We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay and hosts!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #19 of 78 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent stay and hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We only stayed a night, but I would have loved to stay more. Tea on arrival, excellent attention at breakfast, lovely rooms, beautiful view. Room was large and bathroom was huge, with warming towel rack. Coffee and tea available in the room as well with plenty of space. Comfortable beds and pillows. We had room 10 that overlooked the channel and the pier. Within 10 mins walking to many restuarants.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dreams5022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    32
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
145
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
east kilbride
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

I have stayed at The Royal four times now over the last three years and cannot describe how great this place is. It's a welcoming and cosy little guesthouse with brilliant personal service offered by the owners who are unfailingly friendly.

Room 6 is my favourite (single on the second floor with glorious views out to sea, specially recommended for stunning sunrises) but have also stayed in room 2 and room 4. What keeps me coming back is the super special breakfasts with freshly squeezed juices and the immaculate cleanliness of the establishment.

Located more or less on the beach (just cross the road) and a couple of minutes walk to town centre, I cannot find better in Eastbourne and have tried quite a few in the past, believe me. Eddy will recommend good restaurants and give directions to local beauty spots and walks.

There is free WiFi and a guest parking voucher for £1 covers almost 24 hours, but the fresh homemade breakfasts and old-fashioned individual service are what keep me coming back. Not the cheapest in Eastbourne but certainly the best, the cleanest and most relaxing for me.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a spectacular sea view and you can hear the lapping of the waves at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joolswilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

This accommodation with a pompous name is certainly not a hotel as its name claims and is definitely not a 4 stars hotel, for the following reasons:

- the entrance door of this 'hotel' is locked at 21:30h and one has to use a code number to access the building after that time (we were advised about this when we arrived at the 'hotel');

- no staff available in the reception during the night;

- no fridge in the room;

- no ironing facilities;

- no room service available;

- the photos of the rooms on the website are misleading regarding the size: the double room that we had (room 10) was very small, with a very narrow space between the end of the bed and the table (only for one person could walk sideways from one side of the room to the other side);

- no wardrobe but a space in the wall with one shelf and hangers;

- the carpet at the entrance of the 'hotel' and on the ground floor was full of dog hair ( we were aware that pets are allowed but we never saw the carpet clean or with less dog hair during our stay of 2 days and 2 nights here);

- parking space on the street in front of the hotel or on the nearby streets was not available neither on our arrival nor later on (information on the website led us to believe that parking will not be a problem);

- staff was not very helpful giving advice about parking in close vicinity and, in general, staff was not welcoming;

- towels that once were white had a greyish colour;

- clean room but not sparkling for a 4 stars hotel

- nice view of the sea but a very small window;

- this place gave us an overall feeling of a cheap and dated accommodation;

- not worth the money that we paid ( £180.00) for ' a double bed and a flat TV' for two nights.

Room Tip: There are no Swimming pool and Fitness centre at this accommodation (in case you expect these at a 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Doina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Royal_Eastbourne, Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We are so sorry that you found your stay with us disappointing. We can’t help wondering however if your expectations weren’t just a tad unrealistic.

For some reason you were under the illusion that you had booked a 4 star luxury seafront hotel, which provided personal valet parking, 24 hour room service, 24 hour reception, staff available throughout the night, a swimming pool, a fitness centre, fridges in each room, etc. And all on your modest budget of £45 per person per night, including breakfast?

We also can’t help wondering why you didn’t read our website (through which you booked) as it contains a clear description of all our facilities, and none of the services you ‘expected’ appear on our site. We do have difficulty imagining where your delusions of hotel grandeur originated.
Puzzling too is why you failed to mention your disappointment during your stay, and indeed why, when asked on check out if everything had been to your satisfaction, you told us that you’d had a very pleasant stay.

We do confess to finding all this rather unfair of you. Firstly not reading details of our accommodation before you booked, secondly giving us the impression that you were perfectly happy with your stay, and thirdly your decision to write the worst review we have ever received. We’ll leave others to decide how justified your comments are by comparing them to our other reviews.

We can only apologise that you find the name of our establishment pompous. That you judged your sea view window too small. That you found our rooms clean but not sparkling enough for you. That a parking space on the seafront was not immediately available for you on arrival. That staff were not welcoming.

This last may have something to do with the fact that you arrived brandishing your car keys and demanding that we park your car for you. This was a first for us, so please forgive us for being a little perplexed. We do feel that we bent over backwards to make you feel welcome, including carrying your luggage, offering you complimentary tea/coffee on arrival, and recommending good local restaurants in which to dine. During your stay we did regularly enquire if you were enjoying your time with us.

To address your other points: we are sorry that you saw some dog hairs in a public area. We are proud to be dog friendly and adore our canine guests. Occasionally it can happen that a resident dog will shed hairs. We do vacuum our public areas at least twice a day and can only apologise that some hairs were missed. This, of course, is inexcusable. We are sorry that you believe our bathroom towels to be grey, and will pass on your comment to our professional launderers, who we’re sure will be both surprised and embarrassed. We do provide ironing facilities, you never requested them. Regarding your expectation of a fridge in the bedroom and a swimming pool, we cannot comment except to say that we are eco-friendly and there is a very large swimming area (The English Channel) freely available just a few yards from our property.

As for our front door being ‘locked’ in the evenings, all guests have 24 hour access, so we are a little unsure as to why this would have been an issue.

We are astonished and amazed by your claim that you had to walk sideways in your room. Room 10 is very popular and we have many regular guests who choose this room. No one has ever complained of it being too small, nor of having to walk sideways in it. Again, we apologise for the inconvenience and hope that you are not suffering any lasting effects. We did our very best to make your stay a pleasant one and are dismayed that we didn’t meet your expectations on this occasion.

Thank you for joining TripAdvisor. You may notice that our listing is registered under the Bed & Breakfast section? We have received a Certificate of Excellence Award from TripAdvisor for consitent 5 star feedback received from our many satisfied guests, however we do look forward to reading your future reviews, particularly those of all the sparkling four star luxury hotels with 24 hour facilities and swimming pools which are available for £45 per night including breakfast. We very much hope that your disappointment will not be repeated elsewhere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

A very nice small hotel with very nice people
I found the rooms a little small for me and a bit cramped in our twin room felt a little like a caravan holiday from the 60's
Having said that the rooms are spotless in cleanliness and the friendly welcome and hospitallity cannot be faulted
I am not a vegetarian so went out for breakfast but I am told the breads and jams etc are super
The only reason I have made the comments which are in no way meant to be harmful is that I did not read the web site properly
This Hotel will suit you if you have a dog ,enjoy top of range hospitality and can live without sausage and bacon on holiday
My thanks to the owners as they are super

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Harrygd2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I had a very pleasant stay here and was impressed by the décor and cleanliness of the room. The continental breakfast was good. The hospitality was excellent; I was alone and was made to feel very comfortable.

Room Tip: A sea view does also mean road view, though I personally was not troubled by the noise level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scabious60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

What a fine exceptionally clean hotel to stay in!
we had a sea view room and a huge on suite bathroom.To be met by the owner who made
us a tray of tea and biscuits shows the service given at the Royal.
Breakfast great and even cheap parking !
If you want a quite laid back hotel go to the Royal

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 888bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here on a recommendation from a friend and it was fantastic. Our rooms were exceptionally clean, quiet, and bright. The breakfast was soooooo substantial and the hotel owner was just the most nicest person going (yes I'm aware it's his business and he's supposed to be this way), but we felt he was genuine towards us and that he just couldn’t do enough for us during our stay. We will certainly stay here again and we have told all of our friends with dogs that this fantastic place is a real good place to stay in.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aleisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN York House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#21 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
0.5 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,647 reviews
0.4 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#10 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: 8-9 Marine Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury seafront guest accommodation overlooking the beach, with spectacular direct sea views.Centrally located, AA 4-star rated, one minute's walk from Eastbourne's historic Victorian Pier and the only accommodation in Eastbourne with an eco-friendly Green Tourism Gold Award. Famed for its cleanliness, The Royal offers high quality personal service and accommodation to tourists and business travellers. Freshly squeezed juices with homemade breads and preserves, real coffees and a selection of teas welcome you to each sunny morning. Vegetarian & vegan breakfasts a speciality. Pets stay free. Discounts for long stays. Peaceful and relaxing, with no young children. Free WiFi, park all day for just £1. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing