We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant service but blighted by the noisy guests upstairs!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coast Guest Accommodation
Ranked #26 of 77 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Brilliant service but blighted by the noisy guests upstairs!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Further to the other excellent reviews on this site I must agree that Mario and Vivien are excellent hosts - I enquired in my booking whether we'd be able to check in early and that wasn't a problem at all. We received a very warm welcome with promise of a pot of tea plus home-made cake and I must say that it's that level of attention to detail which really sets it apart from other B&Bs. The couple's local knowledge was also fantastic and the suggestions of places to visit and eat in were amazing.

The room itself, Anchor, was a twin room charmingly decorated in a mauve colourway with nautical accessories. The shower room was spacious and well fitted and everything was spotlessly clean.

One of the issues we did suffer from was noise in the late evening/early hours of the morning. There was a room located above us on the second floor of this Victorian/Edwardian building and the occupants were very stompy indeed. I'm not sure whether this was due to the fabric of the property or that they were wearing concrete footwear, but it I must confess that it wasn't pleasant. We retired to bed about 11:30 and the couple(?) above arrived back at about 11:45 and the gentleman talked loudly until about 12:45 - I'd put in my ear plugs way before that, but my husband heard it all. Maybe Mario and Vivien could provide a written sentence or two asking guests to keep the noise down after midnight as part of their welcome manual? I agree that it shouldn't be necessary, but clearly it is.

The breakfast the next morning was as good as we'd expected. The food was truly scrumptious and the waitress was efficient, jolly and really friendly. Everything was cooked to perfection by Mario who's a professional chef and it really showed! I was a greedy so and so and had seconds of toast and coffee, which was readily forthcoming. We sat in the conservatory at the front of the property which overlooked the sea and reveled in it! Hurrah for the south coast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemonadedrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VMC1028, Owner at Coast Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and sorry for the quality of sleep due to the noise of the other guest. I can only think it was a single young man who was visiting his grandfather in hospital and he was on the phone and walking aound the room.We will certainly try and su ggest something in our literature about considering other guests .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
125
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2013

As enjoyable as last time - lovely to be remembered by our hosts! Back to our spotless room! Little details ensure a relaxed, enjoyable stay. We were met with tea + cake; the excellent breakfast fresh fruit salad was again perfect. I managed one cooked breakfast which came with the egg decorated with freshly picked herbs. More toast + coffee were always offered. Mario + Vivien were always quietly attentive; have a good knowledge of the area and 'What's On.' A few steps to the sea, a short walk to The Pier. There was plenty of outside seating in the little courtyard; carefully tended plants around, though we didn't have the time to enjoy it! We just felt relaxed, part of the family on this second visit and hope to be back next year for our Folk Festival. Many thanks to them for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VMC1028, Owner at Coast Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments , it was great to see you again and glad you enjoyed the festival and staying with us. Looking forward to the festival next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Coast in the "Castle suite" We have 3 girls, 15, 11 years old and a 3 month old baby. The twin room was perfect for the older girls as they had their own TV and DVD player and it had lots of lovely girly nick-nacks which they loved the favourite being the love heart mirrors. The beds were really comfortable and we all slept very well including the baby, we were provided with a cot complete with a mobile. The rooms were very clean and had everything we needed. Breakfast was delicious and on the 2nd morning (we only planned to stay one night but extended as we felt so at home) Vivian suggested a pancake instead of the full English breakfast for our middle daughter which she really appreciated. Nothing was too much trouble for Mario and Vivian, they even spoke to us in Swahili :-) We hope to be able to come back again in the summer and enjoy the beach a little more although the sun did come out for us enough so we could enjoy the view from the Conservatory. Thank you very much for looking after us and making us feel at home in your guest house. Asante sana.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VMC1028, Owner at Coast Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Aasate Sana Bwana ,it was a pleasure meeting you and your lovely family and will try and get you better weather next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Coast demonstrates how a first class B&B has the edge over a far more expensive hotel. The service we received from Mario and Vivian was faultless: a genuinely warm welcome, help with dinner arrangements and no problems at all with our need for an outrageously early breakfast. Cleanliness, comfort and real personal warmth - what a bargain!

Room Tip: Excellent sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilberts062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VMC1028, Owner at Coast Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your great comments ,lovely to meet you and hope the marathon went well ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Two friends and I arrived to a very warm welcome from Mario and Vivian, we were given tea and lovely Italian cake which was the best cake I had ever tried! Breakfast was arranged for a time to suit us with a wonderful selection of cereal, fruit or a full English. The Yacht room was beautifully decorated, super comfortable with stunning sea views. All in all nothing was too much trouble for Mario & Vivian who went out of their way to make our stay truly memorable. I would love to come back again maybe when the weather is a little warmer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenwOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VMC1028, Owner at Coast Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we enjoyed having you to stay and will try and order better weather for you for another time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Our first visit to Eastbourne and we stayed for the weekend. Coast is ideally situated on the seafront and was easy to find. The bedroom and en-suite were both beautifully decorated and the bed was really comfortable. There’s also a nice conservatory on the front overlooking the promenade. Breakfast was absolutely first class – a delicious fruit salad followed by an equally tasty full-english. Mario and Viv were super hosts and really made us feel at home. They were really helpful in offering tips on where to visit and eat out. We look forward to our next visit to Eastbourne and Coast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkN58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VMC1028, Owner at Coast Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind review we enjoyed having you to stay and look forward to seeing you next time round
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We arrived to be warmly greeted by Mario and Vivien who gave us a much needed cup of tea and lovely cake, we had booked 3 Double rooms all with sea views and were impressed with the standard, decour and cleanliness and comfort of the rooms.
We had high winds and snow showers but our hosts were kind and helpfull and certainly made our stay a pleasure, the breakfasts were very good with a varity to choose from.
We ate out at very good restaurants recommended by Mario and Viviene. Eastbourne has a lot to offer we had some very interesting walks and places to visit and would definately recommend the Coast as a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: We had all sea view rooms beautifully decorated and were nice and quiet on the 2 floors we stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneP872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VMC1028, Owner at Coast Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments and enjoyed having you to stay and will try to order better weather another time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.0 mi away
The Langtons Guesthouse
The Langtons Guesthouse
#9 of 77 in Eastbourne
553 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beamsley Lodge
Beamsley Lodge
#27 of 77 in Eastbourne
103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Devonia
Devonia
#48 of 77 in Eastbourne
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bay Lodge Guest House
Bay Lodge Guest House
#25 of 77 in Eastbourne
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bassets House
Bassets House
#11 of 77 in Eastbourne
209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Front Guest House
Beach Front Guest House
#1 of 77 in Eastbourne
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Guest Accommodation

Property: Coast Guest Accommodation
Address: 84 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Coast Guest Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a Visit Britain 4 Star rated property, Coast Guest House is a lovely, elegant and comfortable place to stay. Coast is situated on the seafront directly opposite the beach and promenade, with a free private car park and wi-fi internet access. It is a short walk along the sea front to the pier and town centre with its many varied restaurants, shops and theatres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Coast Guest Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing