We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend stay over bank holiday”
Review of Oban

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oban
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Weekend stay over bank holiday”
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We have visited the Oban before in Eastbourne last year and decided to booked a room with a sea view for the Bank Holiday Weekend. The Hotel is a very cosy medium sized hotel with great and very attentive staff. We stayed in room 13 which was very lucky for us as the sea view was what can only be described as amazing. (please dont book this room as we intend to stay again lol)

Having stayed in many hotels both in the UK and Europe as a business customer this hotel offers a great value for money non-corporate alternative. Staff are very helpful and always there with a professional smile and help.

If you stay pop in before paying the parking meter outside as the hotel has a special deal for customers which you buy while checking in.

Also breakfast offers you both cooked or none cooked version, and you can like us have both.

Room Tip: Sea view room 13 has great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trip_staffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customerservices_obn, General Manager at Oban, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
It’s been sometime since you stayed with us and please accept our apologies for our late response that said, thank you for sharing your opinion. We are pleased that we met your expectations and also pleased that you enjoyed room 13 so much. We have since made further improvements to the hotel and would love to see you return. We promise to do our best to accommodate you in your favourite room, give us a call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    62
    21
    12
    12
See reviews for
31
106
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Boyfriend booked this hotel for weekend away in Eastbourne which I had never visited before. I always imagined Eastbourne was for the more mature clientele but was very inspired by this seaside resort. The Oban is in a very nice part of Eastbourne with excellent amenities just around corner. Pub, excellent fish and chips, coffee house. We could walk into town quite easily and looked over nice part of beach. The bar was a nice area but a little TLC is required. Seaview room was clean and comfertable. On-suite was narrow and small. Big people beware. Breakfast was very nice but as mentioned before change the poor quality sausage. All in all a very good base to stay in Eastbourne and the special attention paid to you by the staff was a unique selling point.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marionjfog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Our two night stay in this hotel left us in two minds about it.
On one hand, the location is perfect: the hotel is right by the seaside, a short walk from the pier, the shops, bars and restaurants. The room was clean, the ensuite bathroom newly redecorated and spotless, the bedlinen crispy cotton, the staff were very friendly and helpful.
There was an amazing flower arrangement in the lounge, and even if it was beautiful, it seemed to be out of place as it was so different in style than the decor itself.
On the other hand, the room decor was dated, the room was small and dark (no seaview), there were no toiletries, no hair dryer, not even a night stand by the bed. The breakfast was only just adequate and the portions were minimal. The lounge seemed to be newly redecorated, but the decor looked dated and old fashioned.
The hotel seems to be targeted to more mature clients.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sUSSEX
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2009

We chose to stay in Eastbourne this Christmas to be near an elderly mother (95) who had a very poorly brother (uncle to us). Unfortunately he died just before Christmas, so being close by was v.important.
After reading some of the reviews on the net, we were def.NOT looking forward to our stay and, following a traumatic morning visiting hospital bereavement office/registrars office/undertakers/florists, etc. were somewhat tense on arrival at the hotel.
The start did not bode well - we've never been required to pay in full on arrival - credit card details usually being sufficient - and then lugging our cases up to a somewhat dingy room was all a bit of a shock to our already jaded systems!
HOWEVER - the linen was fresh and clean, ditto the en-suite. When we ventured down to dinner, the menu was varied and the food was good. Throughout our four night stay, the menu always offered a good choice (even on Christmas day) and was always served with a smile. The waiting staff were hard working and v.obliging. The manager/owner was always on hand and extremely pleasant . Our room was cleaned/tidied by friendly staff. 'Mum' was accommodated for Xmas day lunch (despite tables having to be re-shuffled) with good grace and more smiles She thoroughly enjoyed it - just what she needed.
In all, our stay was extremely pleasant and comfortable We would give the manager and ALL the staff 10/10 for their excellent work over the Christmas period

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middx
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

The 2 bedrooms we had were not particularly clean - stained carpet, dusty. The sink in the bedroom was not very appealing and shower room was very narrow.
Not good value for money and their website is misleading.
Breakfast was below average.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pinner01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

We just spent a night in this little hotel in Eastbourne and we were a little worried by the reviews.
The young lady on reception was pleasant and helpful and advised us to buy the visitor parking for £2 which allowed us to park outside until 11am the following morning.
Although we stayed in not the best of the rooms (it was downstairs just off the restaurant), it was very clean and there was plenty of hot water and clean towels. The reception on the tv was a bit blurry but was not really an issue.
We were the first ones into breakfast and we had the full English breakfast. As previously said in a review the sausages were a bit of a let down but everything else was ok.
Checkout was simple and on the whole I would say this was not a bad hotel at all.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shabbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2009

Both my wife and i trawled the internet looking for hotels in Eastbourne (as you do on a Sunday evening) just to find a half decent one. We had mixed opinions about hotels in this area having been here on a few occassions and sampled some of their best and worst. We've just tried the Oban Hotel having spent the bank holiday weekend there. What a difference! With so many hotels being pretentious and over the top this was such a welcomed difference. Our room was well decorated (boutique stlye) with your so called mod cons HD TV, internet DVD but asisde that, it was the effort from the staff and mangement that made the difference. They were just soooo obliging. We had a thoroughly relaxed weekend and were made to feel very welcomed with nothing being too much. I've always been an advocate of the family run businesses and places like this just prove my point. Well done girls and thanks for your tips on the local area. Vin, I hope your baby is doing well, i know it must be hard and you're bound to get a few [----], but keep at it mate. We'll be back for the airshow. See you in August

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlayerNo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
New Wilmington Hotel
New Wilmington Hotel
#8 of 40 in Eastbourne
525 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
930 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#31 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Savoy Court Hotel
Savoy Court Hotel
#26 of 40 in Eastbourne
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,052 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban

Property: Oban
Address: King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#11 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oban 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing