We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Burlington Hotel
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“weekend break”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We went to this hotel for the first time just for a short break. We were glad of pre-bookable car parking which we found very handy. This is a very large hotel right on the seafront. We had a room overlooking the sea which was nice unfortunately only one window stayed open as the sash cord was broken. We overcame this by wedging it open by use of the Bible (praise the Lord). Our room was large, clean and comfortable let down by the creaking floorboards and a very tired bathroom with a cracked hand basin and a non working shower and grotty flooring, a shame really as other areas of the hotel have been upgraded. All the staff were nice and friendly and the food was good. The weather was beautiful whilst we were there which always makes things lovely.

Room Tip: Seaviews are good, we heard some bad reports about single rooms, so check this out when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you Sue D for posting the review. Good to read you enjoyed your stay. The comment regarding the window has now been passed on to to the relevant people. Location is great and its good to read you had good weather!!.I know the team will be glad to read this review.
Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    300
    192
    57
    44
See reviews for
135
400
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
stourbridge, west midlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just back from another value for money trip with Shearings and can,t really fault it!
Lovely hotel on sea front, very comfortable and friendly. Ongoing refurbishment but did not hinder our holiday. Our room was basic and at the back but for the time spent there completely adequate and clean with lots of room and hot water. It's such a big hotel but we felt food was wonderful and compliments to the chef.entertainment was good but plenty of other places bars and restaurants if you wished to venture out.
Brilliantly located for anyone who likes to walk the prom, nice and flat with lots of rest places. Trips were good and nice driver who stopped off in Banbury instead of service station on way back, which was pleasant. Well done Shearings for another good destination.

Room Tip: Upgrade if poss as rooms look fab but standard room excellent value if its just a place to lay your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you Margaret 96 for taking time to post a review. It does sound as if you got the best from your holiday. Great comments regarding the food, entertainment and staff. As stated in previous reviews our location is superb and lends itself to anyone wanting to explore the surrounding areas.
I know our driver will be delighted to read this review, so again thank you for leaving the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We have just returned form a 5 day 4 night coach holiday at the Bay Burlington Hotel. Ted s & ric s reveiws are very similar to our opinion of this Hotel.

Firstly it is only fair to say that the holiday started with the feeder coach picking us up and then transfering us to our holiday coach, it has to be said that all the transport side of the holiday was excellent and we found that our holiday driver was very pleasant, funny, knowledgeable and a superb driver affording us a comfortable safe journey.

On appraoching Eastbourne he asked the passengers if anyone had read the reveiws on Tripadvisor and went on to say that only people that had something to complain about used Tripadvisor and that nobody ever writes anything good, so we should pay no attention to the reveiws that we may have previously read on this Hotel.
This Hotel is a Grade 2 listed building and yes it is slowly being modernised so you may find things that displease you, so please tell us and we will try to help asap. for example the lifts are inadequate we know, your rooms have the old style sash windows not double glazed we know, there might be a litte dust behind your radiator if you lie on the floor and look up at the ceiling and on went his list.
What you all must realise is that all these things cost money to rectify and who do think would have to pay for these jobs?. You people, what do you want for your money? after all look what you have paid for this holiday.

Now alarm bells are begining to ring in my head, when on arrival at the Hotel we were asked to remain seated whilst a representative of the Hotel boarded the coach and welcomed us and again a little warning as to what we could find inside.

Entering the Hotel we found check in to be swift and efficient and soon we were up at our room. My first impression on opening the door was that the room was of a good size but the carpet was well past it's sellby date. It is an extremely faded old carpet from the Wallace Arnold day's. It has the Wallace Arnold logo woven into it. We felt as though we did not want to take our shoes off in this room.
Wallace Arnold merged back in 2005 and the carpet showed it. As the driver had quite rightly stated there are water stains on the wall paper in two places where there had previously had leaks which have now dried out leaving brown marks on the walls. The plaster cloving at the ceiling was falling down as was the paint peeling in numerous places on the ceiling and walls. The bathroom washbasin is cracked considerably, the ceiling fan very noisey, it would be when looking up into the fan vent it is like a felt blanket with dust, obviously never been cleaned since installation.
The radiators worked quite efficiently, but you must not look behind them as you will see dust dating back to the Wallace Arnold days. The bathroom wall tiles do not sparkle as tiles do when they have been cleaned, they appeared to have a layer of grime on them as tiles can get when they have not seen hot water and a cloth, it was only around the immediate washbasin area did they look clean. Black mold on the grout and sealant around the bath.
We had a shower over the bath with ample hot water.
The sash window was worn to the extent that you can move it up to 10mm from side to side and approx 3mm front to back, so on windy nights, the window bags so much, it sounds as someone is hitting the frame with a hammer and keeps you awake. This may have been exagerated by the fact that the catch that should of been fitted on top of that window was missing, so the window could not be locked in place and secured. When I touched the top osf the sash window I noticed that my fingers were black filthy dirty and that the windows required cleaning.
Now you could say why did you not request a room change?
When being invited in to see the room next door which was in a very similar condition. Which also the lady told me that she could not lock and secure the door using the yale lock as it was very loose on the screws. (To be fair to the Hotel when reported to reception, it was repaired very quickly) and seeing another room which was in similar condition. Then walking past a room that had been refurbished which I must say was by far in better condition to the rooms that I had seen so far. Even this room had the plaster coving at one point falling down.

So what would be the point in complaining to the Hotel about the condition of the room they obviously know the state of repair. If I am paying a cheap price then I do not raise any expectations, so if a room is dated our is in need of repair I understand. What really do not like is poor standards of housekeeping which this Hotel has. The cleaners need a bomb putting under them. But then whilst the majority of the guests are retired and are from a generation that would not complain when they are being told that if you do, then the cost of repairs will be passed onto you the customers what do you expect. I think this is very unfair to our older generation, that they should be expected to accept low standards and be treated in this way by anyone.

Evening meals, quite adequate with a reasonable choice were advertised as being served between18:30 and 19:30hrs. We found the waiters to be very fast at serving the courses. One evening we sat down to dinner at approx 18:55 and found that some of the waiters were already setting tables for breakfast around us and at approx 19:55 turning off some of the background lighting ready for closing the dining room for the night.
We over heard one waiter telling some other guest's that the dining room opens at 18:30 and that they have to serve all the food clear down and set the dining room for breakfast before 20:30. If it is not completed by that time, the staff have to stay on and finish the job on zero pay. So you can see the pressure that they are under and that they like you to join the crowd on the starting blocks at the dining room door at 18:30 to enable you to have a leisurely meal.
Should you choose to enter the dinning room at say 19:00 you will be served your couses at unbelievable speed to get you out of the dinning room.

We also had background lighting turned off around us at 22:50hrs whilst sat in the lounge having a drink on night by eager staff wishing to clean up for the night.

It has to be said that we found all the staff to be very friendly helpful and eager to please

Dated buildings, need for refurbishment we can accept, but we felt that the general standard of cleaning around the Hotel are below expectations for a company of this size and reputation and was generally disappointed in the Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank terribletuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you Terribletuba for taking the time to leave the review.
It is such a pity this was never brought to the attention of the hotel as every effort would have been made to offer alternative accommodation. That said it was good to read that elements of the holiday were enjoyed and good to see that when things are brought to our attention they are dealt with swiftly and attentively as highlighted in the review.
As stated in many reviews the hotel staff are eager to please and will go out of their way to accommodate any request. We receive many excellent reviews regarding the attentiveness of our staff. The driver of this tour was very disappointed to read this review as a lot of what he actually said was taken out context, a lot of what is said by our drivers is said with a bit of tongue in cheek humour. The points made about the cleanliness are being looked into. Our meal times as are in line with many Bay Hotels and the staff will provide a timely service again we receive excellent reviews regarding our Restaurant staff. Thanks once again for taking the time to post the review every review is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eastbourne hotels

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

It is the second time we have been to the Burlington Hotel Eastbourne we liked it then as well.Arriving on Friday about 6-15 pm we were two hours late because of an accident on the M25 The transfer from coach to room was seamless. Meal time was half way through so dump cases then straight down in to the lounge. Our first meal i selected was chicken which was hot and presented very well. The sweet was a choice of three like the first course and was also well presented. The evening entertainment was bingo followed by a comedian who was average The bar prices was expensive but the bar was easily accessible.The bedroom was quite large with central heating,bathroom was large with bath plus shower Hot water was always available. We were well pleased with both rooms.The central heating was on day/night after leaving home after our bad winter & spring Waking up with every morning feeling warm was very satisfying and went a long way making this break all we wanted. The staff,reception,bar & waiters were all well trained,and polite.That is why we will go back fairly soon.

Room Tip: Our room was on the back of Hotel which suited us. You can book Superior Room or Standard Room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Butch907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you Butch907 for the great review. Its good to read that a customer does appreciate the effort that is put in to making a holiday enjoyable. Yes that coach was two hours late however our customers are treated with the respect and care they deserve, we appreciate it was through no fault of their own that they were late so it is up to us to make sure when our guests do arrive at the hotel the tranistion is a seamless one as pointed out by Butch 907.
Great review regarding the staff and food and and Im glad to read the slow start did not have real impact on the stay.
Thanks once again for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon uk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Very disappointing after the two items mentioned in the title held promise of a pleasant night.

Despite relatively recent decoration, the paper dado was peeling off - or had been peeled and not tidied up... one sash cord was missing off the window and it wouldnt stay open, paint flaking copiously off the window frames inside and out.... although the valve on the radiator, surprisingly, did work, and I was able to turn the heating off.

However, la grand surprise was reserved for the next morning... when two different taps, both relating to the shower, failed to elicit more than a few cold drops from the shower. However, being before 8am, there was only the night porter on duty who was totally unable to do anything about this, so I requested a bill.... and he was totally unable to do anything about that too.

I decided not to risk the inclusive breakfast.

Being in my early 50s, I was pleasantly surprised to be the youngest 'guest' at this hotel by nearly 20 years.... I suppose I should have realised this when I walked in through the rear entrance to see stickers for Shearings coach holidays on the glass window.

Disappointed that this company can accept bookings for rooms in this condition.

Room Tip: Check water to shower and bath on arrival... and before Reception closes, or after 8am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you Ted S for posting the review. The points made about the shower have been addressed. Our hotel is a mostly a holiday hotel, we do however have guests staying on business trips etc. Should a customer need to leave early a bill can be made the previous night to aid this.
Our reception is open 24hours a day and most people will have breakfast before leaving allowing us time to collate bills etc. I am at a loss as to breakfast was not taken, however I do know that the bill was produced shortly after eight oclcok. Thanks once again for leaving the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We spent a long weekend in April at this hotel, having stayed there before we knew the location was great - right opposite the pier and short walk into town, and were familiar with the standard of the rooms and food etc.

We paid the extra for a sea view room - well worth the money as these rooms are also mostly bigger than the standard rooms. Our bedroom was clean, well furnished and spacious with a good layout and a small table and chairs as well as large dressing table and mirror. The bathroom however was tiny, although it did have a bath, washbasin and toilet it was in a poor state, needing modernisation as the plastic washbasin and bath were worn and the floor was very bad (lino with large bubbles and creases). Other residents we spoke to were less impressed with their rooms and some had upgraded or asked to be moved so maybe we have been lucky on our visits. WARNING - parking is now charged at £5.00 per day, and as onstreeet parking is limited in the area this is almost a necessity but worth it to be sure of a secure space during your stay).

The food was very good, choice of three starters, four mains and at least three desserts every day and the standard was very good. It was served quickly and reasonable portions although the vegetables were rather tasteless. They are happy to accomodate special requests so will vary the meals slightly if requested (i.e. salad instead of vegs). Breakfast menu is the same every day but again they will vary on request. Mealtime are very rigid but this is to cater to the many coach parties using the hotel who go out on day trips each day about 10.00 and return about 4.00.

Entertainment has improved since our last visit but is still not up to the standard we have seen at other hotels of the same rating. Bingo every night but this only takes about 20-30 minutes, some nights a quick quiz with small prizes and then the 'cabaret' which varies in theme but little in content !

The pier is right opposite and there is a good bar and cafe on there and a short walk around the corner leads to a street containing many, varied bars, cafes and restaurants as well as a very big shopping centre which includes all the big name stores as well as some interesting smaller independent shops.

All in all a very good value short break destination which is a good base for attractions across a wide area and we will probably return a some point in time.

Room Tip: Pay for a Sea View Room - they seem to be bigger and have been more recently refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LesleyandClive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thak you lesleyandclive for taking the tme to leave such an informative review.
Location yes is amazing and once the weatehr starts to improve the location of our hotel is second to none.
Good to read you enjoyed your stay great comments regarding the accomodation, food and entertainment. The parking has improved since we introduced the surcharge and this system does offer customers piece of mind.
We are just about to begin our bedroom upgrade for 2013 so we will have even more nice rooms for our cistomers to enjoy.
Thanks once again for posting the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at Bay Burlington hotel for 5 days on the 25th of March, had an open mind about staying but have to say was pleasantly surprised. Yes there are parts of the hotel that need a little maintenance but didn't bother us.. We didn't have a sea view room but to be honest that didn't bother us too much. Room was clean and very spacious and a comforable bed with a nice large bathroom what more can you ask.

We had bed breakfast and evening meal and the food and service could not be faulted plus the added bonus of 4 drinks vouchers per person per night.

The only downside we found was the staff on the evening in the small bar area (private area) was quite rude

We used Shearings as our agent and they were marvellous coach driver Kevin was very imformative and certainly made the long journey down very pleasant..

All in all we enjoyed our stay which was nice and relaxing but we were the youngest in the hotel but 25+ years so the evening entertainment was catered for the older generation..

Would like to see the hotel cater more for 40+ couples including the entertainment..

Room Tip: Lifts are very dated and more often than not crammed, so if you have trouble getting up the stairs t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you theghost121 for taking timeout to post the review.
Great commenmts regarding the hotel in general. The comments regarding the entertainmnet are being looked into, however every effort is made to offer a wide selection of entertainment that appeals to the majority of our guests.I was surprised to read the comment regarding the evening coffee bar staff. Please see pervious reviews and the excellent comments the staff receive at this hotel. That said if a customer feels any member of staff is rude in any way this should be brought to the attention of a member of management at the earliest opportunity. I would point out the current staff in this department are relativley new to their post so it may have been more a lack of understanding. As stated in previous reviews the hotel is about to start its 2013 refubishment programme to maintain and improve aspects of the hotel.
Thanks once again for posting the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.4 mi away
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
#30 of 41 in Eastbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#26 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,788 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#9 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Burlington Hotel

Property: Bay Burlington Hotel
Address: Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3YN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Burlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting Grade 2 listing status, The Bay Burlington Hotel is a grand and impressive hotel, ideally situated on Eastbourne’s picturesque seafront. The hotel overlooks the spectacular Carpet Gardens and Victorian pier and is within comfortable walking distance of the town’s wide variety of shops and local theatres as well as the seafront. One of our largest hotels, the Burlington has 159 bedrooms including many with spectacular sea views and the opportunity to upgrade to a Superior or Premier room. The restaurant has been recently refurbished and there is also a well appointed bar and coffee lounge serving refreshments throughout the day. Located at the base of the beautiful South Downs, Eastbourne has enough to keep the most enthusiastic visitor busy with abundant history, numerous scenic castles and lots of places of interest to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing