We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with lovely hosts”
Review of The Sheldon B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sheldon B&B
Ranked #25 of 77 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice place with lovely hosts”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

A collegue and I stayed here for a single night and were made to feel extremely welcome by the excellent hosts, despite our late arrival and groggy appearances in the morning.

We only had single rooms which were small but not oppressive. The whole place is spotlessly clean and only a short walk away from the sea front or town centre.

I'd definately stay here again. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrogDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    52
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
28
116
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I only stayed one night and was happy that the recent reviews on tripadvisor were accurate. This is a rare find, an excellent family run b&b that is very clean and modern. The room was spotlessly clean with toiletries and tea/ coffee making facilities readily available. The breakfast offered a wide range and an excellent quality of cooked to order food which was nice presented. Another bonus is the off street parking not available in many larger establishments in Eastbourne which gives piece of mind and saves hassle of feeding the parking meters each day. The biggest asset to this hotel are the husband and wife team who are obviously well suited and work well together to provide a friendly, homely atmosphere, if I need to come to Eastbourne again I won't hesitate to book.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markyb_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Very deserving of the many positive reviews already written. Great family managed hotel were nothing is too much trouble. Good sized very clean rooms well presented. I usually manage to find a problem with the TV or other electrical mechanism but not here! A pleasure to stay at. As you might expect eastbourne is full of large 3 star grandiose hotels with an ageing facade but this, just a couple of minutes from the seafront, is a class above. Great value for money.

Room Tip: It was noted by owners that some of the rooms have better working wi fi than others, so ask before y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david_roberts17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfold, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Enjoyed our stay very friendly and helpful, lovely big room felt totally relaxed. Even the cold weather didn't worry us we where warm and snug when indoors. Great breakfast and served with a smile to chef well done

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank charbella401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a well presented, very clean and modern hotel where the owners are keen to make your stay as comfortable as possible. It's also very good value for money and the breakfast was excellent. We shall definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Very clean recently refitted hotel very friendly new owners, nothing is too much trouble. Comfortable room, we stayed in a superior double. comfortable bed good linen. only improvement would be more towel rails.
We were leaving before breakfast on a Saturday, when the owners heard this they asked us what time we would like breakfast and got up and made it for us!
Access to the car park is a little tight so be careful with big cars especially when leaving.
Good location for walks along the front and town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timm586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great find in a super location 1 minute from the seafront, close to shopping centre and pier. Stayed in a family room which was very spacious with a sofa bed for the kids and large bathroom with separate bath and shower. Lovely breakfast. Good to have onsite parking. New owners really welcoming and friendly. Would recommend if you want a lovely place to stay which is close to everything and also was good value for money. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
447 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
0.1 mi away
The Mowbray
The Mowbray
#15 of 77 in Eastbourne
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Berkeley Guest House
The Berkeley Guest House
#23 of 77 in Eastbourne
249 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eastbourne Reymar
Eastbourne Reymar
#39 of 77 in Eastbourne
18 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ivydene
Ivydene
#6 of 77 in Eastbourne
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sheldon B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheldon B&B

Property: The Sheldon B&B
Address: 9-11 Burlington Place, Eastbourne BN21 4AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheldon B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheldon is a 4* family owned and run bed and breakfast. With FREE on-site parking, so it ideal for those visiting the theatre, shops, beach, pier and most attractions as you can walk just about anywhere! Wi-fi is available in most rooms and all public area's - FREE of charge! All our rooms benefit from flat screen TV with satellite, pleasant seating area 'Cafe etc...' refreshment tray, Luxury 'Au-Lait' (by Scottish fine soaps) toiletrie. We are exceptioanlly family friendly - why not sit in the lounge whilst the children settle using one of our baby monitors and enjoy a drink! We have a room to suit every budget and need - family rooms for up to 5 occupants now available! We have a spacious dining room a childrens playroom and lovely guest lounge. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Sheldon B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheldon Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing