a choice, we wouldn't return for the afternoon tea option again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AthelbraeTraining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hotel for 3 nights during half term in October 2012 with our 6 year old granddaughter. She shared a room with us, her bed was made up every night, so during the day we had loads of space. She was very hesitant about going to the Junior Crew Club, but once she went she loved it and went every day. The indoor pool is a perfect size and for the needy there looks to be a very good gym and spa. The food for 6 year olds was very good and we were able to choose our dining time. The staff who looked after the childrenin the Junior Crew Club were just brilliant, we had no hesitation in dropping her off each morning whilst we went for a good breezy walk along the esplanade.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeSunborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#34 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 40 in Eastbourne
850 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
937 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Eastbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Eastbourne

Address: King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: $200 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel Eastbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
England's only five-star seaside hotel, The Grand in Eastbourne is one of the UK's most magnificent hotels. Variously described as a 'White Palace' and 'Wedding Cake', the majestic landmark property occupies a prime spot on the town's seafront with panoramic views along the coast and towards the cliffs at Beachy Head.Facilities include 152 beautiful bedrooms, many with stunning sea views. 2 Award winning Restaurants. Indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools, fully equipped Gymnasium and 8 beauty rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastbourne Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing