We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favourite hotel in Eastbourne.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Crystal Restaurant

Crystal Restaurant
Ranked #115 of 395 Restaurants in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $36
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Crystal Restaurant at the Hydro Hotel offers breakfast, lunch and dinner everyday. Featuring traditional British and French style cuisine with a contemporary twist. With a varied wine list and at dinner, a separate full vegetarian menu. Friendly and professional staff provide excellent service. Special diets can be catered for. Pre-booking is recommended for Crystal restaurant only. For more casual fare at lunchtime, guests can look at the seaview Conservatory Restaurant, offering lighter lounge style selections.
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our favourite hotel in Eastbourne.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

The atmosphere at this special hotel is very special. The food is the very best in any hotel we have used wherever we may be staying. It's a good, honest and very caring hotel. We use it whenever we have friends to stay. We can rely on the Hydro for giving us value for money and for taking good care of us and our needs.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank trishaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    27
    21
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Olde world feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We've had lunch several times in the Conservatory restaurant. The setting and outlook are second to none. Menu gives good choices, service can be a bit on the slow side, but eating out doesn't have to be a marathon! This hotel attracts an older clientele and has the feel of days gone by . There are lots of nooks and crannies with lovely comfy chairs to hide in and enjoy coffee and cake.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
204 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Well presented and well cooked lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Lunch in the main dining room is popular since you will generally be served a good two or three course lunch at an affordable price. The wine list is adequate and reasonably priced. The menu choice is good and the staff attentive and friendly. Good place to enjoy lunch with family or friends.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hfba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Can't do the basics right .”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

After two visits in two months , I have been left very disappointed twice . I understand that catering on a large scale is not an easy task but it is there job . The chef can't seem to roast potatoes which is so basic it almost seems trivial but at £ 40 a head and £20 you expect the basics to be close to right , all the veg was poor and I know weake allowances for hotel food but this needs improvement , won't be returning any time soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Slbtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great place for a dancing holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Great Edwardian Hotel that has reatined its charm and olde world feel but with great attentive staff and good food

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank malc_hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Crystal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing