We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eastbourne Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
Ranked #32 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stayed with friends for 1 night in this hotel. We had booked two twin rooms with sea views. The rooms were clean with a double and single bed and a lovely view overlooking the beach. The breakfast was nice and cooked to order so nothing was cold. We checked out at 11am but wished to have another walk around Eastbourne before we travelled home. The receptionist said we could leave our luggage in the hotel, which was very helpful as we had travelled to Eastbourne by train. I would suggest if staying at this hotel a sea front room is booked as I gather most of these rooms are larger than some of the rooms at he back of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTR77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    95
    62
    19
    15
See reviews for
53
99
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in late April 2014.
Conveniently located and the parking pass system that allows parking on the road in front is good value, but it applies to all hotels.
We had 3 rooms. All were at the back which actually fronts a busy road so it was noisy early in the mornings especially when the refuse trucks were collecting. There was also some strange corridor noise early one morning. the rooms were of differing sizes and standards of furnishing. So its pot luck what you get.
English breakfast was good but the dining room lacked atmosphere and would not have been a good place for an evening meal.
Staff were fairly friendly although the desk was not always staffed. The hotel was clean although the main ground floor toilets seemed to be out of order.
Probably reasonable value for UK at this time of year.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMH99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We booked this hotel as a last minute getaway through booking.com.

On arrival we were greeted with a very unfriendly manner from the receptionist , we gave her our booking reference form which we were told to present on arrival she replied i don`t want that i want your name & then she said pay now - I could not believe my ears.

We were given the key to room 143- on entering we realised we had made a big mistake coming here !!!!!!!! The room was so small it was Claustrophobic as was the shower - the bed was a small 4ft bed & the most uncomfortable bed i had ever slept in.
We found dirty laundry shoved in the bedside cabinet , cigarette burns in the net curtains & the main curtain was only one curtain & not a pair of curtains & this hardly covered the window !!!!!!! the outlook from the window was disgusting . We had to ask for towels as we only had hand towels & when given towels again they were hand towels !!!!! Have you tried drying yourself with a hand towel
Please take our advise & do not be tempted to stay here at all , the value deal is not value at all, we were unable to sleep as the bed was so hard, the headboard was a Piece of MDF screwed to the wall & there was one chair in the room which was uncomfortable too, you would have more room in a caravan bedroom & shower . DO NOT BOOK

Room Tip: Do Not Book
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank julietwheresromeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eastbourne hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

It's a good job I didn't take my cat, because if I'd tried to swing it around he'd have hit every side of the room! I can honestly say that this is the smallest room that I have ever stayed in, and yes having only paid £38 at the last minute, guess I can't complain.
But, when the space between the bed and window is only wide enough to get out of bed, it's getting a bit ridiculous.
The receptionist upon arrival barely looked up from the computer, passed me my key and didn't even tell me where my room was, until asked. No offer of evening meal or breakfast, missed opportunity there then!
To be fair the room was spotless and the hotel was pleasant enough if a little bit of a mish mash of themes. Wouldn't recommend!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ANDREW E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
68 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

I stayed at Riviera Hotel for one night in early-May 2014 traveling alone by car along the coast of Southeast Britain.

I recommend this hotel if you are looking to stay in a hotel close to the This is the perfect spot for you! Please read my comments below.

Front desk (Check-in/Check-out/Service) +++
Staff at the front desk friendly and on arrival offered a 24 hour parking permit for £1.

Atmosphere/Rooms +++
Riviera hotel is well kept, nice and clean. Room interior basic yet functional.

Internet +++
The hotel had free Wi-Fi internet, available in all areas. Didn't experience any trouble.

Breakfast ++
Breakfast included in room rate. Guests get a RyainAir-style breakfast menu card with a few British style dishes to choose from. I have higher expectations on breakfast and prefer buffet-like breakfast tables but for the rate paid, I guess it was ok.

Parking +++
Street parking in the area. I would expect it to be busy at peak season. Parking permit offered by hotel a plus.

Location +++++
Great seaside location close to the Pier and Downtown area.

Summary/Overall view +++
Coming back to Eastbourne in the future I will look for vacancies at this hotel first. I would recommend Riviera hotel for anyone looking for a clean budget hotel.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Very clean throughout, good location on the seafront by the pier.
Lovely full English breakfast set us up for the day. Friendly service.
We picked the right weekend, the weather was perfect, clear sunny and warm.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Located at the eastern edge of Eastbourne, but not too far from centre of things.
The receptionist (Annya) was extremely helpful in arranging £1 all-day parking across the road from the hotel which saved us finding a municipal parking with sky high rates. We had asked for a sea-view room and we were not disappointed, The room was first class although the sound proofing was not 100%. We only ate in the restaurant one evening and the food was quite good value and the portions were large ! All in all, a good hotel and good value for money, Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenDGedig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.5 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#22 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Court Hotel
Savoy Court Hotel
#35 of 42 in Eastbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.5 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#10 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marine Parade Hotel
Marine Parade Hotel
#34 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
0.6 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastbourne Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastbourne Riviera Hotel

Property: Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
Address: 26 Marine Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eastbourne Riviera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel is a modern 37 bedroom hotel on Eastbourne's elegant seafront. The hotel is well known for its international cuisine, stylish design & friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotel.de, LateRooms, Agoda, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Eastbourne Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing