We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic holiday at the Burlington”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Burlington Hotel
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Returned yesterday from the Burlington, our second visit. Would highly recommend this hotel. Tony two teds, what a driver, a true gentleman through and through, nothing is too much trouble for him, always jolly and pleasant, very caring and his knowledge of the local area is superb. Trips out are lovely especially day trip to Brighton and a tour of Brighton Pavilion was included, wonderful experience and a must. The hotel location on the sea front is wonderful especially if you are lucky to get a sea front room, you can hear the waves from the room and see the pier all lit up. The Manager Christine is really friendly and so lucky to have such wonderful staff working for her. Mark Snow entertainer is one in a million, lovely personality, has the place in an uproar and a lovely singer, Mathew from the coffee shop is an asset to the team, full of life and really looks after you, bar staff work really hard and are quick and efficient whilst maintaining a sense of humour. This is a big hotel with plenty of seating in various areas both lively and quiet.. The food was excellent lots of choices with a varied menu, staff quick and efficient, our waiter was Bruno who always greeted us with a friendly smile. You arrive not knowing anyone and leave as friends. Will return again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 320, twin, large room with a tripple aspect overlooking the sea with a side view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BernieBarwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

What a pleasure to read the amazing review left by BernieBarwise. Eveyone gets a mention from the Driver, me!! more importantly the staff, Matthew (coffee shop) Mark Ents Manager Bruno (waiter) the list goes on. It is so rewarding to read reviews of this type and it just encourages all to do even better. I know this is not your first vist here and a warm wlecome awaits you when you decide to return. Thank you once again BernieBarwise for leaving the review, much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (886)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

712 - 718 of 886 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013

Our second Shearings trip ! I was a bit worried about the hotel as the last trip we did to the Dilchusa hotel in infracome was very disappointing ....but just the opposite we had a lovely stay our room 104 was lovely a sea view and kept very clean the meals were excellent our driver Chris made sure we learnt all about the area when he took us all out on a tour ... Well done Chris ! Lets hope ths will be a first of many enjoyable weekends with Shearins .

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busybeeCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you Busybee for leaving the review. Good to read you enjoyed your break and our lovely driver Chris took care of you during the the excursions. Great comments regarding the staff and service in general. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Arrived home today after a three day "party weekend", had a such a lovely time that I wanted to post a review straight away. We had a huge room on the third floor, neat, clean and tidy with nice size bathroom and plentiful hot water.The hotel is ideally situated opposite the pier and gardens and is also very close to town. Food was good, friendly service in dining room from Bruno, nice to have same waiter for every meal.The bar staff are lovely, entertainment was varied and good. The only minor criticism was that the bedroom was stifling even with the window open, but on mentioning this the lovely reception staff left a fan in our room!. All this for a very basic price, 3 nights for the price of 2 AND four free drinks thrown in too! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tina2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Wow that was a quick repsonse. A huge thank you to Tina2208 for leaving the review. Great to read you ejoyed our great three for two speacial offer, just what is needed in cold, miserable Janaury. Bruno will be over the moon to see he has got a mention and it is also good to read the whole packgage was enjoyed from the bedroom, food and entertainment.Look forward to your return. Thanks once again for taking time out to leave a review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is our 2nd Christmas at the Burlington hotel and have already booked for next Christmas
They will look after you. The staff are very nice on all levels. The food is good plenty of it, good entertainment and excellent entertainment host Mark. Thank you Burlington for another great Christmas

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarbaraDartford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you Barbara Dartford, for leaving the review. Have to agree christmas this year was great, glad you enjoyed it. Mark will put another big gold star next to his name! Great comments regarding the food and staff they will all be pleased to read this lovely review.
Thanks once again and all the best for the New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Just had Christmas at The Burlington, Eastbourne and I have nothing but praise for the staff there and the general organisation.

The staff are absolutely wonderful there, SO very friendly and helpful. From the moment we arrived, we were looked after.

MATT in the tea /coffee bar always found a few minutes in between serving customers to have a little chat with guests and make them feel at home. Also, helped any infirm, older guests.

MARK on the entertainment team was always friendly, good fun, jolly and extremely kindly too. He always found time to sit with guests for a friendly chat. MARK also has a fabulous singing voice and entertained us. Hope these two lads never leave, because they're so very friendly and fun loving and are a great asset to the hotel.

MATT the bar manager was always helpful and helped with anything and everything that needed doing.

RECEPTION STAFF were absolutely fantastic and nothing was ever too much trouble for them. I asked for some help in opening our window and they sent someone within five minutes. Also, my hubby left something behind when we left and they went out of their way to help find it for us ...and they did and are posting it to us.

REBECCA, our waitress was the most efficient girl ever. Always had a huge smile and greeting when we went to the dining room. She made meal times such a pleasure.

CATERING.....the food was absolutely first class, well cooked and well presented. Sooooo much wonderful food over the Christmas break.....so much attention to every single detail......excellent value for money.

ALL STAFF at the Burlington were so very polite and helpful and their main concern was always to be pleasing to the guests and make sure they enjoyed their stay.

All of this was due to an excellent GENERAL MANAGERESS, who "ran a good team". The MANAGERESS was always "hands on", helping out her staff when ever and if ever needed. She always made herself available if a guest needed to speak with her and was a lovely friendly lady.

In summary......excellent manageress, running an "excellent ship". Would I recommend a stay at the Burlington, YOU BET I WOULD ! You won't find nicer staff at any other hotel like you will at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a front bedroom with sea view, these rooms are nice and big. The hotel rooms are nice and q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

A huge thank you to Pat C, for leaving such an amazing review for the Christmas Holidays. Pat C is so right when she says the team here are good, yes I am slightly biased, bit I know the team here at the Burlington do all they can to make our customers feel at home and they will always go that extra mile as pointed out by Pat. It was a great christmas for all staff and customers and we are delighted at how many guests have already rebooked for 2013. Thanks again Pat C and all the best for the New Year from everyone at the Burlington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We have just revisited the Bay Burlington and stayed in the same room as last time,
The bathroom still sloped to the sink but we have noticed that the sink had been changed,
The glass shelf was still loose and dangerous, and the loo was still on a tilt,
The tv needs to be updated to incorporate freeview and fixed to the wall to prevent tripping over it.
Apart from that We had a lovely anniversary weekend with Tinsel and Turkey and Mark Snow being his usual excellent self , the rest of the entertainment needs updating.
More staff should be available in the resturant as Adrianne had a difficult time keeping up.
Next time we go we will try for a seaview room.
It was also a pleasure to have a parking space allocated in the car park even though we had to pay for it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Thank you David C for taking the time to leave the review. We are looking into the upgrade of our TVs for 2013. Glad to see Mark Snow does what he does best, he is one tough act to follow. The comments about the room are being reviewed.Nice to read in the main the holiday was enjoyed and you would return. Thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

A few days away with Shearings. Good value holiday. The bedroom could do with being spruced up and was a bit cold. The bathroom radiator never got warm even after being reported as not working. Restaurant service was excellent and food was good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Thank you Michael for your kind review. As stated in previous reviews more upgrades of rooms are due for 2013. Good to read you enjoyed your few days with us and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.in 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.4 mi away
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
#31 of 40 in Eastbourne
555 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,875 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#32 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
0.3 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,620 reviews
0.5 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Burlington Hotel

Address: Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3YN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: $59 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Burlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting Grade 2 listing status, The Bay Burlington Hotel is a grand and impressive hotel, ideally situated on Eastbourne’s picturesque seafront. The hotel overlooks the spectacular Carpet Gardens and Victorian pier and is within comfortable walking distance of the town’s wide variety of shops and local theatres as well as the seafront. One of our largest hotels, the Burlington has 159 bedrooms including many with spectacular sea views and the opportunity to upgrade to a Superior or Premier room. The restaurant has been recently refurbished and there is also a well appointed bar and coffee lounge serving refreshments throughout the day. Located at the base of the beautiful South Downs, Eastbourne has enough to keep the most enthusiastic visitor busy with abundant history, numerous scenic castles and lots of places of interest to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Bay Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing