We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western York House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights and it was fantastic.
We got a beautiful see view room , very big and modern with a lovely en suite bathroom. The best we have been to in eastbourne so far. Brilliant location right at the sea front just minutes away from the pier and town centre.
We didnt use the pool as we were staying there in summer so there was fantastic weather outside.
Theres nothing bad I could say about this hotel at the moment.

Room Tip: See view rooms are fantastic if you like sea waves gently waking you up in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takhaet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review from your August stay

I know my staff appreciate it when they get it right and a customer takes the trouble to post a review.

We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are in Eastbourne and the Pool is always there just in case we don't have the sunshine.

We are oficially the sunniest place in the UK - did you know?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,111
    690
    172
    51
    29
See reviews for
339
1,280
29
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (766)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Slough
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Very friendly hotel! All the staff went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible! Situated right on the sea front with only a five minute walk to the pier and 10-15 mins to the town center.
Eastborne was very quiet as the snow had hit so lots of things closed....but would be lovely in the summer! Would stay again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and your kind comments reference my staff which has been duly passed on to them.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I booked A room 12-13th jan with my young daughter for my birthday.overall loved the stay,room was spacious,comfy bed,warm,gorg view of bournemouth beach,lovely warm pool which me and my daughter had a grt time in,didnt do breakfast,but still found staff at desk friendly.despite the cold weather in eastbourne it hasnt put me of coming back and shall book again when its warmer,my 9 year old wants to come again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotschick38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I'm glad you had a good time with us - we will have to add as a comment onto our web description that you can see Bournemouth Beach from our Beach as well.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, W. Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent 3 nights 4 days on a New Years package virtually Full Board.

Start with the negatives - only tiny niggles the Duty Manager for New Years Day lacked charisma and the Swimming pool access is through the dining room.

Positives.

Everything !!!!! some previous reviews say the hotel needs updating, well the sea view room we had was fantastic enormous size and compact ensuite Room 284 not sure if this was an updated room or not but no problems as far as we are concerned. 2 very comfortable beds and 2 tub chairs.
The tea and coffee tray had a teapot ! Brilliant I have never stayed anywhere else where a teapot was supplied.

The rest of the staff were very helpful nothing was too much trouble the meals were 1st class and plenty of it.
There was entertainment each night and some afternoons whether this was quizzes, bingo or music the Gala evening for New Years Eve was well attended with Formal dress. The New Years Day fancy dress didn't have quite the same amount of support but was was enjoyable particularly the young man who was entertaining during and after the competition.
We also found out that Best Western have a loyalty card which you can build points towards future stays, air miles or M&S vouchers which we have now got and intend to use.

Well done York House

Room Tip: Sea view rooms cost a little more but we felt more than worth the money. Parking is on a limited ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avril M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your great review from New Year and your positives have been duly passed on to all concerned.

On the negatives and coincidentally the Swimming Pool is no longer accessed through the Restaurant - the new signage is in place today.

In relation to the Duty Manager on New Years day I presume you are referring to the PM DM?

Perhaps you could let me know on my direct email; mark.cotman@yorkhousehotel.co.uk

Then I can set to work on him!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Just arrived back after a Xmas Break at the York Hotel. Can i just get the negative comments out of the way first, Beer (john smiths) serverd much to cold (this seems to be the norm with this beer, Why?) Also if you are part of a group always get a table which starts at A or B served quicker. Anyway less of the rants, from the time we arrived to the time we left the staff could not do enough for you, one member of the staff that seemed to be everywhere was William (well done) this doesn't detract from other staff. Food EXCELLENT and plenty of it. All in all well done

Room Tip: If you choose a Sea View be prepared for some noise from the sea front road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeicestershireYoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind Christmas review.

You are correct that all Beers (not Lagers) that are dispensed by pump are served ultra cold now - for what reason I guess we can only fathom.

I will also pass on your comments to William as I know he will appreciate it.

We hope to see you again next year as I know your Group has re booked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This needs a total update, very tired. Rooms need money spending on them urgently. It looks as though it will close any day now unless someone buys it and brings it into the present century. Poor food, no excuse for trying to pass off weak orange squash as fresh juice at breakfast. There is one good thing about this hotel, the staff. They save the day with their attentive service and friendliness. I wish them luck.

Room Tip: I doubt there is one although a sea view is always welcome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuffolkMobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for your review and your kind comments reference my excellent staff.

In regards the rest of your comments not really sure what to say!

I guess everyone has their own opinion which I respect and I'm sorry that our totally refurbished ground floor and 80% of our bedrooms don't aesthetically please you.

I would be more than happy to engage in further dialogue should you wish, so that I can understand where you are coming from, my direct email is mark.cotman@yorkhousehotel.co.uk should you wish to do so.

I will also have to leave the 'readers' of our overall comments be the judge.

PS We don't serve orange squash for Breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I took a group here last week and having visited this hotel about 3 years ago was a little apprehensive as that experience left a lot to be desired. This time I was very impressed with the helpfulness of all staff. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the food was very good and well presented. We had a couple of problems with my group who had difficulty with stairs and showers but this was sorted by the hotel staff quickly, efficiently and courteously. I can truthfully say that with all the staff nothing was a problem and all in all I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for your review.

I am glad to see that we resolved any issues with your Group check in promptly which is something we always endeavour to do - the same old adage applies here - tell us and we will help you to resolve any issues - if you don't how can we?

We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,145 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#8 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,583 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
904 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 40 in Eastbourne
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York House Hotel

Property: Best Western York House Hotel
Address: 14-22 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Eastbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Eastbourne seaside front and pier, this branded hotel offers comfortable rooms for all budgets.Fully licenced bar and restaurant are open every day.Conference, weddings and other events facilities are available.Reception and room service operate 24 hours.FREE WI FI in all areas. Parking: The hotel does not have a car park. If you secure 'seaside' parking please come into the hotel to obtain a hotel permit which is £1 until 11 am the following day. Alternatively on the side roads behind us parking is currently not chargeable and is free for the duration. Blue Badge Holders can park anywhere on the metered sections with no charges, no permit is required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York Hotel
Best Western Eastbourne
Eastbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing