We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice sea front hotel”
Review of Waterside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waterside Hotel
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We booked a sea view room for two nights over the weekend, however we were called the following day after booking online and were told that due to an error on their website the room was double booked and no longer available. We were offered a basement room for half price so took it. When we checked in we were told that miraculously the original sea view room was now available!!
This did irritate me but was pleased to have a sea view as the view was great and the room had plenty of light which was my main concern about the basement room. However on check out we were only charged half price so no complaints.
Waterside is a nice boutique hotel, the location is good for the sea front but a bit of a walk to the town centre. We were in a deluxe sea view room which wasn’t a large room but big enough for a couple. The usual tea and coffee facilities, but no complimentary water, which would have been nice. The choice at breakfast was good and I like the fact that the serve breakfast till 12pm on weekends as this meant you could have a lazy weekend lie in if you wanted.
All staff from check in, breakfast and check out were friendly and helpful, we were even given a drink on the house when we had to wait for a room to be cleaned during check in. We only had breakfast so can't comment on the dinner or bar service. I would definitely stay at the Waterside again especially when the weather is better to get the full benefit of being on the sea front, but that was after paying half price as not sure the room was worth £125 a night, mainly due to location from town centre and the lack of complimentary items such as bath robes, water etc.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curnisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 470 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2012

Stayed here in Feb for a long weekend break. The price was great (we had a Feb discount) and the view stunning (we had a deluxe sea view room). However, if we'd paid full price I'd have moved hotel. This is not a boutique hotel. It's not quirky. Or luxurious. So I'm not sure why it insists on referring to itself as boutique. The hotel is rather confused as to what it actually is.

The bed was a bit tatty, stains/marks/shoe prints on the material base and we needed to request more pillows as the two flat things they provided had seen better days. The carpet was stained in places and the walls in the bedroom needed a repaint. All in all it had seen better days which is fine as long as you don't turn up expecting a luxurious, quirky hotel suite. The bathroom however, was glorious. Shame the bedroom couldnt match it.

Breakfast was great in the restaurant and staff were super attentive and really couldnt be faulted. Shame however, that evening service was so poor. Our food arrived (the worst vegetarian food I've ever eaten) and we were still waiting for our drinks once the food arrived. We had to ask 3 times for them before the giggling waitress eventually brought them. Again, the restaurant wasn't even busy. It all just felt really shoddy and lacking. Perhaps we are a bit too critical but we're paying for a service to be good and we felt it lacking. The cocktails - awful - and they're charging London prices, again fine as long as they deliver. But this hotel doesn't. By a long shot.

Overall, our stay here was disappointing. Worth staying if there is a special offer but anything over £60 a night for a deluxe room here is a joke. This is a regular Eastbourne hotel with a few fancy light fittings and a bit of feature wallpaper once you get past reception it's all downhill.

Shame though, because it could be something special if it got its act together.

Room Tip: The sea view were terrific shame the rooms were not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Friendly staff, pleasant hotel. We had an inward facing room which was adequate but being a boutique hotel, I imagine some of the other rooms are at the more luxurious end. Had a lovely breakfast expertly presented & very tasty which had more of a personal touch to it. Overall it was a very nice stay (Ok weather was atrocious) but I think Eastbourne is nice getaway and I don't think you could go far wrong in this hotel. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed for two nights and took advantage of the Spa Weekend Break Offer. We couldn't fault the room or restaurant and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

We can highly recommend the spa treatments - we both opted for massages, which were very theraputic and relaxing.

The evening meal as part of the deal was of excellent quality and in lovely surroundings. The full English breakfast was also of an excellent standard and very ample.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I booked the Hotel as a birthday treat for my wife

We were made to feel welcome from the outset by all the staff who didn't find anything too much trouble
The hotel is old but has been excellently restyled and is decorated to a very high standard
Our room was large and airy with a great view and very very clean and well kept

We also ate in the restaurant, the food was first class and the service matched the food

The whole team are a credit to the hotel but special thanks go out to Eve, Alex and Colin

I would fully recommend the hotel to anyone looking for

Room Tip: Room 14, lots of steps but great sea view and very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

My boyfriend & I have visited this hotel a number of times and enjoy our stay every time. Staff are helpful and friendly, rooms are very clean and location is excellent. Would definitley recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmaknapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Waterside at the weekend for one night. We had a warm welcome on reception and were shown to our room. The only downside was the room was a little on the small side and only had a shower room ensuite, but otherwise it was very clean and very nicely furnished. We had one of the best meals we have ever had in the restaurant, equal if not better than any we have eaten in top london restaurants and half the price. We had breakfast in the terrace room facing the sea in the morning which was beautiful as the sun was shining. All in all, a lovely hotel which I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1, which was a little noisy as it was the first room everyone walked past. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
#29 of 40 in Eastbourne
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Beach Hotel
East Beach Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Albany Lions Hotel
Albany Lions Hotel
#36 of 40 in Eastbourne
130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Afton Hotel
Afton Hotel
#22 of 40 in Eastbourne
406 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oban
Oban
#20 of 40 in Eastbourne
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Hotel

Address: 11-12 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: $94 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterside is a waterfront hotel in Eastbourne with stunning sea views. All of our individually styled rooms afford you complete comfort, with our more extravagant suites offering a choice of Jacuzzi, sea view bathtub or an in-room telescope for late night star-gazing. Recently taken over by new owners and under new management. The hotel is going through constant refurbishment procedure to improve the facilities. Currently we offer very good bed and breakfast rates, bar with high quality products, and a spa room with one of Eastbourne's best therapists. In addition to that, we run a monthly Waterside Wine Club with wines from all around the world and a professional wine distributor to talk our guests through the history and making process of each wine. We like to promote culture and our outstanding local artists who's work can be seen at our monthly exhibitions, as well as unique paintings in our rooms that guests can buy should they wish to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing