We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, friendly staff ,good place to stay”
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Queens Hotel
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is a fantastic hotel , great staff britney . Bob, sorcha , to name a few , we will be coming back ( already booked ) The sea view was stunning ,bedroom was good very clean , the restaurant food and service very good, the. Staff at the bar welcoming , reception very good and helpful , 100./'

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Wellybob55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 344 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

had a great time overlooking the sea from room 208 ....... the sevice recieved fron our table waiter ..... Saisha was second to none the banter was good and no request to much, The events arranged in the evening engaged everybody irrespective of age or ability.

Would i stop again your dead right i would ........

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank neilenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed at the queens for one night on a coach trip. The hotel staff were really nice and polite, and the decor of the hotel is great. My room was very big and the bed was really comfortable. The meals were very good. i couldnt complain about anythig and will definately be going to this Hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank carole b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed at the Queens with 4 friends on the 17 Nov. Whilst we found the staff to be very friendly and welcoming, we were very disappointed by the quality of the food.

We had the Gala dinner menu - equivalent to Christmas Day Dinner menu - and had hoped this would be highlight of our stay. It was but not in the way we were expecting.

We picked the melon and mixed berries to start and discovered that the berries was actually half a teaspoon full of jam. Then came the main course - roast turkey with the usual accompaniments - but there was a very small portion of turkey and the vegetables had clearly been reheated, with the Brussels sprouts being so overcooked that they were black and inedable. Unfortunately the dessert was no better - we had all picked the sherry trifle which looked lovely but the jelly was so runny that it would have been easier to drink it through a straw.
Finally there were black bits floating in the milk. Whilst the breakfast was an improvement, the toast had only been done on one side and there was floating in the tea, indicating that the teapot had not been washed properly.

In their favour, we were given replacement food and the Restaurant Manager and Asst Hotel Manager did come to speak to us. But they made us feel that we were lying and just keep saying that they got 95% positive feedback that week. Either the other guests are happy with poor quality food or were very very unlucky - I don't know which.

Message to the Queens Hotel management: we will be writing a letter of complaint to you about this. We will not be coming back next week nor will be recommending the hotel to any of our friends.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AliKay103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have just come back from a weekend at Eastbourne staying at the Queens Hotel. The cost was £52 for a Christmas party weekend.We were picked up from Romford and arrived at Eastbourne 1.00pm. The hotel was rated as a 2 star so we were amazed when we pulled into the car park.
The hotel is a lovely old grand building on the sea front opposite the pier. We were in a huge room which was clean, with a comfortable bed and a very good power shower.All the floorboard creaked when you were walking on them but that was part of the charm. We had a good christmas meal and sat in the lounge afterwards The hotel was central heated and the whole of the hotel was very warm. There was entertainment, however, this was not very good, just a guy playing a keyboard and singing. We had a good evening sitting a a lovely huge lounge just having a drink. We booked out by 11 and the coach left at 1. We had a lovely time Thanks to all the staff at the Queens.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DENISE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel rating says 2 stars but that does not give an indication want the hotel is about. It is a lovely old building steeped in character with beautiful high ceilings and lots of creeking floor boards.

My wife and I booked in with our little girl. We only booked a double as she was going to sleep in a cot, but the manager kindly put us in a huge family room at no extra cost. The reception staff were very friendly throughout and was very efficient.

The bar is a lovely room as is the dining room and food and drink service was very efficient. Drinks were also sensibly priced, and I really enjoyed taking my pint through to the snooker room.
Sunday breakfast was very well organised, which is very rare in a hotel. We had a fantastic American waitress look after us, the coffee was good, lots of toast that we didnt have to make ourselves, and the plated English breakfast was really very good. All in all a real pleasure and a reminder to those big hotel companies that Sunday breakfast can be done well.

There are little things that I could pick on such as the creeky floorboards and small beds, but then you remember the great views and lots of free parking (not a given in a seaside town).
All in all a trip back to a different time when service was good and people smiled. And the price was sensible too!!

Room Tip: If you want a bath, make sure that you request one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tonyhLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

this hotel is brill for being right by the town and the sea front the room we stayed in 528 was brill the bathroom was very big so it was lovely to have a shower were you had plenty of room heated towel rails. the only prob we had we had a small leak from roof over bathroom door the last couple of days but nothing to really fuss over . the hotel is not for the younger people but for the more mature we took our 87 year mom who loved it the entertainment was ok if you like ballroom danceing you wont sit down .nothing to much trouble would go back there again and yes there are squeaky floorboads but it is a old hotel nothing bad to say about this hotel at all

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jacqueline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#32 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,442 reviews
0.4 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,701 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,935 reviews
0.1 mi away
Afton Hotel
Afton Hotel
#22 of 40 in Eastbourne
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Address: Marine Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#12 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: $87 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queens Hotel - Eastbourne [3 Alpha rating 3 AA Star]. This magnificent Victorian hotel is situated in an outstanding position overlooking the pier. All 125 bedrooms have central heating and bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, intercom, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. Spacious public rooms include a cocktail bar, snooker room, sun lounge and two restaurants. Several function rooms including the Princes Suite with its own bar where entertainment is provided most evenings. Two lifts serve all floors and a wheelchair lift is now available between the ground floor's two levels. Extensive car parking. A Leisureplex Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing