We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western York House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Having stayed at this hotel regularly for over a year now i can only recommend it to anyone going for either personal or business. Staff are ever so friendly and helpful, nothing is ever too much in particular Kathleen, Nestor, Timia, Kumar, Eva and Darren

Last week i had the pleasure of staying in room 124 and WOW!!!!! What an absolutely gem of a room, i didn't want to come home! The bed was the most comfortable bed ever and i struggled to get out of it every morning. The walk in wardrobe/vanity room was an added bonus BUT the most amazing room was the bathroom! The whirlpool bath was fantastic. This room is perfect for anyone wanting a bit of luxury or romance :) I will definitely be back and want this room again

The food is always good and having consumed a fair few meals there i have never had to complain (which is surprising)... Breakfast usually start at 7:30 which can be a bit late for business but if you speak to the general manager or deputy manager they are flexible and have on previous occassions asked the chef to come in early

I have always found that the staff here work hard to please and help all their customers but unfortunately some people still find something to complain about! This hotel should be listed as one of the top hotels in Eastbourne. I will be sad not to be going back on a regular basis

Room Tip: Room 103, 203, 303, 124 and 184 are definitely the best rooms. If it is a romantic break then room 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betty24_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for your great review.

Glad you like us and we are glad that you like a 'selection' of our refurbished bedrooms especially the 4 poster.

I will of course pass on your comments to the staff you mention which I know they will appreciate.

Hope to see you back for that romantic break soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,942 - 1,948 of 2,149 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

Me and my husband had a weekend in Eastbourne for business, we were recommended to stay here. I could not fault anything. The welcoming was warming, the room was amazing you could see it had recently been refurbished to a high standard. The highlight to me was the food!! We had the most delcious dinner followed by drinks at the bar. Cant wait to come back and would defintely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: As far as im aware all rooms have been updated our room was great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Thank you for your review

Really glad you liked our new rooms and the new menus

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Have just returned from a 2 night stay at York House. Had a nightmare trying to find somewhere to park, arrived in Eastbourne at 7pm and didn't get parked until 7.45pm. The room was a family room and had been renovated since the last time we stayed here. Couldn't fault the room at all, very spacious and very tastefully decorated. Had dinner both nights and would say that the last time we stayed here, we couldn't fault the food, this time I would say that the menu was ok, we chose the steak both nights, but this came with a £5 supplement, the normal menu was quite boring and limited. The staff were lovely and very helpful. All in all I would say that the stay was pleasant enough but felt that something was lacking, there wasn't much of an atmosphere in the hotel but that could have been because of the time of year we were staying.

Room Tip: Make sure you turn the heating down in your room at night, the room gets unbearably hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallyRomford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for your review.

Unusual for a weekend in February to be busy parking wise but the hotel next door had a large wedding on hence the situation - glad though that my Duty Manager identified a space for you got another guest car moved up a bit so that you could obtain a nearby space.

Glad to see you liked our new family rooms which as you say are designed for upto 5 persons and are purpose built shower only rooms which so far people are loving.

Disappointing of course that you didnt like our new menu - general feedback is very positive however I respect that we cant please all of the people all of the time but as you can see from other recent comments they like - there is a note on our menus though and if you would have liked something cooked for you in a different style please ask and if we can do it we will do.

Hope to rectify this if you visit again - let me know if you are on my direct email:

mark.cotman@yorkhousehotel.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our room was excellent best sleep we have had in a hotel for a long while. The facilities in our room was all that was needed and more. Food in restaurant was very good quality. We didn't use the swimming pool in the end but did have a look and it was more than adequate. It was lovely to be able to sit out on the verandah and watch the sea. Everything was very close and would definitely visit again

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for your review.

I'm glad you had a good sleep - so important these days.

Thank you for your comments on our current Seasonal Menu as we have had a tremendous amount of positive feedback on it.

Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Treated my girlfriend to at night this last weekend for valentines, complete surprise to her, had roses delivered and put on the room, beautiful sea view room spacious but not too big very clean, comfy beds very friendly welcoming staff who also very informative to the things around the hotel, food was really good and the breakfast was better to what we had when we stayed in a 4 star hotel in London. I feel this one should have more stars. Weekend couldn't of gone any better. Really reasonable, clean, friendly. Thank you guys for making it go so well. Will see you again soon

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sealvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for your review

I am glad that you had such a good time.

We noticed that you were in on a 'special' weekend and you were upgraded to one of our lovely new 4 posters.

Always mention if a special occasion because if we can do something special for you we will.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife and I took my mother inlaw and my brother inlaw away for a weekend. We have stayed in this hotel before and new the food was good. On arrival we were welcomed by Mark who was so helpfull, as my mother inlaw is getting on a bit we asked for rooms next to each other. This was no problem, and he kept checking to make sure everything was OK. We all enjoyed the weekend very much thanks to Mark.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for your review.

I'm glad that you had another good stay with us and I am glad my staff continued to look after you whilst I was away.

I look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed there for two nights for a family party and it was brilliant. The staff were very helpful
And friendly. Our room had a lovely sea view, it was very big and comfortable. The hotel is right on the sea front and only minutes from the pier. The swimming pool was excellent for the adults and children in our party and it was really warm perfect for the babies. We had a meal on Friday evening and the food was excellent. There isn't anything that we could fault . Excellent

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for your review

I am glad that the family had a good time and you all enjoyed our pool.

It was nice to see a family gathering for that 'special' birthday

We look forward to welcoming you back another time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,531 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,036 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York House Hotel

Address: 14-22 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: $41 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Eastbourne seaside front and pier, this branded hotel offers comfortable rooms for all budgets.Fully licenced bar and restaurant are open every day.Conference, weddings and other events facilities are available.Reception and room service operate 24 hours.FREE WI FI in all areas. Parking: The hotel does not have a car park. If you secure 'seaside' parking please come into the hotel to obtain a hotel permit which is £1 until 11 am the following day. Alternatively on the side roads behind us parking is currently not chargeable and is free for the duration. Blue Badge Holders can park anywhere on the metered sections with no charges, no permit is required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York Hotel
Best Western Eastbourne
Eastbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing