We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, excellent position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western York House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just home from 3 day stay at York House Hotel.As member of group, had reserved tables in dining room, ample, excellent breakfast, good packed lunch and good choice of menu at evening meal.Lovely refurbished room with most comfortable bed I have ever had in a hotel. Complimentary toiletries , tea/coffee/chocolate and biscuits. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penfold22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for your review

Glad you had a good weekend with us and enjoyed our new seaview rooms.

We will be introducing further treats for the superior rooms at the end of October which I think you will like

Hope to see you again in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,093)
There are newer reviews for Best Western York House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,709 - 1,715 of 2,093 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

We booked a single nights stay on a Groupon voucher. We know the resort quite well, only
Iving about 50 miles away. First impressions on arrival were really good. We parked right outside the hotel and paid at a meter, although this was pretty cheap, it was unecessary as the hotel offers a parking pass for £1 for 24 hours. The foyer is really attractive, the verandah bar a comfortable place to sit with a coffee or glass of wine. Our room, 104, was lovely. Freshly decorated and the biggest bed i have ever seen!! Best of all, its a sea view, the sea being so close you can hear it, with huge opening picture windows and a small balcony. Result!! We had a really good nights sleep, no noise disturbance at all. In the morning the breakfast was great, buffet style with good quality ingredients. The fry up was excellent. We didnt have our evening meal in the resturant, there are loads of cheap eateries nearby.
I cant recommend this hotel highly enough. The staff were all really friendly,the facilites great and we couldnt have enjoyed our stay more.

Room Tip: 104 was great!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for your review

Glad to see you had a great time with us and thankyou for your comments reference my staff, who I know appreciate it.

Room 104 is one of our newest seaview rooms and glad you liked it

Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Booked a two night stay on a Wowcher deal and we were not disappointed. The hotel is in a great location and we were lucky enough to have a huge family room with sea view. The staff were extremely attentive, especially at breakfast. We decided not to eat at the hotel in the evening as the price of the children's meal (although 3 courses) was £12.95 - instead we found a pub round the back of the hotel (The Marine) which was much more reasonable. The swimming pool is not huge, but very warm and the kids loved it. Managed to park next to the hotel for free, but think we were very lucky to get a space there! Surprisingly the hotel was really peaceful at night (inside and out) which is great when you've got little ones! A great hotel (still needs a bit more refurb which I think is work in progress) and would thoroughly recommend it for a short break.

Room Tip: Sea view worth extra money
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for your review

Glad you enjoyed yourself with us recently

Always ask us if you want local food recommendations because we do know the better places in town! The Marine is a good option so I am glad you found that.

You are quite right in the fact that we are now 80% refurbed with a little ways to go but that will all be achieved soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

On arrival reception staff very pleasant and helpful, given a fantastic room on 1st floor with a sea view and balcony, great bathroom with walk in shower. Hotel had a function on in the evening and signs were posted warning that there would be noise, which could be problem if your a early to bed person or light sleeper staying on 1st floor , was not an issue for us as had enough alcohol to knock a cow out. So great nights sleep was had. Breakfast was a buffet service which I'm not a fan of, but it was ok. Would deffinately use again.

Room Tip: High level for the quieter rooms and sea view is great to wake up to
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edthered7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for your review

Glad to see you had a nice time with us and appreciated our great sea view balcony rooms

We don't generally have an issue with noise as our function room is on the lower ground floor but just in case we do allocate to people attending the function any bedrooms that end where we can.

Hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stopped at this hotel as the result of a groupon deal and the hotel looked after us really well. We got an unexpected seaview room which was of a really good size. The quality of the room, the breakfast and the swimming pool all went together to make this an excellent short break. There were two or three coach parties in at the time we stopped but as they eat in a separate dining room they didn't affect the quality of the breakfast. We had the full English. We would recommend this hotel. For the more elderly (I'm 66, so no problem) the town centre was about 10/15 minutes walk away, with the theatres another 5 minutes.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank longate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for your review

Great to hear we looked after you so well

The Hippodrome theatre is the closest to the hotel which is a 5 minute walk behind the hotel

Look out for our latest offer on Groupon just gone live

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed one Saturday night, no one on Reception on arrival as a wedding had just finished so staff were probably busy. Had a huge room on the front of the hotel - probably for disabled guests as had a huge bathroom. Slightly awkward access through the restaurant although requested to go upstairs and back down again to avoid the wedding party celebration. Nicely decorated room, old fashioned television and the ground floor window could've done with a blind for privacy. Really sweet little swimming pool, great breakfast and Zusanna gets a mention as the most polite and lovely waitress. Some guests were bemoaning the noise from the wedding celebration although we didn't hear a thing in our part of the hotel - there was a sign in reception to indicate this would be taking place. Altogether would recommend

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for your review

Glad overall you enjoyed your stay with us and your suggestion for a blind is noted

I will pass on your kind comments to Zuzana who I know will appreciate it

We will always allocate non 'function/wedding' guests away from any potential noisy spots where possible and we will always let you know when they are on.

Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

A very pleasant stay. Clean, friendly and well positioned.

Staff very helpful, even though overstretched on one day with a coach party arrival.

Continental breakfast option I thought was not great for choice ( ham and cheese, no bread rolls, with croissants and muffins on two mornings only.) but English breakfast choice was good.

Nice bar meals here at York Hotel and good value.

Local hotels offer cheap 2/3 course meals with free wine , please don't go there ! Poor value, poor food.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max6053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for your review

We are launching a new Breakfast product later this month which should hopefully allay your concerns

Thank you for your comments reference my staff and our bar food

Yes we can appear to be overstretched on arrival of a large group but it is only for a few minutes then normal service is resumed

Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,260 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
965 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#34 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,621 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
939 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York House Hotel

Address: 14-22 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#2 Best Value Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: $66 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Eastbourne seaside front and pier, this branded hotel offers comfortable rooms for all budgets.Fully licenced bar and restaurant are open every day.Conference, weddings and other events facilities are available.Reception and room service operate 24 hours.FREE WI FI in all areas. Parking: The hotel does not have a car park. If you secure 'seaside' parking please come into the hotel to obtain a hotel permit which is £1 until 11 am the following day. Alternatively on the side roads behind us parking is currently not chargeable and is free for the duration. Blue Badge Holders can park anywhere on the metered sections with no charges, no permit is required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York Hotel
Best Western Eastbourne
Eastbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing