We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Merry Christmas !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sheldon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sheldon
Ranked #26 of 78 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Merry Christmas !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Duncurin and family travelled down to Eastbourne to look in on an elderly mother-in-law for a few days over Christmas; we were a little worried about our ‘Turkey-and-tinsel’ break on the sea-front. As it turned out the Sheldon was a perfect choice with enthusiastic, energetic and hard-working hosts who did everything to make us welcome, comfortable and also cooked wonderful breakfasts to enable us to spend our days with my wife’s mum.
We’d booked two of the superior rooms, which are clean, bright and very spacious. Most notably our super bed was one that was both comfortable and large enough to ensure restful nights. Our girls, too, had a spacious comfortable room with twin beds; the large amount of space and the bright, restful lounge – all with free, unrestricted Wi-fi access allowed them to get on with their University work.
The owners of the hotel are attentive and friendly at all times, have a strong work ethic and deserve to do well. Although our main motive in travelling was to make sure that ‘granny’ wasn’t on her own – this wonderful hotel was a simply perfect choice to support and encourage us to do precisely that.
One tiny note, the large car park at the rear has a fairly low entrance and my little car complete with roof box just managed to scrape under with millimetres to spare; so, if you have a large car/roof box it would be better to park on the road.

Room Tip: the larger rooms are wonderful, but obviously a little more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncurin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments! We had an amazing Christmas and it was down to the wonderful holiday spirit that our guests brought with them! You made Christmas a real pleasure for us all. The car park is suitable for vehicles up to 1.9m tall and is tight in and out especially for longer cars. We can accommodate up to 2 tall vehicles at any one time in our front parking spaces, but always best to check before booking! Happy New year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    47
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
108
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St Germain Des Pres
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

We originally chose this hotel as being close to the town centre as possible and with a car park.
I must admit, the Sheldon exceeded our expectations. The room was very large with storage space galore no having to trip over suitcase.
The owners were the friendliest of people, only to pleased to give advice as to places to visit etc.
Although knowing Eastbourne quite well we were directed to some new places.
For a touch of luxury at the price of a two star this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sallepenche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us and what a lovely review! As we have not been in Eastbourne so long, it is important to us to know what's going on here so we can advise our guests. We keep up to date by using the facebook app of visit Eastbourne, which is really useful. There are so many hidden Gems here! We try to give our customers great deals especially during the winter season, so keep an eye on us by liking us on facebook or watching our website to get all the special offers as we roll them out! Have a lovely Christmas x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed for three nights of luxury accommodation at the family run Sheldon Hotel. The free off street parking and warm welcome ensured that our stay started off in the best possible way.
The room was spacious, well laid out and spotless. The bed was very comfortable and the roll top bath a treat. Each morning we had a choice of cooked or continental breakfasts that were spot on.
The staff were cheery and very helpful when we asked questions about the local pubs and restaurants that were all close to hand. Being so close to the sea front (2 min walk) meant we did not need to drive to enjoy our stay.
All in all the hotel is a real find and one we will definitely return to. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy_n_Berni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary Point, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

I only had the pleasure of staying at the Sheldon Hotel for one night (11th Nov) and I was given a single room complete with a spotlessly clean en-suite. There was a small seating area to relax and enjoy a cuppa from the well stocked beverage tray. Breakfast, which was made from good quality produce, was served in a light and well dressed dining room. I found the hosts to be very receptive, warm and welcoming and one can tell that the well being of their guests are very important to them. I would have like to stayed longer but due to a tight travel schedule I could not. In saying that, if and when I happen to be in Eastbourne again, I shall seek out a room at this establishment where I felt quite relaxed and comfortable and looked after.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank faraway_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

The Sheldon is a couple of minutes walk to the seaside and shops. The room we had was very nice at the front of the hotel. Very clean and spacious. Breakfast was nice. There is parking at the back which is a real asset. Very narrow entrance but we have a big car and managed to squeeze it through ! Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mommiib, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed at the Sheldon for 2 nights on a quick getaway. We were given a room at the front with bay window on first floor. Absolutely spotless and very comfortable. The staff were most welcoming and the breakfast was excellent. The hotel is ideally situated in a quiet road a very short walk from the promenade and the town centre, and there is plenty of parking at the rear which in this area is a great asset. We had a small but effective bathroom with a walk in shower which was excellent, very clean warm white towels. All in all it was just right and great value we will go back. There are a number of excellent restaurants within 200 yards and would highly recommend Martins.

Room Tip: ist floor at front.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MU4EVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mommiib, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

I really enjoyed my 2 night stay at this hotel to attend a conference. The owners were very welcoming and friendly throughout our stay, as were the staff serving breakfast. I stayed in the budget double, which was small but had everything you would need. The room and the hotel in general was very clean and well looked after; the décor was modern and appealing; and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was lovely, with a wide choice to suit all tastes as well as catering for specific dietary needs (one of our party required a gluten free diet). Thank you for a lovely weekend!

Room Tip: If you need space (e.g. for a travel cot), don't opt for the budget double or single rooms. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mommiib, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment. Your group were an absolute delight and we thoroughly enjoyed looking after you all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#10 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marine Parade Hotel
Marine Parade Hotel
#32 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#23 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Sherwood
The Sherwood
#32 of 78 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mowbray
The Mowbray
#15 of 78 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Berkeley Guest House
The Berkeley Guest House
#21 of 78 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sheldon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheldon

Property: The Sheldon
Address: 9-11 Burlington Place, Eastbourne BN21 4AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheldon 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheldon is a 4* family owned and run bed and breakfast. It has 20 lovely en-suite bedrooms with FREE on-site parking, so it ideal for those visiting the theatre, shops, beach, pier and most attractions as you can walk just about anywhere! Wi-fi is available in the hotel, FREE of charge! All our rooms benefit from flat screen TV with satellite, 'Cafe etc...' refreshment tray, towels and Luxury 'Au-Lait' (by Scottish fine soaps) toiletries. We have a room to suit every budget and need - family rooms for up to 5 adults now available! We have a spacious dining room and 2x guest lounges. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Sheldon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheldon Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing