We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When the cat's not away, the mice don't play”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Two visits in quick succession to this hotel's unassuming restaurant confirmed it: the Lansdowne Hotel's chef creates some of the most delicious pies and casseroles ever. What's more, the staff seem genuinely pleased to see you, and go about their work with quiet efficiency. Why don't other hotels and/or ambitious restaurants adopt a similar formula? The answer, I suspect, is the Lansdowne's on-the-spot owner. No danger of the mice coming out to play when the cat's away here!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinmeadtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne1912, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our food so much and that you equally found our staff to be friendly and efficient. We look forward to see you again soon. Kind regards, Catherine Clifford, Sales & Marketing Executive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,017)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

768 - 774 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

Nice Hotel - not like a chain - lots of lovely rooms to explore or sit in and have a drink and watch the sea. We were on a weekend break - had a room overlooking the sea which was great. Breakfast was lovely. Staff very helpful. Parking isn't that great. Would recommend and would stay there again

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sea - well worth it. Check on parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Brummie590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne1912, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased that you liked your room and the view from it and that you found breakfast to be so enjoyable. Sorry to hear that you found parking a problem. We do have 22 lock garages at the back of the hotel and currently there is an offer where you pay half price for one per night until May 2014. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Catherine Clifford, Sales & Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the second time with my husband, son and dog.The hallways and rooms are freshly painted, staff polite and very helpful . Breakfast was fantastic fresh food, perfect soft boiled eggs nothing was to much. Very clean hotel, even an area on the bar we could take the dog.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank ANGIE666666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne1912, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to accommodate your dog so well too! Thank you for mentioning how polite our staff were and I am glad that you noticed our freshly painted corridors! We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Catherine Clifford - Sales & Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The Location is near to perfect, the Hotel is clean and the Lounges have sea views. The Service is mixed. On our arrival Ruby (Lounge) and Petros (Reception) were very helpful and welcoming. The Bar food was tasteless but the Breakfasts were exceptionally good as was the Room Service. We went elsewhere for Dinners. A young blonde waitress with an unspellable name served in the Lounge and at Breakfast in the Dining Room. Her attitude was quite rude and her manner appalling which was very off putting. This helped to bring our "Service" mark down. We felt sad that though the Hotel Lounges ( with super sea-views - the reason for choosing this "Pet Friendly" Hotel) were mostly empty, we could not take our well behaved little dog in them The few Clients we met seemed surprised. There was a corridor Recess area at the back where one could sit with a dog but not exactly a comfortable place to be for any length of time. As it was cold and windy outside we were glad that we had booked a large room. We needed to ask for extra heating as the room was cold to sit in during the day. It would be nice to think that the Hotel might consider changing it's Policy for Pets and go by the dogs themselves. Obviously large or boisterous dogs are a different matter, although there is sufficient room for one Sea View Lounge ( or even Reception ) to be allocated to dog owners and those who do not mind, or actually enjoy, their presence! The Clients were mostly Retirees and large coaches arrived as we left. A good idea to check before booking if there are going to be Coach Parties when you want to go if this bothers you. I would stay here again in the hope that the Pet Policy was more lenient.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pawfection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne1912, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to see the review title as 'disappointing'. I am most saddened to hear that you found one of our lounge waitresses to be rude. As I respond to all of our reviews and indeed if you look for yourself, I am constantly thanking people for praising our cheerful, helpful and professional staff. On this occasion it would appear you (and we) were let down and we will be investigating your comments on this. However, I am pleased to see that you have singled out a couple of our staff and commented on their helpfulness and service. The hotel has been fairly quite at times during this time of year. You will find other hotels on the seafront more than likely are the same. It has only been this last week or so that we have started to get busier - the weather always helps as does the time of year - being a seaside hotel. But with your departure just as a coach was arriving - the hotel would have had more atmosphere perhaps, although from your comments I am not sure that you would have been happy staying here whilst the coach party was here? We have various coach parties thoughout the year - they are essential business to us. Regarding your comments of us 'going by the dogs themselves' as far as letting them in other lounges, I think that this would be an extremely hard thing for the management to have to assess, not knowing the dogs, and indeed, if one owner came with a dog we thought was fine to go in other lounges, and we thought another owners dog was not alright to go in the lounges, we might find that we end up offending people! We have had comments about how nice it is to have a lounge where guests can sit with their dogs and indeed eat their meals in there with them if they choose. I will speak to the General Manager about our Pet Policy, so please do consider coming to us again and giving us a call to see if our policy on dogs suits you better. Kind regards, Catherine Clifford - Sales & Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lansdowne1912, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Second time we have stayed here this time a standard refurbished room cannot understand why as the room was sufficiently large they did not put in a king sized bed.Good bathroom.
Breakfast was much better this time. Will consider staying there again as good value for money

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank keijan30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne1912, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you for your review. We do have rooms that have zip and link beds that become Super King size beds. Please do request this when you next book. Sometimes we have found that some of the rooms, although as you have pointed out could take a King size bed, the electrics (bedside lights etc) do not work with a bigger bed. Until we refurbish these rooms, it would be then that we would consider putting in a larger bed. We are really pleased that you enjoyed breakfast with us and that you consider us value for money. We look forward to welcoming you here again. Kind regards, Catherine Clifford - Sales & Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We started our experience off with a nice 3 course lunch. The wine was lovely when we got it-the first waitress didn`t know we got a complimentary glass of wine with our meal and didn`t understand at first when we asked which wine was included in this deal.
The starter was delicious but a bit small, main was nice but average, dessert was a good portion size and yummy! Restaurant and lounge area could do with some quite relaxing music to add to atmosphere, otherwise lounge was cosy and nice to relax in as was the room sitting at chairs / table looking out to sea. Breakfast was average-eggs and beans a bit congealed but hash browns and sausages yummy. Fairly good selection, toast a bit burnt. Service good and staff friendly and helpful. Room was clean but then we found 10 hairpins on the carpet spread around the room- one went into my foot! This suggests that the room was not hoovered before we checked in which I would have thought was a basic part of cleaning the room. Bed nice and big and comfy and room cosy with big bay window and long curtains; lovely sea view. Room very warm on arrival but nice you could open windows / adjust heating. Room got morning sunshine. Good shower. Location great facing the sea, near the Wishtower café and the Grand in a quieter part of Eastbourne opposite the gardens / sea. Free parking in winter.

Room Tip: choose a sea view-worth the £10 supplement. Try not to get a room near the lift though. Fire doors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 62sophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne1912, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have recently recruited new staff to take us into our busy season, so I am sorry that your waitress did not know about the wine being included in the deal. We do train our staff constantly to ensure that they know menus, deals etc. Happy to hear that you enjoyed our food too! Regarding your room, it should have been hoovered and on this occasion it looks like this was missed - so our apologies for that and I will pass on these comments to our Housekeeper. However, you were happy with the lounges and your room overall which is great news and we do hope that we will see you again soon. Kind regards, Catherine Clifford - Sales & Marketing Executive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,535 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,802 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#4 of 40 in Eastbourne
902 reviews
1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lansdowne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lansdowne Hotel

Address: King Edward's Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#7 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: $50 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Lansdowne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Lansdowne Hotel is privately owned and has been in the same family ownership since 1912. It is this that has given the hotel a personal touch that is still very evident today. The Hotel occupies a premier position on the uncommercialised seafront overlooking the Western Lawns and Wish Tower with splendid views of Beachy Head and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Lansdowne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Eastbourne
Eastbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing