We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wheelchair users think carefully” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Burlington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay Burlington Hotel
Ranked #16 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
northampton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wheelchair users think carefully”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

I took a group to this hotel in November, one in a wheelchair, although the hotel was aware we ended up on the 4th floor , narrow corridors, tiny lifts with too many people requiring them.one area on 1st was more like a building site, the meal service was slow due to not enough staff on duty, the one saving grace the entertainment was excellent

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank broadbeanNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you broadbean Northampton. Sorry to read you had difficulties at the hotel. Nearly every week we will have at least one person who uses a wheelchair stay with us and every effort is made to ensure ease of use around the hotel. The hotels corridors are more than adequate to accommodate a wheelchair and we have never had this comment made before. Without further investigation into the room requests there must have been a reason a fourth floor room was allocated as in nearly all cases wheelchair uses are allocated rooms on the first and second floors. We were having bedrooms decorated during the stay, but as stated you were the fourth floor and most of the work was carried out on the lower floors so this should not have caused any problems. The hotel has a busy 300 capacity dining room and as stated in many previous reviews our staff do a sterling job accommodating this high volume. I am sorry if you felt the service not speedy enough as we do try to promote a timey relaxed service during meal times.
Thank you once again for taking time to leave the review, however assurance is offered to all wheelchair uses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    295
    190
    56
    44
See reviews for
134
394
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
March, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

had a good time, room comfortable, strong smell of paint as several rooms were being refurbished. meals were plentiful and acceptable for the price paid.
Would visit again.
Have now read the reports on here regarding Norovirus, we experienced nothing of the sort. we were there from November 25th until November 29th, in our experience sanitisors were plainly visible on entry to the hotel and also in the toilets we used. we were a party of 8 adults 6 of whom are retired, we had no problems at all.
All in All a reasonable hotel, staff helpful and polite, car park adjacent at the rear and easily reached, our only complaint is the entertainment area is a poor shape and in parts it is difficult to see and hear performers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardpatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you richardpatricia for your very informative review. Good to read you enjoyed your stay. Yes the ball room is a little odd, the visibility of the entertainment is something we are looking into for 2014, so watch this space.
Thanks once again for posting a review online.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

I felt I had to write a positive review after reading all the negative reviews. I visit the Burlington hotel four times a year with my dad, aunt and friend and meet up with other people who we have come to know, we are returning in February and have two other holidays booked . All the staff are great and provide a great service nothing is ever to much trouble. The food is good, the entertainment great, rooms are comfortable too. Its on the seafront in a perfect location. What more could you want ? Don't be put off by other people's reviews people are always quick to point out the negatives, but not to quick to complement. We are all looking forward to our next trip. Keep up the good work !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 612jovibabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you so much 612jovibabe for your very kind words . A warm welcome awaits you and the family in February.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

We went on the Tinsel & Turkey weekend with a party of 90 people from Bristol. We were very disappointed with the room which needed updating and smelt of TCP...!!
Over the weekend approximately half of our party suffered from stomach cramps, with very bad sickness & diarrhea. It was only later on Saturday evening that hand sanitiser dispensers appeared in the toilets and at the restaurant entrance..!!
Talking to other guests, it then became obvious that the hotel was infected with a type of NOROVIRUS, although the staff had obviously been told to KEEP QUIET...!!! The heating in the Hotel in all areas was far too warm which only helped to fuel/spread the virus.
We have since discovered that the hotel had been infected with the NOROVIRUS since the beginning of December and should therefore have been CLOSED to all future guests.
Obviously profits were put first before customers health...??
On returning to Bristol I had a further two days off work to recover from the illness that spoilt our weekend away.
The party organiser has contacted the hotel and reported the incident to the local Environmental Health Department. Watch this space...!!
In the meantime anyone with a booking at this hotel or considering a visit should THINK AGAIN..!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you Johnathon C

I am sorry that your recent stay with us was affected by illness.

As you may be aware from media reports, there is currently a national increase in the incidence of a gastrointestinal illness caused by Norovirus, commonly referred to as the “Winter vomiting bug”.
Norovirus is the most common cause of infectious diarrhoea and vomiting in the UK. The infection is much more common in the winter months, but it can occur at other times of the year.
Norovirus is very widespread, second only to the common cold in the number of cases reported. Up to 1 million people in the UK are thought to be affected by Norovirus every year.

Even though the initial symptoms of sickness and diarrhoea can be quite severe, fortunately most people recover rapidly, generally within 24-48 hours.

Our hotel has comprehensive cleaning procedures that have been agreed with our local health services to deal with any outbreaks should they occur, but we do rely on the assistance of guests to ensure that these controls are fully effective. As the virus is spread easily from person to person, one of the simplest preventative measures everybody can take is to ensure that hands are washed frequently and thoroughly for at least 20 seconds.

Unfortunately it only takes one person infected with the virus to spread the disease, which is why outbreaks are especially common in hospitals, nursing homes and, as in our case, hotels.

We hope that your friends made a full recovery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eastbourne hotels

Mytchett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

I have not got enough fingers on my hand twice over to say how many times we have been to the hotel.
We are going again in January 2014 and we will book again when we get there for later in the year.
I can't understand how people can moan as we have had such a nice time there and the staff have been great every time we have been there and the food we find is great. Ok the price of drinks may be high but you are going to get that no matter where you go and if you looking for cheap drinks no.but I can't see how people can moan about the service as we found it was excellent.the rooms were being upgraded and the outside at the front was being painted so this time the view was not as good as in the past.
Nothing will stop us from going there in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st floor or 2nd near to the lifts or stairs Seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roye123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you so much roye 123. for the fantastic review . Now you have run out of fingers to count on, start on your toe!!!!s there is at least another 10 stays, and you would be very welcome on each return.
Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfu, Greece
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed for the four day festive break Turkey and tinsel. Room was ok with sea views and cleaned very well each day. The food was poor for a hotel of this standard and the waitress moody at best. We both became ill after the third day with the sickness bug.We later found out it had been around the weeks before why i ask did they not stop people comming and clean the place, many guests were in the same boat all ill, what a start to christmas.
The hotel itself needs knocking down and rebuilding its very dated now / would not stay again.

Room Tip: the front sea view rooms have been refurbished but cost more
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harris905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you Hams 905

I am sorry that your recent stay with us was affected by illness.

As you may be aware from media reports, there is currently a national increase in the incidence of a gastrointestinal illness caused by Norovirus, commonly referred to as the “Winter vomiting bug”.
Norovirus is the most common cause of infectious diarrhoea and vomiting in the UK. The infection is much more common in the winter months, but it can occur at other times of the year.
Norovirus is very widespread, second only to the common cold in the number of cases reported. Up to 1 million people in the UK are thought to be affected by Norovirus every year.

Even though the initial symptoms of sickness and diarrhoea can be quite severe, fortunately most people recover rapidly, generally within 24-48 hours.

Our hotel has comprehensive cleaning procedures that have been agreed with our local health services to deal with any outbreaks should they occur, but we do rely on the assistance of guests to ensure that these controls are fully effective. As the virus is spread easily from person to person, one of the simplest preventative measures everybody can take is to ensure that hands are washed frequently and thoroughly for at least 20 seconds.

Unfortunately it only takes one person infected with the virus to spread the disease, which is why outbreaks are especially common in hospitals, nursing homes and, as in our case, hotels.

We hope that you made a fast and full recovery.

The comments about the waitress will be looked into and I am sorry to read you feel the hotel should be knocked down. Much investment has and is being made t our lovely grand old lady of a the hotel, with the exterior being refurbished Nov 2013, new bedrooms 2013 and into 2014. That said a very sincere thank you for posting your review on line.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed at the Burlington Hotel in Eastbourne with a friend between 13-16 December for a Turkey and Tinsle weekend.

All seemed fine on arrival, the room was good value (£125 with a sea view) and although the woodwork around the windows was rotting away and the side panel of the bath was cracked, the room itself appeared clean and well maintained.

The food was decent, and our waiter, Dan, was friendly and efficient, a credit to the hotel.

The festive afternoon tea on Saturday was somewhat of a let down – more a free cup of tea or coffee with a slice of fruit cake. The Christmas meal on Saturday afternoon was fine, but there was a distinct lack of a festive atmosphere.

The first hint that there was trouble ahead was on Sunday morning, when we overheard another guest asking the maid for disinfectant for the floor.

Sunday evening, just before dinner, my friend said she felt like she was about to be sick and within a couple of minutes was. We decided it must have been a bit of a dodgy stomach that caused it and headed down for something light to eat.

This is when we had the next hint that something was up – there was hand sanitiser on the wall as we walked into the dining area, with a waiter standing guard making sure everyone used it.

We asked our waiter if there was a bug going around and he reluctantly admitted that there was, but that they were trying to contain it.

We left the dining area within a few minutes of this but on the way back my friend started to feel ill again and asked the receptionist where the nearest toilet was as she was about to be sick. Unfortunately, the receptionist didn’t respond quite quickly enough and my friend threw up in the reception lobby. The receptionist only then provided a bin for her to continue to throw up in.

We went back to our room and reception rang and asked if she was alright and said they would send some water up. However, this didn’t arrive so I went out to get some supplies of water, Lucozade and cleaning materials.

As I was leaving the hotel, a number of people were gathered downstairs, talking about what had happened and it became clear that this was not an isolated incident. Everybody I spoke to knew someone who had been struck down with Norovirus and it was clearly going through the hotel like wildfire.

My friend was very ill with D & V, chills and stomach cramps throughout the night. We left as planned on Monday morning. By Monday evening, I too came down with it and it has taken us both days to recover. I can think of many ways I would rather lose 8lbs overnight and dread to think how more vulnerable people would have been affected.

After reading reviews from other people who also had the misfortune to stay at the Burlington that weekend, I’m extremely annoyed that no-one at the hotel alerted us to what was going on, either before or after arrival. Had my friend been informed that Norovirus was going around, she would have stayed in her room and not embarrassed herself, or spread the infection further.

I feel the hotel decided to put profit first, hush up the situation and consequently no-one was told what was going on or how to deal with it. Instead, people were allowed to unknowingly walk into the situation, having to work out for themselves what was wrong – leading to many more people becoming needlessly infected when they could have just stayed away.

Not impressed – I won’t ever be back.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank xkm1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear........

I am sorry that your recent stay with us was affected by illness.

As you may be aware from media reports, there is currently a national increase in the incidence of a gastrointestinal illness caused by Norovirus, commonly referred to as the “Winter vomiting bug”.
Norovirus is the most common cause of infectious diarrhoea and vomiting in the UK. The infection is much more common in the winter months, but it can occur at other times of the year.
Norovirus is very widespread, second only to the common cold in the number of cases reported. Up to 1 million people in the UK are thought to be affected by Norovirus every year.

Even though the initial symptoms of sickness and diarrhoea can be quite severe, fortunately most people recover rapidly, generally within 24-48 hours.

Our hotel has comprehensive cleaning procedures that have been agreed with our local health services to deal with any outbreaks should they occur, but we do rely on the assistance of guests to ensure that these controls are fully effective. As the virus is spread easily from person to person, one of the simplest preventative measures everybody can take is to ensure that hands are washed frequently and thoroughly for at least 20 seconds.

Unfortunately it only takes one person infected with the virus to spread the disease, which is why outbreaks are especially common in hospitals, nursing homes and, as in our case, hotels.

We hope that your friend made a fast and full recovery.

The point about hand sanitiser appearing, please see the review made by richardpatrica.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the food and your lovely waiter Daniel, who will be delighted you have mentioned him.
Thank you once again for taking the time to post on line.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.4 mi away
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
#31 of 42 in Eastbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#22 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,672 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#8 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Burlington Hotel

Property: Bay Burlington Hotel
Address: 26-34 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Burlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting Grade 2 listing status, The Bay Burlington Hotel is a grand and impressive hotel, ideally situated on Eastbourne’s picturesque seafront. The hotel overlooks the spectacular Carpet Gardens and Victorian pier and is within comfortable walking distance of the town’s wide variety of shops and local theatres as well as the seafront. One of our largest hotels, the Burlington has 159 bedrooms including many with spectacular sea views and the opportunity to upgrade to a Superior or Premier room. The restaurant has been recently refurbished and there is also a well appointed bar and coffee lounge serving refreshments throughout the day. Located at the base of the beautiful South Downs, Eastbourne has enough to keep the most enthusiastic visitor busy with abundant history, numerous scenic castles and lots of places of interest to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Bay Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing