We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Oban

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oban
Ranked #21 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Well located and easy parking (dont forget to ask reception for the £1 voucher before you park up - valid 24 hours). Hotel was immaculately clean, although dated. Room was very comfortable, as was the bed. Tea and coffee available and a tv. Breakfast was very nice, full English. The staff were so helpful. Pleasure staying there. Also do go to The Bandstand to see their concerts, saw the Beached Boys, there were brilliant, dancing in the rain will never be the same!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxine51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
There are newer reviews for Oban
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 228 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

Just returned from a one night stay at the Oban Hotel. This is your typical English bed and breakfast hotel. It is clean and has a welcoming lounge area, the room was clean, comfortable bed, good sized bathroom and tea/coffee making. Breakfast was plentiful. The receptionist/waitress was excellent (long hair, pretty) very helpful on our arrival. Overall we would return again. Good value all round.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Great 70 inch TV For World Cup games. Most impressive !
Nice family run hotel with a great feel and atmosphere. The wife let me watch the game whilst she was entertained by the barman. Room was clean comfortable and functional. We enjoyed a couple of drinks on our balcony before bed and woke up to a delicious breakfast delivered by a charming young girl who seemed to be doing everything on her own without struggle I might add. Hot food delivered on hot plates .....lovely. Can't say much more other than we were pleased with our choice. Thanks Oban and we may see you again

Room Tip: Room 13. Great sea views with balcony
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Without doubt the stand out factor about this hotel is the owner and staff (a special mention for Georgie), every effort is made to make you feel welcome and it really does make a difference.
The location is great, being a stones throw away from the beach and Devonshire Park, a great bonus if you are visiting for the tennis as we were.
If you are planning a visit to Eastbourne then I would highly recommend this hotel where the guests are put first. We will definately be booking again next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front with a sea view ...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Why people pick a 2* hotel for there holiday and then expect all the delights of a 5* is beyond me which a few moaners on our coach did, however the service and friendliness I felt was 5*, all the dinners were good wholesome traditional meals and good full English for breakfast.
I had a single room which although was slightly smaller than others I have stayed in still had all the bits I needed plus the bonus of beautiful sea views.
There was always a member of staff around to help people or just to come and have a chat in the lounge which is very nice when your on your own.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Arrived on a beautiful sunny Friday afternoon and asked if we could upgrade to a sea view which was only £10 extra a night.
Quick and friendly check in.
Great location for everything, beach just over the road, town a 10 min walk and theatres just round the corner.
Lovely sun terrace to sit and have a few drinks and watch the world go by.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Suzie_sue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Fantastic stay at this little hotel. Stayed with friends who were lucky enough to get a sea view room. That said we loved our room just as much, massive king size bed + loved the decor !! Spent most of the day at the beach then back to hotel to sit on the terrace with a bottle of wine before off to the theatre in the evening which was only a 2min walk around the corner. Very busy at breakfast but the staff were brilliant keeping everything topped up and food arrived nice and hot to the table - with a smile. Left feeling refreshed.

Room Tip: Room 26 A lovely big bed and views of the tennis courts
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1Belle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#34 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,370 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,262 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Wilmington Hotel
New Wilmington Hotel
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
540 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban

Address: King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: $77 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oban 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing