We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Old Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Location - Old Hotel”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We couldn't ask for a better view. Room on the 3rd floor overlooking the ocean. We even had our own personal seagull that liked to sit on the balcony.
The price was a bit steep for the aging accomodations but it was clean and the beds were comfortable.
The staff were very sweet but after the kitchen fire that evacuated us for more than 6 hours, we expected a break on the rates but nothing was offered until we made an issue of it and then it was too late because we had already paid the bill.
Not happy with that.

Room Tip: Family rooms in Britain are most unaccomodating to adult groups. Outfitting varies depending on hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clairepj, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
I am glad that you appreciated the spectacular views over the sea from the front of the Lansdowne Hotel. However, we cannot guarantee that you will always have a personal seagull on your balcony!

I am sorry that you were inconvenienced by the fire that broke out in the hotel kitchen during your stay. For their own safety guests and staff were evacuated from the building for 1½ hours and the hotel next door very kindly took everyone in and supplied tea and coffee. As I am sure you will appreciate, the fire was completely beyond our control but we nevertheless offer our apologies for this.

I do hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back on some other occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    369
    103
    43
    20
See reviews for
193
391
63
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

At short notice we needed a hotel that took dogs for the weekend, whilst we visited family and friends and the Lansdowne delivered just that. We had a lovely large family sea view room- very comfy and Tessa our greyhound had her own dog blanket and water bowl, provided by the hotel. If you are after a boutique hotel, The Lansdowne is not for you. This hotel has a charm and character of its own as stated by other reviewers, but it provides everything you may need - an excellent cooked breakfast if you want it, tea and coffee facilities, plenty of little seating areas and a well stocked bar. The staff are very efficient and extremely helpful. We will certainly be back especially since dogs are catered for. Eastbourne would not be Eastbourne if it did not have The Lansdowne!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PebblesDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clairepj, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
I was very pleased to read that you, and Tessa your greyhound, enjoyed your recent stay at the Lansdowne. We are well aware that many people wish to take their dogs with them on holiday, and the Lansdowne is pleased to make them welcome.

I am glad that you appreciated our hotel’s “charm and character” and found the staff to be very efficient and helpful. We pride ourselves on being a traditional hotel, owned by the same family since 1912, and offer comfortable and relaxed surroundings. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Nicely positioned on Eastbourne's seafront next to the 5 star Grand Hotel, the Lansdowne Hotel is a large Edwardian hotel. The staff were polite and attentive. The public rooms were clean and comfortable, as was the large bedroom. It is worth the extra to get a seaview room.

The Lansdowne does "what it says on the tin". It's NOT a jazzy, slick boutique hotel, nor a pocket emptying 5 star hotel like its neighbour. It is like an old well loved sofa or respected elderly Aunt, very comfortable, not flash, safe, but may have seen better days but still very respectable and very good value. I got two nights for the price of one in November - cost my wife and I £115 for two night's bed & breakfast, double room with sea view.

Room Tip: Get a front faceing sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyRehctub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clairepj, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you for the very kind comments you made following your recent visit to the Lansdowne Hotel and I am pleased that you appreciated the value of our special “2 nights for the price of 1” offer.

I must say the hotel has been described in many ways over our 100 year history, but “like a well loved sofa” is a first! However, the phrase quite accurately describes the relaxed, comfortable and homely surroundings that we wish to offer our guests, many of whom return to us year after year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stayed for a two nights stay (Fri & Sat night) with three work colleagues.

The hotel is a large sea front hotel with traditional decor inside. All areas of the hotel were clean and well keep.
My room was on the back of the hotel, so no sea views for me, though i was there for work and therefore didn't matter too much.
The food was lovely, we had full breakfast (self service) each morning and one evening we ate dinner there, very nice.
The hotel had a large number of guests staying for bridge competitions the same wkend we stayed, so the age group was on the older side....which isn't a issue to me but through its worth mentioning.

I've given the rooms an average score i the room i stayed in for round the back and a little dated. But my three work colleagues all had much nicer rooms...luck of the draw!

All in all a lovely stay, and may go back if i was on holiday and not work.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wussawarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clairepj, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Lansdowne Hotel following your recent stay.

We were very pleased to read that you found the hotel to be clean and well kept, and that you enjoyed your meals.

I am sorry that your work colleagues were allocated rooms with sea-view whilst yours was inland facing. Should you visit us again for a holiday, as you mention you might, we will of course be pleased to offer you a sea-view room.

Thank you again for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Having booked this hotel i then realised it didnt have onsite parking so tried to cancel but was told it did have onsite parking at £6 a night so decided to give it a go. On arrival we were given a warm welcome and told all we needed for parking was a £1 a night scratchcard which was valid from 8am till 11am the following day ie 8am sunday till 11am monday....fantastic value! Parking is on the seafront but was no problem and safe enough as its a busy but wide road and opposite the hotel.
We had asked for a smoking room and alto given a non smoking room at first this was soon rectified and the receptionist couldnt apologise enough (cant remember her name but shes a trainee receptionist and should be made up very soon....SUEEEEEEtEEE LOL)...I will add all the reception staff are great...nothing is to much trouble ....a pleasant change!

After a trip out saturday evening we made our way to the bar quite late but was warmly welcomed by Helen and even tho she felt rough she was pleasant and polite and we enjoyed a nice chat with her and Sue the duty manager.....have to say i cant fault the staff here at all they are all very willing to help and ensure your stay is enjoyable.

The room was comfortable and clean.....very clean infact .....nice little touches in the bathroom and plenty of hot water! we had an inland view room but this didnt spoil our stay at all ....after all once the curtains are closed who cares whats outside and we wernt sitting in the room for 2 days anyway!!

Breakfast was plentiful a good choice and nice and hot when served .

All in all i cant fault this hotel and i believe you get what you pay for and i will be returning soon as possible.

Thoroughly recommend the lansdowne to anyone wanting a peaceful stressfree break.....keep up the good work Sue, Helen and staff xx

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clairepj, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
I was delighted to read your comments and appreciate your feedback.

We do hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Lansdowne on some other occasion soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We booked our wedding to take place this September at the lansdowne after viewing almost all the Eastbourne hotels. This hotel is in a beautiful part of town and we loved it's old fashioned decor. The staff were brilliant and so helpful nothing was too much trouble. The whole day was amazing and the food was good and again not too much trouble as I chose a different menu from the one on offer. Their wedding planner kept everything on track and kept me informed and phoned regularly for information. She remained completely professional and offered appropriate advice. This hotel made our day very special from start to finish and we will definitely be back

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robem41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clairepj, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
I was delighted to read your comments following your recent Wedding at the Lansdowne Hotel. It is very heartening to learn that guests appreciate both the work of our staff and the standard of service we provide.

Thank you once again for taking the trouble to let us know that your wedding day was “amazing”. We are very pleased to have been a part of your special day and do hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Lansdowne on some other occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LDN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

The room was overpriced and the place enjoyed its good times probably 30 years ago. The bed was too soft and the breakfast awful. Stay away if you can.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarekLdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clairepj, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
I was very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay earlier in the year. Had you mentioned your disappointment at the time perhaps we would have been able to do something to improve things for you.

I would point out that we do advertise ourselves as a “traditional, Victorian hotel” which we feel correctly describes the style of the hotel to any guests who may be considering visiting.

We do appreciate guests taking the time to give us their opinions as it gives us the opportunity to address areas which perhaps need attention.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,546 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#29 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
2,950 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 40 in Eastbourne
817 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lansdowne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lansdowne Hotel

Property: Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Address: King Edward's Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#10 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Lansdowne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Lansdowne Hotel is privately owned and has been in the same family ownership since 1912. It is this that has given the hotel a personal touch that is still very evident today. The Hotel occupies a premier position on the uncommercialised seafront overlooking the Western Lawns and Wish Tower with splendid views of Beachy Head and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Lansdowne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Eastbourne
Eastbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing