We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel that take dogs with no extra charge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne)
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Booked this because the reviews were good and they would allow us to take our dog with no extra charge. Would stay here again, very friendly staff, nice room and facilities. Breakfast was good and very relaxing sitting casually to eat it. The lift was an experience, bit clanky but fine. Had a false alarm with the fire alarm going off, but the fire exit worked well and we felt safe. All in all very good and would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tika983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

581 - 587 of 650 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2010

Booked at The Big Sleep in Eastbourne as part of a Hen Do but on arrival we were told that our room was no longer available as our booking (that we'd made 2 months prior) had been cancelled, our deposit had been taken and no one had thought to call or check despite them having a question mark on the cancellation. We were then told that the hotel was completely full and we would have to be split up from the rest of our party, and relocated in various hotels / b&bs across Eastbourne. Even though this was clearly their mistake the receptionists were not even sorry! They kept blaming another member of staff who was conveniently not around to offer an explanation, which neither helped our situation nor seemed very professional. In the end 2 separate rooms were found in another hotel, hardly the point of a group booking and put a real downer on our weekend.

As for the rooms that we did manage to secure, they were in general small and basic. Weird blue fur lines the base of the beds as well as the curtains, which seems tacky and unhygienic.

The breakfast was poor. We were told that with 20 minutes of service left there were no more pastries so had to make do with the small offering of toast and cereal. I'd also recommend getting to breakfast as early as possible as seating is also limited.

The lift is also an experience in itself. Old and noisy, not for the faint at heart!

The cancellation of our booking with no word and no apology was disgraceful. We were told by the booking manager that she would 'look into it' and call us back the next day with an explanation. Needless to say, I am still waiting for that call. Unprofessional and uncourteous, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wam_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. We regret to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
At The Big Sleep Hotel, we strive to provide an exclusive service experience for every guest; therefore your feedback is very important to us. For those reasons, please allow us to express our sincerest apologies in regards to the inconveniences caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Great location but my room at the back had view of fire escape and big pile of cigarette butts outside window. Uncomfortable bed - room felt like hostel- and hated the furry mattress base. Be prepared for lots of stairs and bring ear plugs due doors banging throughout the night

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PieterB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. We regret to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
At The Big Sleep Hotel, we strive to provide an exclusive service experience for every guest; therefore your feedback is very important to us. For those reasons, please allow us to express our sincerest apologies in regards to the inconveniences caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We arrived at 4.50pm on a saturday and realised we needed to pay and display to park. The receptionist offered us a permit for £2 then we realised it was cheaper to buy a ticket from the machine as it was free parking on sunday. We were told to go up to the 3rd floor for room number 315. When we got out of the lift we found there were no signs for that room so we wandered round til we found it.It can only be described as the size of a storage room. The window in the room didn't open so we boiled and our view was of an internal staircase, 3 walls and a corrogated plastic roof. In the morning we had no idea if it was even raining. The curtain and bed base were covered in a pale blue fake fur material which looked tacky and dirty rather than stylish. The television had no remote control. The walls and even the door were paper thin so not only did we hear people walking round the corridor all night, our room was next to the lift which clangs, bangs and shakes. The sign next to it says not to use the lift after 11pm, it seems the sign is ignored as the lift was going up and down until at least 2am and woke me up again at 6am. We came down for breakfast at 9.40 and took the last 2 slices of toast and 3 pastries. Other guests came down after and had to make do with cereal. A travel lodge may be basic but the rooms are clean, spacious and are better equipped. We also had lunch in a hotel opposite the pier called the Pier Hotel which let double rooms with a sea view for £65 per night as opposed to the £85 we paid at the big sleep, the food there was very nice and I'm going back to stay there in November.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. We regret to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
At The Big Sleep Hotel, we strive to provide an exclusive service experience for every guest; therefore your feedback is very important to us. For those reasons, please allow us to express our sincerest apologies in regards to the inconveniences caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Good Room size and Good bed size for my booking (super king bed), and I had a pretty good night's sleep.The room was largely on the minimalist side but was comfortable thanks to the two leather rocking style armless armchairs in the room which had a nice outlook (1st floor front).
The next morning, you go down to breakfast to find that there are 6 (six) tables available for the whole hotel. So when you're stood around waiting for a table to come free with your young child or children, then finally you get a table to sit and have breakfast. Sadly, this wasn't the only issue here as breakfast is pretty much almost not worthing mentioning - let alone waiting for.
Cold hard boiled eggs, those miniature boxes of cereal, and some mini-pastries, a drinks machine and no staff.. That's it.

So I would suggest this hotel is only really good for those who are single and in the area for a heavy night on the town - but then again the breakfast would not be enough to help fix your hangover so I can't even recommend it for that.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frank_commentator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. We regret to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
At The Big Sleep Hotel, we strive to provide an exclusive service experience for every guest; therefore your feedback is very important to us. For those reasons, please allow us to express our sincerest apologies in regards to the inconveniences caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We booked into this "new chic and trendy" hotel on recommendation for the weekend. The images on the website offered clean minimalistic decor but sadly on arrival the hotel looks more cheap than chic. The furnishings in the general area are modern but look already jaded as if the hotel has tried too hard for the Austin Pwers look without the finance to ensure the fixtures and fittings are of good quality. Terrible curtains! Our room, a standard double, was tiny and more in keeping with a normal sized single. The bed was exactly a double with white melamine ikea style side table and light fittings. It was relatively clean and the bed linen was good quality although you need another couple of pillows to get any sense of comfort. The en suite was tiny and the sliding bathroom door shows good use of small space as there is really no room to open a normal door fully. The water pressure despite being on the grond flor was woeful and the towels, clean but again small so no way could they cover anything to protect modesty. The haridryer in the bathroom merely breathed on your hair and would have taken about 2 hours to dry anything at all! Tea and coffee tray in the room but minimum supplis and only one plug socket to be shared with haridryer, straighteners, phone charger etc. The dressing table was positioned against the outside window and no mirror actually in the room wich is annoying. No air con and a warm night so we boiled. It felt like we were sleeping in a hospital - very clinical. The breakfast is very simple with no service and all make and help yourself buffet style. Again choice is in keeping with the minimalistic approach - toast, yoghurt, individual portioned jams, spreads, small selection of pastires which run out quickly and touch button coffee dispensing machine.
The staff were kind, helpful and presentable but all resided on reception so you had to wait for one of them to be free to serve at the bar.
All together and OK stay at £77 per night booked through laterooms.com but I would not recommend this hotel and suspect it sister hotels are in a similar style. If you want premier inn, ibis or travelodge at least you know what to expect so this was a disappointment.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BettyLondonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. We regret to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
At The Big Sleep Hotel, we strive to provide an exclusive service experience for every guest; therefore your feedback is very important to us. For those reasons, please allow us to express our sincerest apologies in regards to the inconveniences caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a long weekend staying at The Big Sleep hotel, Eastbourne. We were very happy with the location of the hotel, very close to restaurants and town (10 minute walk). We stayed in room 207 which had a lovely seaview, even though this was viewed from the side it was lovely and an excellent view. The room was very sparse and simply furnished but this was fine. Breakfast was continental only including, pastries, toast, fruit, youghurts and cereal, with hard boiled eggs also. Everything is self service at breakfast which was fine the coffee was lovely. Parking is £2 per day if you park in the Square which is just outside the hotel. Sundays are free of charge. Staff are polite. I would recommend this hotel. Value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HawtinWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSHE1, Manager at Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne), responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review from your recent visit to The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We do hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.7 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
970 reviews
0 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
0.7 mi away
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
#29 of 40 in Eastbourne
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Congress Apartments
Congress Apartments
#26 of 40 in Eastbourne
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,635 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne)

Address: King Edwards Parade | King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: $45 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne) 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 50 bedroom designer limited service hotel on Eastbourne’s seafront, offering fantastic value for money, great sea views and exciting new horizons in interior design. The Citrus Hotel Eastbourne is beautifully located for both holidaymakers and business travellers alike. Families love the spacious family rooms and family studios. The hotel offers you free Wi-Fi thought all of our bedrooms and public areas. As with all UK hotels, we are a non-smoking hotel. Bed and Breakfast and Room Only rates are available as well as rates for Group Bookings. By contacting the hotel directly, we can offer you the cheapest rates available on the market. Choose between a continental or our Citrus full English Buffet Breakfast. All of our bedrooms are en-suite, some with wet areas and each has a flat-screen TV. Tea and Coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone as well as our complimentary Wi-Fi service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Citrus Hotel Eastbourne By by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Eastbourne) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing