We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Striking modern hotel a better option than down at heel seaside ones!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
da Vinci Eastbourne
Ranked #17 of 75 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2013

In one of the many large hotel blocks near the seafront, this hotel looks like it's had some thought put behind it and money spent on it. Big, warm public lounge areas - designed to look a bit like an art gallery set the tone and are a welcome change from down at heel seaside hotels, of which Eastbourne has plenty! Friendly and helpful staff, and even though my room was a small single one, it was nmodern, attractive and there were much-appreciated small touches like complimentary toiletries, flat screen TV, good wifi connection, tea and biscuits etc etc. Highly recommended if you are looking for a clean, modern relatively budget hotel in Eastbourne. Handy for town centre and theatre.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmetc2006, Owner at da Vinci Eastbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments which are much appreciated by the staff and myself. Especially so since you stayed in one of our smaller rooms which seem to attract more complaints than most – but only because of their size in spite of the fact that you can walk around the double bed!!! Thank you for your commendation and we hope to see you back with us again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 486 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Da Vinci is a lovely small hotel located just back from the sea front about 5 minutes’ walk from the pier, and 10 minutes’ walk from the station.

The hotels selling point is the amount of art that hangs on the walls throughout the establishment. Having a drink in the lounge feels like sitting in a contemporary art gallery!

The room I had was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was quite small, but modern with a fantastic shower.

The staff were all exceptionally friendly and couldn’t do enough to make my stay pleasant. They even apologised for things I hadn’t even noticed (on the Sunday morning they had problems with the electrics in the kitchen which they thought had disrupted Breakfast, I couldn’t tell!)

Positives
Great Location
Great Staff


Negatives (and this is being really picky)
The Wi-Fi was a little flaky, struggling to get connection at times in the room, but pretty strong in the lounge.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingTom78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmetc2006, Owner at da Vinci Eastbourne, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for your recent review and your kind comments. It is always good to hear from our guests and we apprecaite you feedback. You feedback on the staff willl be particularly valued as I know the staff here all read these reviews with much interest. Regarding the wifi, we are having a few problems with our routers but the difficulty is intermittant so we are having difficulty resolving it...we now have two connections so hope this might help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel was a clean and comfortable hotel,centrally located to explore Eastbourne. I would recommend it. The breakfast was good and the hotel is reasonably priced.
The bed was large and comfortable and the staff were helpful and friendly.We hope to visit again

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apples21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmetc2006, Owner at da Vinci Eastbourne, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for your review and your kind words which are much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you both again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Reception was at the bar where a memeber of staff with a laptop checked us in without any delay. The building looks Victorian, as do all the others around there. The room was spacious and had a large bed which was really two single beds joined together. The bathroom was good and everything was clean and tidy. The hotel doesn't do meals except for breakfast, which was inclusive and good. It wasn't buffet style, they cooked what ever you wanted when you ordered it. It didn't matter that they didn't do dinner there because there is a good selection of restaurants within easy walking distance. The hotel is situated in a quiet square just off the sea front, we could see the sea from the window. The location meant that there was very little passing traffic at night and the room was very quiet, making a good night's sleep possible.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ludwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmetc2006, Owner at da Vinci Eastbourne, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for your review which is much appreciated. Your comments were very nice and I know that the staff will take comfort from your positive feedback about the breakfast. As you say, we are fronted on a nice quiet square just off the sea front so you dont have the noise of the main road. Regarding evening meals we are always happy to recommend some excellent local restaurants who know how to look after our guests.

PS For your information, the building is a grade 2 listed building built around the late 1890s.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

After considerable research we decided to have a weekend away and stay in Eastbourne. There are many hotels on the sea front which, frankly, have seen better days so we opted to stay a very short distance inland and happened upon the Da Vinci Hotel. It has been recently refurbished to a reasonable standard (although there are cosmetic shortfalls) and some bedrooms have sea views. The hotel was warm, clean, quiet and comfortable, including all in our bedroom. The breakfast was first rate and frankly we felt that for the price through booking.com we had a very reasonable deal. This is a hotel much worth considering, but do not expect the full luxury of a hotel charging significantly more.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmetc2006, Owner at da Vinci Eastbourne, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for your review and for all of the research undertaken to find us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and grateful for your commendation. We are working on the 'cosmetic shortfalls' but it all takes time (and money) so please bear with us. In the meantime, we strive to offer reasonably priced accomodation and we think we are succeeding there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Upon entering the hotel we walked around for five minutes looking for a member of staff...

Looking....

Eventually a member of staff did appear and directed us to the bar area... service was friendly and we were offered help with our luggage. Carpets and decor was dated and needed a good clean. Room was clean and warm... but the wiring behind the headboard looked potentially dangerous. Little improvements - no hooks to hang up coats or towels in room or handle on room door. Room was sandwiched between the main staircase and lift so we had a very restless night due to noise outside the room.

Breakfast was basic but edible... my other half who had the cooked option said 'deep fried sausages are disappointing'. Selection of cereals and fruit were good and staff were helpful.

Leaving hotel we stood and pressed the bell three times... after 10 minutes we left the key on the bar... a week later I now have to send a cheque in the post to pay off the second nights stay... thanks for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spam_powers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmetc2006, Owner at da Vinci Eastbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thank you for your review of the hotel which you have also repeated on other review sites. I have spoken with the four staff who were on duty that morning and they told me that they were serving breakfast to guests in the room adjoining the reception area.

In the circumstances, any one of the staff would have been able to book you out and take your payment for the room which, to date, has still not been settled. In the circumstances, I have sent you another letter requesting payment and look forward to hearing from you as a matter of courtesy and urgency.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have recently returned from a 2 night stay at the Da Vinci hotel Eastbourne. We were very disappointed with the hotel, the hallways/carpets and doors to rooms were very shabby and in desperate need of refurbishment. We were sold a 'premier' room but there was absolutely nothing premier about it! The bathroom was old fashioned with a very small shower. The decor in the room was not to our taste, no safe available. The website said parking nearby available free of charge, when we arrived the young man who helped us to our room had no idea what we were talking about, but did arrive back at the room with a voucher to put in our car, very basic stuff he should have been briefed on.
This was more of a b&b experience, we travel alot and really couldn't call this a hotel, definitely will not be returning!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLG894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmetc2006, Owner at da Vinci Eastbourne, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for the review and I am sorry that you found your stay disappointing especially as so many of the other reviews here are so positive about their experience with us. I hope you will allow me to answer your comments one by one as follows:

Regarding the bathrooms, I would point out that all of our bathrooms have been upgraded and refurbished so I am not sure how you define old fashioned.

I am sorry that the decor was not to your liking. You will be well aware on booking that all our rooms are individually decorated and we have a policy of no magnolia on any walls in the hotel. I am sure if the decor was not to your liking then you might have mentioned this to the staff and we could have given you 20 other styles, designs and colours to choose from.

None of our rooms have safes and this is the first time it has ever been mentioned. In my opinion, most safes are far from safe...if I can lift them into the room then they can be lifted out. My staff are trustworthy and most of our guests choose not to carry their valuables with them on holiday.

The parking referred to on the website is on-street parking and it is nearby....in fact it is immediately outside of the hotel. You are correct that the reception staff should be briefed about this and I have made sure they are. The reason why the parking is free of charge is because the hotel chooses to pay for the parking vouchers and does not pass on that cost to you.

You may well call your stay "more of a b&b experience" but we are clear as to the definition of a hotel and meet (indeed exceed) all of the criteria to satisfy. We are naturally sorry that you will "definitely not be returning" and hope you will find somewhere which lives up to your standards but at the same price you paid to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.5 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
966 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
0.8 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,623 reviews
0.3 mi away
Congress Apartments
Congress Apartments
#26 of 40 in Eastbourne
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ravilious
Ravilious
#7 of 75 in Eastbourne
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to da Vinci Eastbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about da Vinci Eastbourne

Address: 9-10 Howard Square, Eastbourne BN21 4BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range: $59 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — da Vinci Eastbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The da Vinci is ideally situated in Howard Square just off the sea front and just around the corner from the Devonshire Theatre, the Congress Theatre, the Winter Gardens, The Birley Centre and Eastbourne's new arts centre. We are a short walk to the town's shops and a lot of excellent restaurants which we are happy to recommend. The da Vinci has 20 en-suite rooms which each feature a well known (and not so well known) artist. The rooms have all been refurbished and redecorated to a very high standard and each of the rooms is unique so that no two rooms are the same. On the ground floor is the hotel art gallery featuring original art work by local professional artists as well as a resident's lounge (with full licensed facilities), two breakfast rooms and a conference room (which you can hire). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your da Vinci Eastbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Vinci Eastbourne Hotel Eastbourne
Da Vinci Hotel Eastbourne
Eastbourne Da Vinci Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing