We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of The Sheldon B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sheldon B&B
Ranked #27 of 76 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We originally chose this hotel as being close to the town centre as possible and with a car park.
I must admit, the Sheldon exceeded our expectations. The room was very large with storage space galore no having to trip over suitcase.
The owners were the friendliest of people, only to pleased to give advice as to places to visit etc.
Although knowing Eastbourne quite well we were directed to some new places.
For a touch of luxury at the price of a two star this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sallepenche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us and what a lovely review! As we have not been in Eastbourne so long, it is important to us to know what's going on here so we can advise our guests. We keep up to date by using the facebook app of visit Eastbourne, which is really useful. There are so many hidden Gems here! We try to give our customers great deals especially during the winter season, so keep an eye on us by liking us on facebook or watching our website to get all the special offers as we roll them out! Have a lovely Christmas x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 233 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed for three nights of luxury accommodation at the family run Sheldon Hotel. The free off street parking and warm welcome ensured that our stay started off in the best possible way.
The room was spacious, well laid out and spotless. The bed was very comfortable and the roll top bath a treat. Each morning we had a choice of cooked or continental breakfasts that were spot on.
The staff were cheery and very helpful when we asked questions about the local pubs and restaurants that were all close to hand. Being so close to the sea front (2 min walk) meant we did not need to drive to enjoy our stay.
All in all the hotel is a real find and one we will definitely return to. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy_n_Berni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Many thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I only had the pleasure of staying at the Sheldon Hotel for one night (11th Nov) and I was given a single room complete with a spotlessly clean en-suite. There was a small seating area to relax and enjoy a cuppa from the well stocked beverage tray. Breakfast, which was made from good quality produce, was served in a light and well dressed dining room. I found the hosts to be very receptive, warm and welcoming and one can tell that the well being of their guests are very important to them. I would have like to stayed longer but due to a tight travel schedule I could not. In saying that, if and when I happen to be in Eastbourne again, I shall seek out a room at this establishment where I felt quite relaxed and comfortable and looked after.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faraway_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The Sheldon is a couple of minutes walk to the seaside and shops. The room we had was very nice at the front of the hotel. Very clean and spacious. Breakfast was nice. There is parking at the back which is a real asset. Very narrow entrance but we have a big car and managed to squeeze it through ! Recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mommiib, Owner at The Sheldon B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed at the Sheldon for 2 nights on a quick getaway. We were given a room at the front with bay window on first floor. Absolutely spotless and very comfortable. The staff were most welcoming and the breakfast was excellent. The hotel is ideally situated in a quiet road a very short walk from the promenade and the town centre, and there is plenty of parking at the rear which in this area is a great asset. We had a small but effective bathroom with a walk in shower which was excellent, very clean warm white towels. All in all it was just right and great value we will go back. There are a number of excellent restaurants within 200 yards and would highly recommend Martins.

Room Tip: ist floor at front.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MU4EVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mommiib, Owner at The Sheldon B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I really enjoyed my 2 night stay at this hotel to attend a conference. The owners were very welcoming and friendly throughout our stay, as were the staff serving breakfast. I stayed in the budget double, which was small but had everything you would need. The room and the hotel in general was very clean and well looked after; the décor was modern and appealing; and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was lovely, with a wide choice to suit all tastes as well as catering for specific dietary needs (one of our party required a gluten free diet). Thank you for a lovely weekend!

Room Tip: If you need space (e.g. for a travel cot), don't opt for the budget double or single rooms. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mommiib, Owner at The Sheldon B&B, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment. Your group were an absolute delight and we thoroughly enjoyed looking after you all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We found the Sheldon easy to find, free parking and a lovely room. Very clean, helpful staff and great surroundings. A very pleasant stay for two nights. Comfortable beds, good TV. Small bathroom but very nice. Free tea and coffee and the breakfast was good, they also cater for vegans.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MishkinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mommiib, Owner at The Sheldon B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mowbray
The Mowbray
#14 of 76 in Eastbourne
391 reviews
0.7 mi away
Albert & Victoria
Albert & Victoria
#9 of 76 in Eastbourne
360 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gyves House
Gyves House
#6 of 76 in Eastbourne
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Eastbourne Reymar
Eastbourne Reymar
#33 of 76 in Eastbourne
27 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Berkeley Guest House
The Berkeley Guest House
#21 of 76 in Eastbourne
263 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beach Front Guest House
Beach Front Guest House
#3 of 76 in Eastbourne
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sheldon B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheldon B&B

Address: 9-11 Burlington Place, Eastbourne BN21 4AS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range: $76 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheldon B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheldon is a 4* family owned and run bed and breakfast. With FREE on-site parking, so it ideal for those visiting the theatre, shops, beach, pier and most attractions as you can walk just about anywhere! Wi-fi is available in most rooms and all public area's - FREE of charge! All our rooms benefit from flat screen TV with satellite, pleasant seating area 'Cafe etc...' refreshment tray, Luxury 'Au-Lait' (by Scottish fine soaps) toiletrie. We are exceptioanlly family friendly - why not sit in the lounge whilst the children settle using one of our baby monitors and enjoy a drink! We have a room to suit every budget and need - family rooms for up to 5 occupants now available! We have a spacious dining room a childrens playroom and lovely guest lounge. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Sheldon B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheldon Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing