We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A one star Mansion.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mansion Lions Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mansion Lions Hotel
Ranked #36 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A one star Mansion.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

The Mansion is excellently placed near the pier on Eastbourne's seafront but the disappointments start as soon as you enter. What were once fine period features have now been daubed with gold paint and the whole interior is dingy and run-down.
During our stay the hotel was catering almost exclusively for the extremely elderly and there were sticks and other walking-aids virtually everywhere. The completely inadequate lift was, therefore, monopolised by the many who lacked mobility.
The hotel extends itself down a terrace of Victorian villas which stands at the rear and access to rooms in that area is difficult and, for much of the time, the hot water gives up the attempt and the taps run cold.
The food is clearly from the cheapest source available and it is cooked to 'greasy-spoon' standards.
So: you are asking ' Why have you awarded the Mansion even one star?' (The AA have apparently given it three). My answer is that the efforts of the over-worked staff would justify at least that. They remain cheerful and obliging even after working long shifts. I thought they were great and they did much to improve what was otherwise a very disappointing experience.

Room Tip: Access to thesecond-floor rooms in the 200 range is difficult as you have to go up and down through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank corvinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    69
    58
    39
    69
See reviews for
37
65
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Recently stayed at the Mansion (Lions) Hotel with a large group for a weekend conference in the area, and having stayed at a number of other hotels in Eastbourne I was very impressed overall with this one.

Unlike others nearby it is generally not as outdated and while the decor is not exactly modern, the 'grand' feeling offered is rather nice!

Staff were extremely helpful and friendly at all times and helped to make the checking in and out processes faultless.

Breakfast was the only meal we had whilst at the hotel and it was enjoyable, but it would have been nice to be able to swap certain unwanted items for more of others as we were told that this may not be possible as the chef only has enough for one per person.

The double room my wife and I stayed in was so big that it was a big enough space if our group of 14 wanted to hang out together, although we didn't! The heating worked very well and kept the room at a nice temperature during the cold weather. The shower was not the best but did the job and provided hot water whenever needed. If being picky, it would've been nice to have biscuits with the tea supplies that weren't all broken already when we arrived! Overall a pleasant stay and would return in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ollie_Ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at hotel as part of organised Xmas get together with a group of friends. Hotel was in much need of a refurb but rooms were comfortable

Dinner on both nights were nice breakfast was ok. The menu could have done with a couple of extra breakfast items!

Overall an ok stay

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BenLeigh250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

I recently visited this hotel on a 5 day turkey and tinsel coach trip and enjoyed it immensely. The varied menu catered for all tastes, the delicious food was fresh and plenty of it, in fact I could not eat all the courses, it was too much. The location was good and my single room had a sea view. The staff were extremely friendly and polite, always smiling and were so helpful. My room was cleaned every day and was nice and warm. I can't wait to go back again in the summer.

Room Tip: I had a single room on the second floor at the front of the hotel and was not bothered by noise at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

I had made my reservation via third party for £35.00 a night for a single room + breakfast. I was expecting to get what I paid for but I was greeted by a lovely surprise - reasonable sized room and a sea front view. Breakfast was basic but value for money. The waiting staff were polite. It was a return visit and was much better than the first time, I will definitely be staying a gain. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Grace O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

This hotel is huge, stayed in room 325 which was inland and extremely quiet. Slept like a log. Room was clean although broken items present, shower leaking and was either too hot or too cold. A bucket the ground floor hall was catching rain water. For the price I was happy but probably would not stay again. It was the Miss Jason Weekend Bender so enjoyable weekend. :-)

Room Tip: inland rooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apnrboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
149 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Staff here were all very polite and hard working except one Barman who was rude and ignorant.. Food was good. Had a room on the third floor which was spacious but had seen its day. Old fashioned decor, bad fitting carpet, damaged wardrobe, the bathroom was not tiled properly and had gaps where you could see the old pink tiles under the new tiles that had been put on top of them, shower cable didn't fit the tap properly so would spurt water everywhere, shower curtain didn't fit, old plastic tissue holder on wall. States on website most rooms have a fridge, we had 3 rooms and none had a fridge.
The corridors need a good going over and there are buckets collecting rain water at some parts of the building.
Even the bar was dented and damaged, surely this doesn't take much to fix.
Unsure if this hotel is going to have a revamp anytime soon, if it doesn't I don't know how it will survive.
The dining area, bar area and reception are all nice.
For what we paid I can't complain as had breakfast and evening meal, if it was just the room I would of been disappointed.
I would of given this a poor rating had it not been for the friendly efficient staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenjust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.0 mi away
Albany Lions Hotel
Albany Lions Hotel
#38 of 42 in Eastbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#10 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#22 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion Lions Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion Lions Hotel

Property: Mansion Lions Hotel
Address: Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3YS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mansion Lions Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Mansion Lions Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing