We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western York House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Langham Hotel(Eastbourne)
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Shore View Hotel(Eastbourne)
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
$144
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Congress Apartments(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
$93
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne(Eastbourne)
$231
$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The View Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$61
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$44
$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$157
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Wilmington Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,230)
Filter reviews
2,230 results
Traveler rating
1,228
729
182
58
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,228
729
182
58
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolsea viewjacuzzi bathgroupon dealsea frontfour poster bedon arrivallovely hotelevening mealdining roombreakfast was buffet stylestandard rooman upgradeshort breakparking voucherplenty of choicenight stay
Filter
Updating list...
2,179 - 2,184 of 2,230 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2009

reception was very helpful letting us check in early,Our room was very comfortable,clean and well appointed, the bathroom was also exceptionally clean with lovely white soft towels. we enjoyed all our meals,lots of choice and served hot and promptly. We thought that parking would become a problem during busy months, although charges were very reasonable.
On checking out the receptionist could have been a tad more pleasant, we just had "check the bill" and " thank you " perhaps 'we hope you enjoyed your stay, or have a good journey' would have left a better lasting impression.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julymeBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHH1422, Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2009

Thank you very much for posting a review after your recent stay.

I will pass on your praise to every department. such a shame to hear about the check-out. we all hope you will return soon to see improvements.

regards

Ian Jackson
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We paid £64 for two of us in a double room for one night with dinner and breakfast. Excellent value. Room very small, tiolet was blocked and food very basic but service was good (aside from having no record of our booking when we arrived). Staff all very friendly and helpful. Probably more than we were expecting for the price and we had a very enjoyable stay but please do not pay the full price of £125 per night as this is far too much. Kids loved the small but warm pool and they were happy to keep the bar open until the early hours.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShaneForbesHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

The hotel is in a good position on the sea front. When you enter the reception is looks very dated and the reception staff are not particularly welcoming. Getting to your room is not easy as one of the lifts does not work and we had a negotiate narrow corridors and numerous stairs carrying our luggage. Our room was very disappointing as it was both small and smelly. The shower did not work properly as the water pressure was so low and we had no hot water from Friday to Sunday. We were told it was due to demand. On complaining the
Manager did give us a reduction off our bill. The food on our first evening was again poor. The cold plates were served with the meat 5 mins before the cold vegetables arrived. The wine was not of a very good standard either. Our meal on Saturday was better, i.e. served hot which was quite impressive as there was about 80 of us. All in all I would not consider staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gass59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHH1422, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2009

thank you for submitting your review after your stay.

we monitor all feedback to help us further improve our team and guests satisfaction.

I remember the booking errors at check-in. it is unfortunate that the remainder of your stay was not up to our normally high standards.

I do hope that you will consider the Best Western York House in the future to see the change in standards. I would be happy to show you round.

kind regards

Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

I recently had a one night stay with a work colleague at this hotel and wish I could have stayed longer.

We did have a problem finding somewhere to park at first but we went round the block a couple of times and managed to find a space on the seafront that was close by so it wasn't too bad.

This hotel is dated in parts but seemed to be well maintained and was extremely clean. One of the first things we noticed was the calming, relaxing atmosphere as we entered the lobby, I could feel myself starting to chill out.

Check in was a breeze (as was check out), unlike a lot of hotels we've stayed at, the rooms we got were the rooms we ordered.

My room was smallish but adequate and the furnishings were dated but surprisingly I found this quite comforting and relaxing. Everything was spotless. There was no aircon but the sash window opened easily and after a quick call to reception I was supplied with an electric fan within minutes. The bathroom was lovely and clean and it made a nice change to have a window (actually two) in a hotel bathroom. The shower was great, a steady temperature all the way through and the towels were massive! The only small gripes I have was the double bed was a small one (but very comfy) and my room only had two power points, one of which was for the kettle. I had two mobiles and a netbook to charge up!

Although we didn't dine at the hotel in the evening we did have drinks out on the open verandah, what a lovely way to pass the time watching the world go by.

Breakfast was buffet style in the very comfortable restaurant. There was a good choice of hot and cold items and the service for tea, coffee and toast was prompt.

Without exception, every member of staff we encountered was an asset to this hotel. They were attentive, efficient and friendly, we really couldn't fault them. We will definitely be staying in this hotel again whenever we're in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandyafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Just come back after 4 days at the York House Hotel, we booked a superior room with sea view, well the only thing that can be said , if this was a superior room I would
dread to think what a standard room was.It was so small the furniture did not match
the window was very dirty ,can't think when it last saw a window cloth. The bathroom was so small you had to go into the bedroom to get dried, it was so outdated.
The only good thing was we had clean fresh towels each day but this should be the norm.

Breakfast was very average and on the last morning we were offered extras such as boiled eggs kippers etc, and were told we should have been offered this every day.

There are much better quality hotels in Eastbourne at £122. per night this was a rip off.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssexSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews