We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western York House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$199
$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langham Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Marine Parade Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Cavendish Hotel(Eastbourne)
$108
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne(Eastbourne)
$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The View Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$104
$101
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
New Wilmington Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
$96
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Eastbourne Town Centre Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
$83
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Queens Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,213)
Filter reviews
2,213 results
Traveler rating
1,218
725
182
57
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,218
725
182
57
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolsea viewjacuzzi bathgroupon dealsea frontfour poster bedon arrivallovely hotelevening mealdining roombreakfast was buffet stylestandard rooman upgradeshort breakparking voucherplenty of choicenight stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,691 - 1,696 of 2,213 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We both had big grins as soon as we walked into our room - excellent. Large and spacious with a four poster bed. Felt very spoilt
The hotel was great, the staff were friendly and helpful, the food was excellent. Can't think of a negative.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLL1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you for your review.

Yes, our contemporary four posters are great and most people always smile when they stay in these great rooms.

Thank you for your comments reference my staff and our food and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I booked a short break at this hotel and had an excellent stay. Room 104 was perfect, a terrific seaview and lots of complementary extras like slippers and dressing gown.
Hotel is in a superb seafront location within easy walk of the town centre.

The only downside was the breakfast buffet, which, although a good selection, was typical of most buffets, was tepid and rather overlooked meats.

Staff throughout we're friendly and efficient and couldn't have been more helpful - and cheerful (nice to see smiling faces in an English hotel)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmb03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am glad you liked your room which is one of our new Superior rooms, with those added luxuries.

Apologies reference the buffet temperature this I will look into as this certainly shouldn't be the case.

Thank you though, as usual, for your comments reference my staff.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We have been coming to Eastbourne for many years, but have stayed at various other hotels. The York House hotel now goes on our short list of places to revisit. The staff, from reception, to bar, to restaurant, were friendly, welcoming, helpful and professional. The sea view room, 164, was very roomy, bright and clean. It was very warm on arrival as both wall heaters were on. When turned off and the large window opened, it was lovely. I am sure other people would like it warmer than us, so not a problem. It is worth upgrading to a sea view room. Although the room faces South the curtains block out any unwanted light. The mattresses are comfortable, with toppers, but are on the softer side, rather than the firm side. The breakfast is a buffet style, with plenty of choice and well cooked. It is also nice to have proper tablecloths and good cutlery. The staff are attentive and friendly without being a nuisance. Sarah and Andrew in particular stood out, a credit to the hotel. Dinner in the restaurant was also very good. The menu favours a British feel with a modern take. The food was well cooked, with good flavours and was good value. We are looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chenahusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am glad you enjoyed the benefits of our sea view rooms and the great sunrises.

Thank you also for your comments reference my staff and specifically Andrew and Sarah as I know they all appreciate being recognised.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Hotel nice, staff are very welcoming/polite/helpful.

Breakfast was lovely, good choice to choose from.

Upgraded to sea view room 204, £50 for 2 nights, could have been slightly bigger, with More of a modern bathroom, but Never the less, overall it was still a lovely 2 night break.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Demi131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Thank you for your review.

Glad to see you had a good time with us this month.

Thank you also for your comments reference my staff and our breakfast.

Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed one night in a lovely room with a sea view which was quiet in spite of being on a busy road. Parking can be a problem but we appreciated the parking permit issued by the hotel. We also liked the proper mugs provided for our morning tea. TV channels limited and with variable reception. Disappointed that our morning paper had to be collected from Reception and not delivered to our door as other hotels do. Unfortunately no hot water in our room in the morning but our visit ended on a high with an excellent breakfast with very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cranside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Thank you for your review.

i am glad you had a good time with us and liked our Breakfast.

The limited channels is being addressed on the 2nd March when the full Freeview channels with subtitles will be available.

I note you were here when we had the boiler breakdown on that one morning ( why does it always happen in the morning and not at lunchtime!) However it was rectified and back up and running by 11am the same day - we are not one of these hotels that run out of water even when we are at maximum capacity.

We do hold papers at Reception purely due to our narrow corridors - originally being 4 Victorian houses - our experience shows that when previously left in the corridor and the narrowness they got trampled on and or 'stolen'. Please feel free to ask us if you would like it brought up anyway at a certain time as I know my Reception team would only be more than happy to oblige.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews