We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burlington Hotel Eastbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Burlington Hotel
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Burlington Hotel Eastbourne”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

we have just returned from a 5 day stay at the Burlington, it was a little ragged around the edges, but for what we paid great value, Kevin the driver was full of information about the area, and also told some wonderful little stories, we found the food very good as was the hard working staff at meal times,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks David T for leaving your great short review. As stated in previous reviews the hotel will see improvements being made starting this April. Have to agree the special offers on at present are amazing and just what is needed for this time of year. Chef will be pleased to read your kind comments regarding the food as will the team in restaurant. Great review.
Thanks Again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    311
    197
    59
    44
See reviews for
137
417
29
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Booked independently through late rooms.com. For three night break. We opted for bed and breakfast but did book dinner on our last evening. The hotel is a little tired in places, but the hotel is exceptionally clean. The staff are hard working and all were cheery. The position of the hotel was very good. On sea front, near to town centre and opposite pier. I agree with previous comments that the wind whistles off the seafront and in through the sash windows, but living in a Victorian house with sash windows we find this rather healthy, rather than having a stuffy overheated room. The breakfasts were good and dinner on our last night was hot, tasty and plentiful. There was evening entertainment but we were not there to see the first two nights but on Sunday, the magician and all round entertainer was very good. The only negative for us was a lack of WiFi - we are silver surfers and believe all hotels should offer free WiFi. Some people found the parking rather expensive at £5 per day, but there is plenty of on street parking. We enjoyed our stay and will return.

Room Tip: A sea view at this hotel is a bonus as it is right on the sea front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
WOW Thank you JM for your brillinat five star review. Always good to read such lovely feedback.
It is also good to read that the hotel appeals to customers who are not shearings clientel.
The location is as you have stated second to none. We are looking into wi fi and this should be happening very soon, so you can return and surf to your hearts content .All the team will be delighted witht this review.
Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lichfield
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just got back from eastbourne, a weekend break with shearings,always very good value,
Nice staff, adequate food,the only downside is they always play bingo at their hotels ,and if you don't want to play you have to sit silence as your afraid to talk,
Not the best entertainment,but ok.met a lovely couple from Wolverhampton who made our stay even better, will continue to use shearings as you get a great deal,

Room Tip: Have a sea view otherwise all you hear is pigeons
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaynesimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you jaynesimpson, for the nice review. Lovely comments regarding the staff and food, sorry to read you felt the bingo a bit much. This time of the year when the weather is bad the Bingo just helps to pass a half hour, in the main the majority of our guests do enjoy a game and we try to ensure that the whole thing is done and dusted within the half hour. Great to read you made some new friends and you would return to see us again.
Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S Wales
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We knew what to expect when we visited the Burlington - lots of people (5 Coaches) and a slightly worn hotel - nothing wrong with that when you considered the price paid.We went in a bitterley cold few days in February - many hotels wern't even a quarter full. We prefered to stay somewhere with a little bit of life. Breakfasts were good, good choice and the standard was surprisingly high.We did not have evening meals there as they were so busy the couldn't fit us in - no problem dozens of places to eat.The bedroom was however not so good. Large room obviously refurbished not so long ago - but extremely cold,the bathroom was huge - no form of heating whatsoever.The wind whistled through the windows of the bathroom and the bedroom - no putty,ill-fitting and at the mercy of the bitterly cold wind.We asked for a heater and were given a small oil filled radiator - it made little impression.

I know the price is good but avoid the hotel in cold Winter months.

Room Tip: Avoid sea facing rooms in Winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetheworldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you lovetheworld, love the tag!! For leaving the review. Yes February has been very cold and we have encountered some issues at the hotel. That said the heating at the hotel has been on mostly constant throughout this cold snap, and every effort is made to ensure that the hotel is comfortable for our guests Great to read you enjoyed the food and service and in the main you did enjoy your stay with us. Maybe revist us in the Summer!
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Yes we had a cheapie break at the seaside. Poor old hotel is showing its age and is cold in the Reception and Lounge areas. It was positively freezing in the bedrooms on the front. The wind was blowing a gale on Thursday but the windows are sash and don't fit well and ALL the guests were complaining about being cold. There is no heating at all in the bathrooms. There are only bath towels, not sheets which are very small and thin and we had blankets on the bed!!! The food was good though, the company fun and our waitress, Rebecca (daughter of the restaurant manager) was excellent. All the staff were good but the cold rooms put a bit of a damper on the break.

Room Tip: You pay a lot extra to see the sea but they are the cold rooms. So you pays your money and takes yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coffdrop60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Coffdrop 60, That has got to be one of the best Tags ever. The review makes interesting reading.
Good to read you enjoyed the company of our waitress Rebecca and the food that was provided, have to agree she is a star. The comments made about ALL the guests complaining about the cold is simply not true, yes we have encountered some issues during the cold snap. However I know without a doubt 280 guests did not complain. Also it is unfair to state that none of the bathrooms have heating when the majority do. As stated in previous reviews if a customer requires additional items of bedding towels etc this can easily be arranged. We do have a selection of bedrooms some have quilts, however a proportion of our guests do still enjoy the comfort of blankets. Again this could have simply been changed if we had known the customers prefrance. That said all reviews are greatly appreciated and thanks goes to Coffdrop60 for taking the time to leave the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have just returned from 5 days 4 nights at the Burlington Hotel. The hotel is situated opposite the pier in a very good location to the shopping centre..The hotel its self is like a number of Shearing hotels where parts need to be refurbished but at the end of the day for what we paid you get value for money. The food was adequate the hotel clean and staff hardworking and helpful.If you are self drive there is a multi storey car park nearby or the hotel has its own at the rear wwhich there is a charge.The entertainment is good each night and Mark works hard to ensure you have a good time. All told very enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you Ian B for taking time out to leave your very nice review. Good to read in the main you enjoyed your break with us. Mr Snow is a true asset and like you very much enjoyed by our guests. Thanks for the lovley comments regarding the staff. The point made regarding some parts of the hotel needing upgrading, is being addressed. as stated in previous reviews, in a couple of months we begin our bedroom refurbishment programme for 2013. More changes are planned so watch this space.!!
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from 5 days in Eastbourne with National Holidays, the cost of the holiday was £99 which was good value as it included coach travel, dinner, bed and breakfast and two excursion. The hotel was situated on the sea front and was just a short walk to the shopping centre. The rooms were tired and old, every floor board creaked in the bedroom and the bathroom, I thought the people in the room above were going to come through the ceiling. The decor made the room look dirty, the ceiling looked as if it had a recent coat of paint. Traveling down in the coach took all day as, we left Bradford Interchange at 7-20 Monday morning and arrived at the hotel at 16-00, we picked up at Halifax then Huddersfield and Barnsley. We then went on to Woodhall Services where we all changed coaches one to Torquay, one to Newquay and ours to Eastbourne, that was 3 hours to just outside Sheffield!!!! And we did the same in reverse coming back!!! It just added hours onto the trip and I think National Holidays should get their act together and try and come up with something better than that. The driver of the coach was called Tony and he did a good job and was very pleasant.

Room Tip: Top floor room.l
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you Anne W for taking the time to leave your review. Iam sorry I cannot comment on National Coaches and the duration of the journey. It is good to read that in the main you felt your £99.00 four four nights, dinner bed and breakfast, trips out and your journey to and from the hotel, to be value for money, and I must say I agree with you, that works out at just £24.75 per person!! Yes some of our rooms are a little dated and we are now putting together our refubishment programme for May this year.That said I still feel the price paid still reflects excellent value for money. Good to read you liked the location of the hotel it is a great base to have if you choose to visit the surrounding areas.
Thanks once again for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.4 mi away
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
#28 of 40 in Eastbourne
518 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#29 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
2,950 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Burlington Hotel

Property: Bay Burlington Hotel
Address: Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3YN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Burlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting Grade 2 listing status, The Bay Burlington Hotel is a grand and impressive hotel, ideally situated on Eastbourne’s picturesque seafront. The hotel overlooks the spectacular Carpet Gardens and Victorian pier and is within comfortable walking distance of the town’s wide variety of shops and local theatres as well as the seafront. One of our largest hotels, the Burlington has 159 bedrooms including many with spectacular sea views and the opportunity to upgrade to a Superior or Premier room. The restaurant has been recently refurbished and there is also a well appointed bar and coffee lounge serving refreshments throughout the day. Located at the base of the beautiful South Downs, Eastbourne has enough to keep the most enthusiastic visitor busy with abundant history, numerous scenic castles and lots of places of interest to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing