We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOTEL WAS GREAT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Burlington Hotel
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Last week stayed at the Burlington for 5 days, with coach party. Our room was 210 and perfect for me and hubby. Beautiful seaview we could enjoy as had 2 very large sash windows - heavy curtains which helps for sleeping. Large room with twin beds, flat screen t.v. and modern bathroom with shower over bath. Another large sash window so never felt closed in.

Food was excellent with plenty of choices. Waiting staff could'nt do enough - efficient and always smiling, even though there were almost 300 diners at one sitting. In fact we found all the staff at this hotel put themselves out to ensure their guests had a memorable holiday.

The main shopping centre is 5 mins walk, with every type of shop to suit all. We had lunch at one of the pubs in centre of town, sitting outside, ordering only a sandwich as so well fed at the hotel. Out came two huge plates with ham sandwiches in two thick slices of crusty bread, salad and chips! How could we resist.....

All in all, a holiday we couldnt fault, and we are a well-travelled couple, both in UK and abroad.
Well done Burlington.

Room Tip: We did pay extra for a "superior" room which was worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pattie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Pattie 25 from Wakfield you just made my day!! Thank you so much for the briliant review. 210 is a lovely room just as described. We are hoping in the future to create more Superior and Premier rooms as the have proven to be a great success. As pointed out and as stated in many previous reviews the staff do put them selves out, it is important to us all to create as happy and enjoyable time as possible for all our guests. Sound like a agirl after my own heart, can't say no to a nice sandwhich. Greatt to read you enjoyed the town Eastbourne is so lively now and a bit of a well kept secret. Thanks again for taking the time to leave your wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (858)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

729 - 735 of 859 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed in this hotel as part of a coach holiday in August 2012. We had a large room on the first floor with a great sea view. Our room was recently redecorated with new curtains. Bathroom was a bit shabby with a creaky floor but the shower and bath were perfectly functional.
Food in the hotel was good quality and plentiful. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful and the meal service in the restaurant was very well organised once we got our table, which was ours for the week.
The position of the hotel could not be better, right on the promenade and on the corner of the main shopping street. Everything in the town centre is in easy walking distance.
The entertainment in the hotel was a bit disappointing - we would have liked more cabaret on more nights, but Mark who ran the bingo and played music for dancing did his best to make sure that people enjoyed themselves. He also sang (very well!) on nights without outside cabaret.
I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Our first floor room was excellent and we did not have to wait for lifts at busy times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pabil25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you Pabil25 for taking the time to leave a great all round review.Along with the fantastic central location of the hotel it appears the whole experience was a real success for you.
I will never get tired of saying thank you for the kind comments directed at all the staff, everyone is totally committed to providing the best service they can. Great to read the new bedroom was enjoyed, as stated in previous reviews we are improving our bedrooms and public areas as and when we get the opportunity.Once again thank you for taking the time to leave the review and a warm welcome awaits you should you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked for three nights however stayed only two. Room 325 had a damp patch where the wallpaper had been removed. One window was fixed in the closed position with DIY plastic blocks and paper had been stuffed into the gap between upper and lower dilapidated wooden frames. Generally clean but a very dated bathroom in need of replacement. Although located on the third floor the room is above a noisy bar/club located on the ground floor which was populated by noisey revellers who kept us awake until two thirty in the morning on the Friday night and similar problems with street rowdies on Saturday night into the early hours. The receptionist told me not very helpfully that the Night Porter would have called the police if we had complained. We were told on arival that the hotel was fully booked and no alternative rooms/upgrades were available. The service of the waiting staff was attentive but they had too many tables to cover in a very restricted dining time window of 18.30 to 19.30. There was no later dining time slots which led to dozens of tables all requiring service at the same time. The food at best was average to poor. The attitude of the receptionist when we pointed out our dissatisfaction was very much "take it or leave it" so we left.
Having stayed recently with Shearings at the George in Harrogate for a thoroughly enjoyable four-day break we were most disapointed with the Burlington.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raymond P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Than you Raymonfd P for the review, it is always dissapointing to read when a guest does not enjoy what we have to offer. For thre tavelling community reading this review it is true to say that in the summer months, as with any busy British Seaside resort there will be an increase in tourist activity. Our dining room arrangemtns do suit the majroity of our guests (please see previous reviews) however to make a compariosin with one of our Coast and Country hotels is not a like for like comparison, whiilst both represent excellent value for money, our CC hotels have longer meal times, with the opportunity to book your meal times in some there is also a very diffeent menu choice, with a more relaxed approach to entertainment. The purpose of having the two hotel types is to give our customers more choice, but as I have siad you can not make a like for like comaparison as the two hotel types are very very different.The points made about the room have been addressed, however this room is extremely popular with previous guests becasue of its location and the excellent sea views it provides at no extra charge.
Thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at the burlington for 4 nights 27th - 31st August, on arrival our room was very basic, The bathroom ceiling was cracked and the bedroom curtains were stained the windows had mould on the lower panes. After checking into the room we discovered that the bathroom had a very bad smell which got worse when we closed the doors. The windows were open but didnt seem to help.
We reported this to the reception desk and the manager asked a member of staff to come back to the room with us, She agreed that the smell was very bad and said she would get something done about it. Unfortunatly we were told that the hotel was fully booked for all 4 nights so we couldnt change rooms, but we were assured that the smell would be dealt with. We went out for the evening and when we returned the smell had gone ? what had caused it ?? drains. We had stayed in Shearings hotels before but this was in a bad state of repair the entertainment room had plaster missing and dining rooms were no better.
The staff were very nice and the entertainment was ok.
We will not be returning to the Burlington.

Room Tip: dont use 137
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bjp68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you bjp-11 for leaving the review I do remember this situation. We discovered a small blockage which was causing the unpleasant odour, however this was dealt with immediately and there were no further problems. The other comments about the room have now been addressed and rectified. I think it only fair to put a context on the damage in the public area. This is a small corner area awaiting major repair. It is not a quick paint over job and we have to treat these repairs sympathetically and unfortunately this does take time. It has to be said this is a very large very busy hotel were all of the bedrooms are full most of the time. From time to time things break or leak and every effort is made to rectify these situations as quickly as possible. It is always a disappointment to read such reviews but would keep in mind the previous excellent reviews the hotel and the staff has received from previous travellers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have just returned from a weekend break at the Burlington. It is excellent value for money. The staff were excellent. Special praise must go to Maria, (our waitress) who was always very pleasant and helpful.

We were slightly disappointed at the lack of entertainment on the Sunday evening, but we could sit and have a drink at the bar with background music, so it was acceptable. The entertainer was talented, but special mention must go to the singer on Saturday night who was outstanding and sang a variety of styles from musical to country and western. My personal favourite was his 'Nessan Dorma' which was amazing.

Yes, we are certainly looking forward to another trip to this hotel, with a location right on the seafront. Thank you to all the staff who made our stay excellent.

Room Tip: It is worth upgrading to a sea view, as the back of the hotel overlooks the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you Janet C for a lovely review. Maria was thrilled when she read the review. Good to read our quite night on a Sunday did not spoil your stay,some of our guests do enjoy just relaxing without any live entertainment. Thanks for giving the hotel and the staff a five star review.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Had a very enjoyable holiday at the Burlington. Hotel was clean and presentable. Plenty of choice in food all nicely presented bread and butter pudding was (to die for) FABULOUS. Our waitress was very attentive, nothing was too much trouble for her. The bar staff were good especially Mathew who had an excellent personality. Entertainment was adequate. Quizes were great fun Thanks Mark. who also has a lovely singing voice. We would recommend the Burlington to any one and health permitting we wil be there again.

Room Tip: go for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margaret a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Margaret A, Thank you for giving us a hatrick of five star reviews, the whole team are over the moon. Great you enjoyed the food and in aprticular the Bread and Butter Pudding. The lads behind the bar do a fantastic job and I know Matt be be thrilled to read this review as will Mark.
Thank You once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We love Eastbourne and looked forward to a return visit to the Burlington. We were not disappointed ! We always "upgrade" our room and felt the extra cost was worth it . The room was spacious, very clean, well furnished with a large refurbished bathroom. The added bonus was a wonderful sea view. We stayed in 402 and the only negative aspect was that one of the two bedroom windows had a broken sashcord which meant it was impossible to open . It did not worry us., However, if the weather had been better the lack of ventilation could have been an issue. The staff without exception were friendly and efficient. Special; mention to our waitress Ewa who always had a smile and gave a very efficient service. We have always found staff at Shearing's Hotel's very pleasant and have always thought this is a very well run organisation. The food was varied and good portions. My wife being vegetarian always had an item on the dinner menu that she could eat. The only item we were not sure about was the first morning we were there we ordered scrambled eggs. It arrived looking like (and having the texture of) chopped up egg custard. it tasted better than it looked !!. We cannot comment on the parking as we left the car at home and travelled by train. Overall, for what is charged and what is on offer it is in our opinion excellent value for money for a very pleasant break.

Room Tip: Upgraded rooms are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brither
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Thank you Brither, For taking the time to leave a fantastic review FIVE little circles!!!.Good to read you love Eastbourne, it is lovely at this time of year, even the carpet gardens outside the hotel are still in full bloom. The comment made about the room is being dealt with and the coment regardng the scrambled egg has been passed on to chef. Thank you for the lovely comment about your brilliant waitress Ewa, she is just lovely and I know she will be over the moon to read the great review. Always pleasing to read when a holiday has been pecievd as value for money as this is what we alwyas aim to deliver and it clearly looks like we hit the mark this time round. Would love to welcome you back to Eastbourne and to the Burlington.Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.4 mi away
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
#30 of 40 in Eastbourne
544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,388 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#15 of 40 in Eastbourne
944 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Burlington Hotel

Address: Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3YN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: $88 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Burlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting Grade 2 listing status, The Bay Burlington Hotel is a grand and impressive hotel, ideally situated on Eastbourne’s picturesque seafront. The hotel overlooks the spectacular Carpet Gardens and Victorian pier and is within comfortable walking distance of the town’s wide variety of shops and local theatres as well as the seafront. One of our largest hotels, the Burlington has 159 bedrooms including many with spectacular sea views and the opportunity to upgrade to a Superior or Premier room. The restaurant has been recently refurbished and there is also a well appointed bar and coffee lounge serving refreshments throughout the day. Located at the base of the beautiful South Downs, Eastbourne has enough to keep the most enthusiastic visitor busy with abundant history, numerous scenic castles and lots of places of interest to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Bay Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing