We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant and relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Burlington Hotel
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Lancashire UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Pleasant and relaxing stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed on a 3 night’s bed breakfast and evening meal break from 19/07/2013 to 22/7/2013 at the Burlington in Eastbourne which is one of two hotels in Eastbourne owned and run by the Shearings Holiday group, (Bay Hotels and Coast and Country Hotels). There is a choice of self drive or coach transport and you can choose B+B + evening meal or just B+B. I chose to drive from the north of England to Eastbourne and included a two night stop on the way.

The Burlington boasts over 160 rooms and is a grade 2 listed building, it is a well maintained, smart, and impressive looking, very comfortable hotel situated on the promenade’s Grand Parade just a few meters away from Eastbourne’s fine Pier. If you are fortunate to get a sea view room on the top floor then you will wake up to stunning views. The hotel serves good food in a pleasant environment and the meals are varied and the portions are more than adequate. The staff are always helpful and will try to cater to your dietary requirements, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are comfortable, clean and appear to be well maintained, mine had obviously just been re decorated. When booking I chose an upgrade to a sea view which was a very pleasant airy room overlooking the pier. I have stayed at many of the Shearings Hotels ranging from north Yorkshire to the south coast and all have proved to be good value for money and have always provided a good holiday in a nice hotel without breaking the bank. As in all things some are better than others I can safely say this is certainly up there with the better ones. Shearings cater mainly for the more mature population so their hotels are always relaxing; many of their hotels have entertainment in the evening.
Eastbourne is a popular resort and is well kept with very beautifully laid out carpet garden features along the front next to the beach, I was there several years ago and it has not changed its delightful character even in today’s cutbacks.

Overall the Burlington is a very nice hotel with good staff and is obviously well managed. In my opinion it is good value for money in a great location and I would not hesitate to recommend it, I wish it was nearer to me.

Room Tip: Select a £10 per night sea view upgrade, you will love the views when you wake up in the morning. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrunoLancashireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you BrunoLanashire for a brilliant well balanced review of your recent stay.Great comment regarding the "good food in a pleasant enviroment" I know how much it means to our fantastic staff when they get a mention so the lovely comments will be passed on. Also pleasing to read that the whole experience was considered value for money, as this is our main aim with all our holidays. Good to read the praise given about our lovely town, it is well maintained and a great deal of effort goes into keeping looking this good all year round. Thanks once again for sharing your experiences Im sure other readers will find this review very useful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    300
    192
    57
    44
See reviews for
135
400
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
maldonj
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Have visited the Burlington some six or seven times over the same number of years. Have experienced a slow improvement all round in that time.standards are quite acceptable for the price you pay - the hotel could not be situated better.
My one gripe is on dinner! in my view the quality should be improved so as not to spoil an otherwise enjoyable break.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Telmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you Telmal for posting a review about your recent stay. Good to read you have noticed the improvements being made, with more improvements planned Im sure you will contiue to see our lovely old lady of a building just getting better and better. I have read with interest the comment reagrding the food, sorry to read your expectations were not met on this occasion. We do provide a vaired menu and we try very hard to cater for all tastes and requirments. When catering for nearly three hundred people on a daily basis it can be a little tricky, but as stated in previous responces , if there are any issues regarding food quality, portions etc if reported and we are made aware, every effort will be made by the catering team to deliver. Thanks again for posting the review, all reviews help us develop our holidays and make the necessary improvements and changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here from the 9th to the 12th August 2013. We was a little sceptical when booking for this hotel knowing that it does have a lot of coaches of the older generation.As we both are in our late forties. we did read other reviews about the hotel, yes it does need some T L C in places but this is in progress now.Our first room didn't have a working shower but after speaking to reception staff even though the hotel was fully booked , they where able to move us to a much better room . Maggie our waitress for the stay was lovely always smiling pleasant and polite,can't fault her or the food amazing service! Entertainment sounded ok but we went out each night. Location is ideal right opposite the pier ,great walking all flat ,lovely gardens.All the staff are great nothing is a problem for them .We will go back again !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you so much Michele D. What an amazing comment to make regarding the food and the "amazing" service provide by our wonderful waitress Maggie. All the staff read the reviews so I know she wil be delighted with this, as will the chefs. It is worth keeping in mind and a very good point was made in this review regarding coach clientele. We welcome a varied age group of customers, only last week we had two six month old twins!! Eastbourne is great for those long strolls along the lovely seafront. It is always great to read when a valued customer has enjoyed their stay and is happy to share their experiences.
A warm welcome awaits. Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Hi
Came back from the burlington a couple of weeks ago, there were eight of us in total. Six adults and two children, the youngest being nine, and my lovely dad being the eldest at eighty two. So a huge age range, we knew this hotel mainly caters for the elderly , but the staff always took the time to speak to my two children which I think is lovely. And outside the hotel there's so much to do from putting, to swimming which is a car ride away but well worth going to. The hotel itself dose need a little tlc, we all had standard rooms, I shared with my daughter as no family rooms for four. We were lucky to have a large older style room, whilst I must say my husband and son also rest of my family did have smaller rooms, my dad did find it awkward getting in and out of the bathroom as so narrow. Hopefully the hotel will eventually update all rooms, this would then put this hotel in a different league. Now for the food I have to say I was surprised how good it was , lots of choice and good portion sizes, and im quite fussy. Also I must mention are lovely waitress maria, so kind and friendly, the staff work so hard. Mustn't forget the bar staff, lovely friendly people a huge pat on the back. We will definitely return, thank you for a lovely stay. Kind regards tracey

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bahamas150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
What a great way to start the day a huge thank you to bahamas 150 for posting a great review.
Love to read that we managed to cater for all age groups.We are having a number of families stay with us at he moment and it is great to see the all generations mix especially on the dance floor!!!. Maria will be thrilled to see her name in the review. Chef will also be delighted to read that the food met all expectations.Another thumbs up for our great team. Thanks once again for going online and leaving a review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Part of a Shearings holiday. Paid for upgrade to Superior room with sea view - very good, lots of space, new bathroom, nice view, modern decor, hairdryer, all very clean. Impressed with check-in - extremely fast and well-organised, same for delivery of cases to room. Bar area comfy lots of seats. Entertainment nearly every night. Lifts a bit slow and busy at times, but then hotel was full. Staff nice, but very busy in dining room, literally rushed off their feet. Food was okay with a choice of menu, some good dishes, some so-so, but good variety, nicely presented on plate. But found dining room cramped and hot - too many tables squeezed in, so forced to share with large groups, so too noisy. But liked flexible times to come down for dinner and breakfast - that helped stagger it a bit. Room was also hot. Hotel location very good opposite pier, and lots of shops around corner so found it all very convenient and enjoyed having the beach and sea right on doorstep. Eastbourne seafront is lovely and long and flat so excellent for strolling. Overall, I liked the hotel's location, room, sea view and food, and thought things were well-organised.

Room Tip: Seems upgrade to Superior room is worth it, as is sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pichis83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you pichis83 for a great review. Yes hotel is very busy and the dining room caters for nearly three hundred customers. Good to read you took advantage of the staggered meal times. Eastbourne is lovely this time of year and the location of the hotel is just fantastic for quick nip to the shops or a nice stroll along the prom. Also good to read the feedback on our superior rooms.
All in all sounds as if a good time was had and a warm welcome awaits your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The room that we were given was in very poor condition and we had pay for up grade and that room was not a lot better. The hotel is in desperate need of modernisation. The food was ok and service could be little better. Mark the DJ tried to do his best, but it was same thing including the songs.

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trevor06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you Trevor 06 for posting a review. Sorry to read your expectations were not fulfilled on this occasion. As previously stated older style bedstock are being addressed on a rolling basis, with more to be done later this year. I was interested to read the comments regarding service.as with nearly all reviews good and not so good our staff always receive great feedback.. All reviws are important to us so thank you once again for taking time out to post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eastbourne hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just spent weekend at Burlington, from the time we arrived until we left we were greeted by cheerful staff, our waitress was excellent, even though the room was at the back of the hotel, it had just been redecorated, beautifully clean, we didn't go to watch tv. We felt the price was great, parking on street with £1.00 voucher, excellent value. A real budget break. Will we go again, you bet. Shirley Coverdale

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shirley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Shirley C thank you for the lovely brief review of your visit. Good to read our refurbished rooms now getting a mention. Can see form the great tag picture definatley not a TV watcher. Great comment about the price and good to read you took advantage of the on raod parking voucher.
Shirley a warm welcome awaits your return. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.4 mi away
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
#30 of 41 in Eastbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#26 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,788 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#9 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Burlington Hotel

Property: Bay Burlington Hotel
Address: Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3YN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Burlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting Grade 2 listing status, The Bay Burlington Hotel is a grand and impressive hotel, ideally situated on Eastbourne’s picturesque seafront. The hotel overlooks the spectacular Carpet Gardens and Victorian pier and is within comfortable walking distance of the town’s wide variety of shops and local theatres as well as the seafront. One of our largest hotels, the Burlington has 159 bedrooms including many with spectacular sea views and the opportunity to upgrade to a Superior or Premier room. The restaurant has been recently refurbished and there is also a well appointed bar and coffee lounge serving refreshments throughout the day. Located at the base of the beautiful South Downs, Eastbourne has enough to keep the most enthusiastic visitor busy with abundant history, numerous scenic castles and lots of places of interest to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Bay Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing