We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get what you pay for”
Review of Fairlands Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fairlands Hotel
Ranked #59 of 75 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 16, 2013

yes the hotel was tired and dated,but it was clean. The food was home made and hot and tasty, with two mains to choose from and the breakfast was lovely. the staff went out of their way to please, and even gathered to wave goodbye to us. You get what you pay for and it was good value for what we payed.

Room Tip: If you dont like your room ask to be changed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 333Janech333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 264 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed here 7th -8th Sept with my Grandson Charlie. We travelled with Travelstyle and everyone was made to feel welcome by the owners. Staff are very attentive and aim to please. Our room was clean, comfortable and had a lovely shower. Charlie loved it here and it was right over the road from the beach, not far from the pier. We had a great night sleep in a comfy bed. The food was good, and we would be very happy to stay here again. Thanks everyone for making us feel special.

Room Tip: Room 9 is on the 2nd floor, accessable by lift or stairs. It overlooks other hotels across the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I first visited this hotel 7 years ago with my father and mother. Well although my mother has since died, my father and I have returned on 2 occasions this year. We first visited in March 2013 and were very impressed by the standard and service. We decided to pay a return visit in September at a busy time of year, wandering if the same high level of service would be provided, we were not disappointed.It is noticable that all ages visit this small but very friendly hotel and all needs are catered for, with nothing being too much trouble for Mr Abbey (the owner) and his fabulous staff. I have visited many hotels, both large and small but never have I noticed the whole team to be so pleasant, courteous and efficient, this includes the management, chef and all the waitresses. Mr Abbey and his wife make all the guests feel special. To summarise, this is a value for money, convenient hotel, ideally situated close to the seafront with theatres very close by. However, most nights there is entertainment provided in the hotel. This is a great place to relax, recharge the batteries and feel at home.

Room Tip: This hotel is located in a very quiet spot, unlike some of the larger and more expensive hotels clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here over night on a coach weekend break. A nice little seaside hotel. Staff were fantastic. Very helpful, nothing too much trouble. Food was great. Just over road to beach.
The only downside was the water pressure in the shower, which was non existent up on 3rd floor. Was definitely one of the best seaside hotels we have been to.

Room Tip: Top floor has no water pressure when other rooms using at same time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jf40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and I had a very happy stay at the fairlands a pleasant week .The staff and the owner made our stay feel special and attended to all our needs. The food was very good and had that home cooked taste, not at all like a mass-produced kitchen. There were two nights entertainment and a pleasing little bar and not expensive at all. We would stay there again if we went to Eastbourne.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Had a very nice weeks stay at the fairlands with my grandmother, mother, sister and my two children. Cannot fault this hotel on anything, Very friendly owners and staff nothing was too much trouble for them, spotless rooms, lovely food, good entertainment and my children were made very welcome. Would deffinetly come back for another Holiday!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahCc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed from fri to sunday went with my mum and 5yr old daughter. The staff were lovely made us all feel very welcome, very relaxed atmosphere my daughter really enjoyed her stay running up and down from our room to the sitting room as and when she wanted. Hotel just across road from beach and only five minute walk to town, nice row of smaller shops just two mins round corner for visitors who maybe can't walk so far. Overall pleasant stay. The hotel is clean although dated but reading through reviews for even some of the bigger well known ones in the area they are all like this, big older buildings that are expensive to update. The service from proprieters and staff far out weighed any negatives on the decor, my daughter was made to feel very special and was the centre of attention.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mjw1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,623 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,877 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#32 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,424 reviews
0.8 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,048 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlands Hotel

Address: 15-17 Lascelles Terrace, Eastbourne BN21 4BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Fairlands Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing