We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had a choice of hotels in Eastbourne And we certainly had the best . Staying in room 232 on sat 21/9 .Room was great ,clean ,bright and airy with a great sea view . Breakfast was very nice and staff very good .Reception staff are also very helpfull. You dont need to look far along the seafront .Lansdowne is the best...... Ian & Suzanne ..from Crowborough East Sussex

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clairepj, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
I am delighted that you consider the Lansdowne to be “the best “ following your recent stay and that you appreciated all aspects of the hotel.

I thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your visit – it is nice to know that we are getting it right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    373
    105
    44
    20
See reviews for
200
395
64
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I recently stayed at the Best Western Lansdowne Drive - and had a wonderful time. The location is fantastic, right on the seafront. The room was comfortable, clean and had a wonderful view of the sea. I sat in the armchair with several cups of tea looking out at the gorgeous view. I took my small dog, and we were both very well looked after. The staff were friendly and helpful, they assisted with parking, tickets for the tennis and restaurant recommendations. Also, breakfast was good - a nice selection and service with a smile!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CateTravels78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clairepj, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for posting such a positive review following your visit to the hotel in June of this year. I was very pleased to read that you appreciated every aspect of the hotel and it’s staff. I look forward to seeing you again on some other occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Love this hotel. My husband and I married here two years ago and just stayed one night to celebrate our two year anniversary and its lovely to see it still has that old charm with great staff that are very attentive can't wait for three years.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robem41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clairepj, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for the very positive review of your recent stay, celebrating the second anniversary of your wedding that took place at this hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back many times over the coming years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

It is difficult to find any problem regarding this Hotel. Excellant food,stylishly served at all meals.
Attentive staff. Nothing was too much. Rooms,spacious and fully equipped and the hotel is on
the quiet side of the promenade. Easy parking immeadiately outside the hotel on the promenade costs just one pound a day. If you're going to Eastbourne book this hotel. You
won't be dissapointed.

Room Tip: For smokers....there are 10 rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heidi d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clairepj, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
I was delighted to read your recent review which contained nothing but high praise. It is very pleasing when guests are so obviously happy with both the hotel and its staff, and take the trouble to say so!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel several times,It has always been a very pleasant stay,The hotel remains to be pleasant place to stay,The rooms are clean and well appointed,The staff are polite[But some of them do not understand english very well]What lets this hotel down is the restaurant,The standard has dropped considerably,The food is very small portions and of poor quality,and unable to supply a simple request such as semi skimmed milk[,In fairness the duty manager refunded us the cost of the evening meal] I ordered a glass of port to go with the cheese dish.It came with the sediment in the bottom,when I told the wine waiter it needed to be decanted,She just looked at me blank,,We booked out 2 days early Next time we visit eastbourne we will find another hotel

Room Tip: dont book full board,and eat at the grand next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 673debroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clairepj, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Firstly, I am glad that you have enjoyed visiting the hotel on several occasions and find it a very pleasant place to stay.

However, I am very sorry that you felt the standard of the restaurant has dropped considerably. I particularly note your comment concerning the staff not understanding English sufficiently to deal with your requests. This is certainly not acceptable and I have spoken to the Restaurant Manager about this. I have also passed on your comments about portion size and the fact that you felt the meals were of poor quality.

I note that the Duty Manager refunded the cost of your evening meal, but I can only apologise most sincerely for the disappointment you felt and am very sorry that you left the hotel 2 days earlier than planned.

I do hope that, at some time in the future, you will visit us again and give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Arrival was as good as any I have received at much higher graded hotels; polite, efficient and really warm and friendly. I was upgraded free of charge to a sea-view and shown to my room. Clean, plenty of space, quiet with a fantastic view thrown in for free.

Staff throughout my stay were polite, courteous and friendly (to a man/woman), the bar was sadly not as busy as one would expect, that said the lounge areas are numerous so it would take quite some filling!

Breakfast was lovely, staff could not have been more efficient.

A hidden gem, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clairepj, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a glowing review following your recent stay. I am delighted that you so enjoyed your visit and I particularly appreciate your very kind comments concerning our staff.

I do hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Weald, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Very nice hotel ideally placed on the sea front - a ten/twelve minute walk from the pier. Has a lot of old fashioned charm. Expected to see Miss Marple on one of the lounges. Very relaxing place with good attentive staff. Room clean and spacious. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Slight criticism - bar sandwiches poor value. We paid £4.95 for a poorly filled beef and mustard sandwich.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bay window overlooking the sea - the extra price is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smallman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clairepj, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to be relaxing with good attentive staff.

However, I am sorry that you felt the bar sandwiches to be poor value. This is certainly not the standard we would wish to provide and I will discuss the matter with our Head Chef. I can only apologise for the disappointment you felt and assure you that your comments will be acted upon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,567 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#31 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 40 in Eastbourne
845 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lansdowne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lansdowne Hotel

Property: Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Address: King Edward's Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#10 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Lansdowne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Lansdowne Hotel is privately owned and has been in the same family ownership since 1912. It is this that has given the hotel a personal touch that is still very evident today. The Hotel occupies a premier position on the uncommercialised seafront overlooking the Western Lawns and Wish Tower with splendid views of Beachy Head and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Lansdowne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Eastbourne
Eastbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing