We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good food”

La Locanda Del Duca
Ranked #5 of 414 Restaurants in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“very good food”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Very good food and not a chain , food was well presented and the bill was reasonable , will go back.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank martinixi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    594
    200
    29
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Service very good, food mediocre”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We decided to visit La Locanda Del Duca as we have had some nice pizzas at their 'sister' restaurant Pomodoro e Mozzarella. Sadly we were disappointed. It was a busy Saturday night, and I must say that the service was very good (near excellent), but the food was disappointing. My partner's pasta main course was dry and mine had very few 'special' ingredients and tasted a bit manufactured. The starters were quite expensive for what they were. We won't be going back to La Locanda for pasta - although it is a chain, the Eastbourne Prezzo food tastes much better.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheJennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Extremely Tasty”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Staying in Eastbourne on business for a couple of nights and after checking Tripadvisor, visited this place and definitely wasnt disappointed.

Only about 8 people in on a Tuesday night so quiet but i think regardless, the service would be of the same high attentive standard regardless of numbers. I was given a few pieces of bread and some tasty olives while ordering and went for the Tortellini with ricotta cheese and spinach/mushrooms.

This arrived promptly and was gorgeous - creamy and very flavoursome. I followed this with three homemade ice creams with a choice of about 8 to pick from - again very nice

On paying the bill i was given a leaflet with 10% off for a meal till the middle of January so i may take trip there tomorrow as well and make sure this really was as good as i thought it was!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank derbyjap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
“Excellent Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

4 of us ate there last night. Lovely ambience, very warm welcome and very friendly and attentive staff. All four meals were first class and we didn't feel the dishes overall were that expensive, The meats/chicken were all tender and very tasty as was the accompanying selection of vegetables. All in all a lovely evening, it was our first visit but certainly wont be our last.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EveEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Food was very average and prices were jigher than expected. London prices for an average food to be honest so value for money is not great. The only reason why I rate this as a 3 rather than less is because of their very friendly staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rodobej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Locanda Del Duca also viewed

Eastbourne, East Sussex
 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 

Been to La Locanda Del Duca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing