We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
da Vinci Eastbourne
Ranked #16 of 77 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overnight Stay”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This hotel is very good value @ £50 per night. Room was nicely decorated and the refreshments well stocked.
The staff were very efficient and informative and wifi was available free of charge in our room.Breakfast was fine and nicely cooked. Communal areas could do with a bit of tarting up, but other than that the hotel is well situated being a short walk into town and to the seafront.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmetc2006, Owner at da Vinci Eastbourne, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for your review of the da Vinci Hotel and your kind words although I am not sure that we are up to ‘tarting up’ the communal areas….I think I know what you mean. Anyway, hope we see you on your next visit to Eastbourne and `I will see what I can do about the communal areas!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    193
    65
    13
    5
See reviews for
81
260
50
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greatstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

there was a problem with other guests (very noisey) but was resolved. staff very friendly, and the breakfast superb.. location ideal. parking better here than some other hotels in the town and is centrally located for all amenities

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ted c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmetc2006, Owner at da Vinci Eastbourne, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for your review and sorry about our other guests although pleased to hear that the matter was resolved. Unfortunately it is not always possible to pick and choose our guests although our website attempts to make it clear what we are and what we stand for. Regardless, I hope ypou will be returning and staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I was in Eastbourne for business in November for three nights and would normally have stayed with friends - but as my trip was at very short notice this was not possible so I wanted somewhere central, clean, comfortable and warm within easy walking distance of the town centre etc - which is everything and more, that I found at the da Vinci.

I was in a single room, which was adequately furnished and everything was spotless. The decor is a little whacky for some tastes, I'm sure - but personally I found it very modern and minimalist. The breakfasts were good too but it was the helpful, pleasant staff that made the biggest difference.

I would definitely recommend the da Vinci to those seeking somewhere a little different, close to the sea front but within easy reach of theatres, the Towner Art Gallery, excellent restaurants, shops and the railway station. Also not badly placed for using as a base for a walking holiday with the South Downs and Cuckmere Valley on the doorstep or driving further afield, exploring our coastal heritage.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SatwaSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmetc2006, Owner at da Vinci Eastbourne, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for your review of the hotel and your kind words. It was nice to hear from you and we are glad you had a good time even if in one of our single rooms. Apologies for the ‘whacky décor but we like it and so do our guests. We offer sufficient information and pictures on our website to ensure that most of our guests are forewarned. As you say, we are close to the sea front but within easy reach of the theatres, and the Towner Art Gallery as well as some excellent restaurants and shops. We look forward to seeing you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, Sunday and a Monday. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Due to an early start I arranged for breakfast to be left outside my room which was really helpful. Room was large and comfortable. The room had all we required a large TV and DVD, coffee, tea and hot chocolate. Complimentary parking permits were provided which was really good. We will stay there again next time we are in Eastbourne. The hotel is situated just off the sea front, a few minutes walk from the pier and in easy walking distance of local restaurants and the town centre.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rothko room which we would recommend. Front of hotel with sea just visible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmetc2006, Owner at da Vinci Eastbourne, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for your review and always nice to hear from our guests following their stay. I am glad to hear that you liked the room and that my staff looked after you well. Particularly pleased to hear that you intend to stay here again next time you are in Eastbourne. We look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromer, Norfolk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We've been visiting the Da Vinci each November for the past few years for a conference at Devonshire Park and we love this hotel. Fine, interesting rooms, brilliant breakfasts and a perfect location as well as really polite, friendly staff. We'll be back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmetc2006, Owner at da Vinci Eastbourne, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Paul. Thank you for your kind comments and complimentary review which is much appreciated. Looking forward to your next visit and hope you will book early to get the best rooms and a good rate. Very best wishes from Paul (another Paul)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights over a weekend and found our room was really good. The staff were friendly and very helpful. We thought the complimentary parking permits were a useful perk as Eastbourne can be a difficult place to park and all the other hotels we have stayed at charge for parking permits. The breakfasts were well cooked and sufficiently generous for us. We have stayed in loads of different hotels in Eastbourne over the last 20 years or so and this is a very good find - the room rates are very good value compared with many others in the area. We will come again.

Room Tip: Request a room at the front overlooking Howard Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmetc2006, Owner at da Vinci Eastbourne, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for your review of the da Vinci Hotel and your kind words especially as you have stayed in loads of different hotels in Eastbourne over the last 20 years or so. Your expert feedback is much appreciated and I am pleased that you intend to come again. We look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed for one night after a last minute booking and wasn't disappointed with this hotel. A warm and friendly welcome on arrival we were speedily checked in and directed to our room. The hotel is spacious and decorated with art throughout. Our room was a "superior" in pink/red colour scheme with high ceilings, more than enough space and with a decent modern bathroom.
Breakfast was choice of cereals, juices and full English.

All in all a clean, friendly hotel close to the front and a nice concept with the art work.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmetc2006, Owner at da Vinci Eastbourne, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and glad to hear that you wasn't disappointed with the hotel. I am pleased that you were not put off by the pink/red colour scheme…all of our rooms are brightly coloured. Also pleased you liked the art concept and will return to us next time you make a last minute booking or maybe a booking in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#27 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,869 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.0 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to da Vinci Eastbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about da Vinci Eastbourne

Property: da Vinci Eastbourne
Address: 9-10 Howard Square, Eastbourne BN21 4BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — da Vinci Eastbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The da Vinci is ideally situated in Howard Square just off the sea front and just around the corner from the Devonshire Theatre, the Congress Theatre, the Winter Gardens, The Birley Centre and Eastbourne's new arts centre. We are a short walk to the town's shops and a lot of excellent restaurants which we are happy to recommend. The da Vinci has 20 en-suite rooms which each feature a well known (and not so well known) artist. The rooms have all been refurbished and redecorated to a very high standard and each of the rooms is unique so that no two rooms are the same. On the ground floor is the hotel art gallery featuring original art work by local professional artists as well as a resident's lounge (with full licensed facilities), two breakfast rooms and a conference room (which you can hire). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your da Vinci Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Vinci Eastbourne Hotel Eastbourne
Da Vinci Hotel Eastbourne
Eastbourne Da Vinci Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing