We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
Ranked #30 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“good value for money”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went with shearings coach holidays,our room partly refurbed and adequate,food was good, dining room not so good,too many tables,too close together people sqeezing in between tables to move in and out,all staff we encountered were helpful and polite.entertainment wasn't our cup of tea mainly for the older generation,but thats what they had staying there 90% were over 60.it is is about a 20 minute walk into eastbourne.But hotel is right on the seafront.There was decorating being done in some of the public rooms whilst we were there which should improve things a bit.Management i know you read these reviews an idea on going home day would be to open dining room at 7-30am instead of 8am as people are getting on coaches at 9am,so at 8am there was a big queue and mad rush for the dining room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dereknewton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you dereknewton1 for posting your review. Since reading your review I have looked at the arrangements for the dining room on departure day and we now open 15 minutes earlier. Thank you for your suggestions and as you can see we do take them into consideration.
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    206
    145
    62
    47
See reviews for
55
314
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
stoke-on trent...
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

the mAJESTIC HOTEL IS ANOTHER HOTEL THAT SHEARINGS USE ... WE WENT PAST ON A FEW OCCASIONS.... AND LOOKED VERY WELCOMING , BUSY , MY only down side to this is that it is a bit out the way of the main town...so if your not so good on ya legs or walking to far is a difficulty then this might be a problem,,,,

Room Tip: abit to far from main town
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BROOKSTEROO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you Brookster007 for your review. I take it you did not actually stay with us, but I am glad you found the time to pop in and have a look around. Yes we are not as local to town as our sister Hotel the Burlington but public transport is very good in the area and in just under 5 minutes you could be dropped of by the local bus directly in the centre of town.
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and hopefully you will consider us for your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham County, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed from 29 Oct to 2 Nov 2012. There were two couples in our party and we found the whole stay well worth the price we paid. From the time we boarded the bus with our driver Christ until we arrived back at Stretton we have nothing to complain about. The reception staff were very helpful and attentative. The food was well cooked and hot when served and we were lucky to have the restaurant manageress serving us at times and the service was some of the best we have had at Bay Hotels, the only downside was at breakfast when it was a mad scramble to get to the cereals in the morning. The bar staff were quick and efficient and the card system worked ok for the issue of drinks. The rooms could do with a make over , but this applies to all the Bay Hotels but we were only there to sleep and shower each day. Christ the driver kept up a running commentary all through our trips out and was very helpful at all times. Very nice trip and big thank you to all staff. Thanks.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReddragonWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you reddragonWrexham for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found it value for money. I will say Chris seems to be one of our most popular drivers. All our guests have nothing but good things to say about him. I will be sure to pass on your comments to him.
I will also pass your comments to the restaurant manager who I know will be over the moon to hear you found the service the best you have had. We look forward to seeing you again in the future and thank you for taking the time to post such a pleasant review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We returned yesterday from the Majestic after a 5 day tour with Shearings. I have travelled all over the world and have never ever been in such a shabby hotel. The lounge, our sea front bedroom had mould and broken plaster on the ceilings. The toilet drainage system in the en-suite was held together by duck tape and the cistern was held to the wall by a piece of wood.. Round the bath was black. The lighting in the bed room was appalling. The corridoors were extremely shabby. The windows needed painting as there was mould on the woodwork. The food was ok. The only good thing about the holiday was our coach driver Diane, her knowledge of the area was unbelievable. As for the hotel, Don't Go There.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanetG2666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you JanrtG2666 for taking the time to post your review. I do realise we are not to everyone’s taste and I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. As you can see from the comments above we are at the moment in the process of refurbishing our ground floor public rooms.
As for your bedroom I am sorry to hear it was not to your standard and I will look into the matters you have highlighted. We do have a refurbishment programme in place and upgrade a percentage of our rooms each year. Early this year we have had most of our 2nd floor back bedrooms done and early next year our 3rd floor sea views will be done as well.
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eastbourne hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

we spent a few days at the majestic very enjoyable enterainment was good paul webb was very good he runs all entertainment bingo sings and organises all the other entertainment good acts on while we were there every night bobby bennett was good we had a nice room seaview lovely food was nice good choices staff very pleasant weather was not to bad either thanks to all staff at the majestic we walked along the beach every day went on the open topped bus and mini train GREAT

Room Tip: we had a room on 2nd floor over looking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maureenwilliamsyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. I will certainly pass on your comment to Paul. I am sure he will be thrilled with your comments. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your holiday and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have just returned from a holiday in Eastboune.staying at the Majestic Hotel. The hotel was SHABBY and needing updating, our bedroom was short of a full face lift with holes in the floor and cracks in the ceiling, the shower room was so small you had to come into the bedroom to dry yourself, The food in the restaurant was poor and luke warm just some of the many faults in this hotel, but the staff were friendly

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 187053Bobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are constantly striving to upgrade our rooms and public areas but as the Hotel is open all year round it can be difficult with bedrooms. Our bar and reception are due to be upgraded this year with bedrooms and corridors to follow as soon as feasible. I am surprised you found the food poor. The majority of our guests enjoy their meals and if they are not happy or cannot eat what is available on the menu we are quite happy to cater for their needs. I am glad however that you found the staff friendly and helpful. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My Wife and I have recently returned from a 5 day break at the majestic hotel. We travelled with Shearings our driver, chris was excellent throughout the week. On arrival at the Hotel, we were given a sea view room on the second floor. The room was very spacious and had the usual amenities tea and coffee making facilities a hair drier and tv. every day the room was cleaned to a high standard. the meals were excellent although dinner at 6 15 pm was rather early the service was first class.The only downside was there were only 2 lifts which could accommodate 2 people at a time. the hotel is quite close to the pier and facilities of the resort would stay again if ever in eastbourne.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for posting such kind comments. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and would return in the future. Eastbourne is a very peaceful town and the hotel has some excellent sea views.
Our sea view rooms do tend to be larger than our back facing rooms and I am glad you found your spacious and clean. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.4 mi away
Bay Burlington Hotel
Bay Burlington Hotel
#17 of 40 in Eastbourne
834 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#8 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,584 reviews
0.8 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel

Property: Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
Address: 26-34 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Eastbourne hotel’s views look out across Royal Parade towards the wide expanse of beach and the rippling sea. The Majestic Hotel is one of the best value hotels in Eastbourne and is situated in an ideal position to discover Eastbourne’s many attractions – within a few minutes’ walk of the bustling pier and picturesque Redoubt Gardens, and lying close to the heart of the town, this popular hotel is the perfect complement to Eastbourne, which has an air of tradition and charm. Taking a well earned break from sightseeing is easy at the Majestic Hotel – watch the world go by from the television lounge, or enjoy the terrace which is a perfect sun-trap. Alternatively you can have a refreshing drink at the bar... full of friendly faces, it offers a lively welcome to one of the South Coast's finest resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing