We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed”
Review of Oban

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oban
Ranked #20 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed here last weekend with the hubby.
A quaint little hotel with lots of charm and character. We were in one of their seaview rooms which had floor to ceiling windows over looking the park accross the road as well as the sea.
A most delightful view. Breakfast was hot and delicious with lovely soft poached eggs. Staff were the stars of this place. Young and hungry to please. They just seemed to care, which makes all the difference. Ideal place for a short relaxing break. Never been to Eatbourne before, but would certainly recomend the place if you're looking to get away for some stress relief.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellak K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customerservices_obn, General Manager at Oban, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Ella,

We all remember you very well. All our staff appreciated your comments and I for one thank you for sharing your views. Eastbourne is a lovely place and we at the Oban certainly think so. The stereotypical comments are fading fast and are being replaced with ‘pleasantly surprised’ or ‘fabulous’. These are being heard more often and with fresh developments planned for the town we believe Eastbourne will emerge as ‘A place to be’ in the not too distant future. It’s certainly held its own in these tough times with the crowds still flocking to it. We are excited for the future of our town not to mention our hotel whose popularity is growing by the day. We’d be delighted to see you again so please call us when you’re ready to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 234 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

The young man who greeted us was fantastic and provided an excellent service.
Small tv, window opens only 3 inches. No hairdryer in room.
Breakfast is 8-9:30, would be better if it ran until 10:30.
Checkout is 10, would be better if it ran until 11:00.
You can only cancel this hotel if you give 10 days notice, otherwise they charge you the full amount.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customerservices_obn, General Manager at Oban, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Bob,

Thank you for your comments. Our staff are always eager to please and it’s good to know that customers recognise this. The television in our bedrooms range from 22 – 26 inches and are thought to be adequate. We also have a large 60 inch television in the lounge which is available to all our guests to enjoy. The windows in the rooms open three inches initially for health, safety and security, however there are 2 tabs on either side of the window fixings which when pressed release the safety mechanism and allow the windows to be fully opened.

You are correct in stating our breakfast time, which incidentally we do not hide and are in line with many establishments of our size. Our own website as well as other agents that advertise for us, all have our breakfast time clearly mentioned so that guests can make an informed choice.

Our cancellation policy is transparent for all to see and is displayed on the same websites. Whilst we would sincerely be pleased to see you return we would respectfully suggest that you perhaps check these terms prior to booking. Please check our website under the ‘Know before you Go’ tab. This tab will have all the relevant information you require. Failing that, please call us as we will be only too happy to assist. Thank you again, Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My daughter and I booked a twin room for the night. Bedroom was very oppressive with outdated furniture and decor. En suite tiny and cramped. Bed was tiny and not very comfortable.

Service was good although only got wi-fi in the bar and not in rooms. Breakfast was good although would have liked more choice of cereal and fresh fruit, not tinned.

No information pack in rooms.

Georgie was lovely!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danchas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customerservices_obn, General Manager at Oban, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Danchas,

Thank you for your constructive comments
I believe you stayed in one of our standard twin rooms. This room is let out each day and quite honestly we have had very little feedback on it. That said we do have a number of other rooms to suit different budgets and requirements. Had we known you were unhappy with the room we would have been pleased to offer you another. We are disappointed we did not meet your expectations and would welcome your return at which time I would ask you call and discuss with us your needs and we can look to offer you something more to your liking?

We have found that fruit can be expensive to source. Our breakfast fruit bowls consist of mixture of fresh and preserved produce. As guests have generally been pleased with the combination, we have continued with the service. You must understand, to source fresh fruit daily would mean our room rates would also have to be increased. We feel we’ve found a solution without increased prices to our guests. We serve a selection of popular cereals at breakfast and have not seen the need to increase the selection. I will of course bare in mind your recommendation and perhaps look to review the selection should we receive requests from anyone else.

You’re correct in saying wifi is only available in the communal areas. This is also mentioned in the information pack which should have been in your room. I can only apologise if there wasn’t one. I will speak to our housekeeping team to ensure that going forward one is placed in each room.

Neverthless thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We arrived to a nice reception Purchased a parking ticket for the day at £1-00 very reasonable for all day.
We found our room to our satisfaction clean and tidy and loved the bath , my preference .
We unpacked and made a welcome hot drink with the kettle they provide .
We had a choice of coffee or tea ,the milk provided is UHT in little individual pots .
We was in room 28 and near the lift ,we heard it and thought '' OH '' this will keep us awake at night , but it never ! as after 10-30pm it was silent thankfully , not a murmur from it .
We came down at 8am for a lovely breakfast I could not have eat more .
This hotel is nicely placed and the theaters is very near .
Its a pleasant walk into town we always walk along the promanard .
.We was sad to leave ,I am sure we will be returning .
Just one thing if yo want to book on line you will not be given the sea view room when you book this was ...So Ring this number +44 ( 0 ) ...1323-731581 The sea view is to die for .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank felix017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customerservices_obn, General Manager at Oban, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Felix,

Thank you for your review.
We are delighted that the services and facilities of the hotel were to your satisfaction.
We endeavour to please all our guests and It’s good to hear we have achieved this.
We would certainly be pleased to see you return so give us a call when you next want to visit Eastbourne. Thank you again for taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My Mother in law doesn't have internet so i said i would write on her behalf about this hotel.

The staff were very pleasant and worked very hard.
They all had a a smile on their face and they helped make the holiday for us.
There was an issue i wasn't happy with but Vin the Manager sorted it out for us and we were happy with the outcome.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SWCJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customerservices_obn, General Manager at Oban, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Sheena,
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments.
We are glad that your mother in law enjoyed her holiday us. We always strive to ensure all our guests depart satisfied. We do hope that she returns and if we can be of any further assistance then please do not hesitate to contact us
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and I have just had a very enjoyable week staying at The Oban Hotel in Eastbourne on a Bowens coach holiday. Ideally situated on the seafront and a short walk to the town centre and pier. We had a room with sea view and balcony, though the balcony was small there was sufficient room for two chairs. Although the restaurant was fully occupied, the efficiency of the staff meant no one was kept waiting for more than a couple of minutes between courses as your preference for dinner was taken during breakfast. The meals were excellent. The comfortable room was spotless and recently decorated. Polite and friendly staff make The Oban Hotel a very pleasant place to stay in Eastbourne. 3 star hotel with 5 star service.

T. Letts

Room Tip: Sea view room with bay window and balcony for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customerservices_obn, General Manager at Oban, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Trevor,
Thank you for your review. We often accommodate large parties and groups and over the years we’ve developed up a system that we feel genuinely works for us! It’s great when guests notice this as it re-establishes our faith in our system. Many of the rooms and communal areas have undergone refurbishment with a few more areas planned shortly. I will certainly pass on your comments to our staff as they are always keen to hear our customer’s comments.
I am sorry to hear about the Bowens Group but please feel free to contact me when you’re next looking to return and I will advise you of another firm in your local area that visits us. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My wife and I have just stayed for a great week at The Oban Hotel on Eastbourne's seafront, as part of a Bakers Dolphin (Somerset) coach party. This company makes very regular coach party visits to this excellent establishment, and we can well understand why - TOTAL SATISFACTION!
At the risk of repeating some of the comments from previous reviewers of this independantly run hotel, the rooms are VERY clean (spotless!) and comfortable, and the meals (breakfast and evening meal) were really excellent. The most impressive and special quality of the Oban Hotel is, frankly, the ETHOS of the place - the welcome you receive on arrival and the friendliness and attentiveness of ALL the staff. The manager, Vin, has created a marvellous team, nothing is too much trouble, and from Georgie, Harry and Ross in the dining room, through to the 'unseen angels' like James and Fatima (she's the one who produces the spotless rooms!), they are superb! There were several customers on our coach trip who had stayed at The Oban Hotel previously - which speaks volumes for the hotel - and my wife and I are certainly coming back there in 2013. Thank you Oban ..... you are a shining jewel in Eastbourne's crown!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrownhairDevon_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customerservices_obn, General Manager at Oban, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Ian,
Thank you for your review and your personal letter which was quite humbling.
We certainly remember you and your wife very well and were pleased that we made such an impression. As one reviewer put it recently, the stars of our hotel are the staff who are willing and hungry to perform. They are dedicated and always looking to go that extra mile; but far more importantly, they are CONSISTENT. The work performed can often be thankless however from time to time we receive comments from guests who recognise the efforts that are often involved and show genuine appreciation. Comments such as yours are a great morale booster! We can only thank you for your kind words and certainly hope you will visit us again someday. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,695 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#32 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,440 reviews
0.9 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
New Wilmington Hotel
New Wilmington Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
546 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,932 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
#29 of 40 in Eastbourne
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban

Address: King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: $68 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oban 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing