We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
Ranked #31 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Hotel in process of being done up. Needs doing. Could do with wet rooms or larger showers as most people are older and there is not a lot of room in a shower cubicle .Meals could be better.
Entertainment was good.

Room Tip: Nice to have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Hi Margaret C. Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear you did not find the meals to your liking. The majority of our guests enjoy the food and find we have a varied menu. The Hotel was in the process of refurbishing bedrooms, this is an ongoing programme which we do most yours out of the main season. I apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you but we do try and keep the disruption to a minimum. Pleased to hear though that you enjoyed the entertainment. Paul does work hard to try and please all guests. Thank you for posting your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 548 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

hotel is being updated on first floor. rest of rooms a bit dated. we stayed in 214 and every time heating pump pulled in you would think a train was going through the bedroom. staff are exellent in all departments .food was very good. entertainment fairly good. reception staff very good.national coach driver was very good making a long journey bearable..

Room Tip: do not get room 214
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Hi John james s. Glad to hear you enjoyed most of your holiday. Sorry you had a problem with the heating pipes, for future reference, I know it is not much consolation to you but this problem has now been resolved by the heating engineer. Pleased to hear though you enjoyed the rest of your stay. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I have just spent a lovely weekend at this picturesque hotel. The greeting in reception was fantastic and all the staff in reception, bar and restaurant were extremely helpful and efficient - what a pleasure ! The meals were good and the evening entertainment was good and so was the in-house DJ. I had a lovely room with 3 sea facing windows, what a treat. It was in all a great weekend.

Room Tip: Room 103 with 3 sea facing rooms - brilliant !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lynette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Hi Lynette a thank you for a fantastic five star review. Pleased to hear you had an enjoyable relaxing Valentines weekend. I will pass your comments to reception who I know will love to hear you had a fantastic welcome. So good when guests write about the staff as I know they work hard to try and please everyone. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Having visited several Shearings hotels this is definitely the worst one by far. Stayed here for four nights with family. The ceiling in our room had artex breaking away and stained. there was no signal on the tv for the whole stay. It was attempted to be fixed but still did not work. The shower cubicle was disgraceful it had at least 6 months of mould in it. The room was very cold and draughty. We complained about the ceiling and they came in and scraped the loose artex of and left it!! Even left the loose bit on the coving!!!! Very professional..., NOT!! However, the shower screen was cleaned.

Came in after a day out only to find the "cleaner" had used my facecloth to clean with!! This was covered in bleach and filthy! This could have had serious consequences.

Food was quite good although the service was terrible.

One good thing is that the bar staff were very friendly and efficient.

Will definitely not be returning.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
6  Thank clairebear22-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Hi Clairebear22_31. All reviews are important to us so thank you for yours. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us due to the bedroom. I believe an upgraded room was offered during your stay and some of the cleanliness issues you highlighted were dealt with straight away as you have stated. We have gone through an extensive refurbishment and we are looking to do more in the future. The majority of our guests are happy with the product we supply as you can see from other reviews but sometimes like in all business’s there can be a blip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Just back ....overall, excellent value for money.. stayed 5 days with Caledonian Travel ....room we had was newly revamped décor,bathroom paint and wallpaper......beds etc very clean and bed comfortable...Food very good and always hot .. the weather was very stormy and hotel faces the sea so both sets of glass doors at hotel foyer were constantantly blowing open and allowing freezing cold air into Reception..so serious upgrade or repair is urgently needed to this problem as it makes walking through Reception from the lounges to the bedroom areas an endurance test......room 335 with 3 windows had to stuffed with paper towels in sashes of frames to keep out draft.....radiator could only reach tepid heat so had to get 2 x oil filled radiators from Reception to warm the room....The service in restaurant was poor at times and seemed to a common point amongst other guests....the waitress service was working at top speed but delays seemed to be in the kitchens....price of Creamflow per pint £3.70 and ....Grolsech pint £3.90 both seemed excessive....entertaintment each night was superb and was well attended and suited every taste...overall staff friendly and worked hard ....well done but suggest you urgently get windows and front doors fixed as it must be costing you a fortune in lost heat.....George Nixon.

Room Tip: Front rooms facing sea likely will be draughty and check room heating...Ask receptionist fo oil fill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank george n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Hi George n. Thank you for posting your review. I am glad you found some aspects of your holiday to your liking especially the bedroom and the entertainment. I will be sure to pass your comments to the entertainments manager as I know he will be pleased to hear them. Just to highlight some of your other points. We had torrential weather and severe storms during your stay and unfortunately, as we are directly on the sea front and the wind was hitting the hotel head on it did keep blowing open the front door. This could only be rectified by locking the door but as we are a hotel and people are constantly coming in and out this would have been impossible. I apologise if you found the service in the restaurant poor. The majority of our guests find the service fine but I will however look into your comments. All reviews are important to us so thank you again for taking the time to post your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Hi we would just like to say from getting on the Coach in B/burn Lancs on the 27th for 5 Days our Holiday had begun the Driver Andy was very helpful and the people on the coach where Friendly good group when we Arrived at the Majestic check in was done Quickly as poss as 2 Coach loads had to check in at same time the Reception Staff very polite/helpful. Our Waitress with (tattooed Lips on neck) looked after us provided excellent service was quick in serving each course concidering how busy each setting was good choice in menu . The Bar staff worked hard too entertainment was good our room 322 was clean comfy could not fault anything the only disappointment was us having to come home would recommend this Hotel. please dont take any notice of bad reviews/complaints The manager as a good team of workers

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vivienne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you Vivienne b for posting such a great review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that all the staff were friendly and helpful. I feel they are one of our best assets in the Hotel and I am glad you agree. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This review is for my parents who stayed at this hotel.
Firstly I would like to thank Paul Watts who provided great entertainment throughout our 5 day stay. We had a problem with our room but after contacting the manager he quickly moved us to room 324 which was on level 3. The hotel itself is undergoing a referb. The new rooms are very nice. The hotel staff are very nice with a special mention for the very tall waiter who looked after us very well.
Food was all very good, whilst not always piping hot, it was well cooked and tasty.
The hotel and rooms are very clean.
Overall we would recommend the hotel. We went with national holidays who did a great job. Andy the driver was very good.

Room Tip: Get a sea view refurb room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank d_mengella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Hi d_mengella. Lovely to hear the reception staff sorted you another room when you had a problem. I will be sure to pass your comment to Aiden in the restaurant and I know Paul will be pleased you enjoyed the entertainment provided. We did have a giggle when you mentioned the tall waiter as Aiden does towers above everyone in the restaurant. We do try to cater for all age groups and it is nice to know we are managing this. Thank you for posting your review and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.4 mi away
Bay Burlington Hotel
Bay Burlington Hotel
#17 of 40 in Eastbourne
868 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,405 reviews
0.8 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,757 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,033 reviews
1.0 mi away
New Wilmington Hotel
New Wilmington Hotel
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel

Address: 26-34 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: $89 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Eastbourne hotel’s views look out across Royal Parade towards the wide expanse of beach and the rippling sea. The Majestic Hotel is one of the best value hotels in Eastbourne and is situated in an ideal position to discover Eastbourne’s many attractions – within a few minutes’ walk of the bustling pier and picturesque Redoubt Gardens, and lying close to the heart of the town, this popular hotel is the perfect complement to Eastbourne, which has an air of tradition and charm. Taking a well earned break from sightseeing is easy at the Majestic Hotel – watch the world go by from the television lounge, or enjoy the terrace which is a perfect sun-trap. Alternatively you can have a refreshing drink at the bar... full of friendly faces, it offers a lively welcome to one of the South Coast's finest resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing